Hindsight.... GTrain or Kerr?

Here's a classic hindsighter for you all.

which would have done us better, not taking Gtrain and keeping pick 18 Kerr? think a guy like Kerr would reached the same heights with our famous mids... maybe been a difference in 09?

Personally I preferred what we did but wondered what Kerr could have been for us.

Thoughts?

Re: Hindsight.... GTrain or Kerr?

Kerr was a good player but a real sook.
I vividly remember his face as his team-mate Ben Cousins passed him late in the Brownlow count of 2005.
Gehrig was a real character and a good player to boot.
Happy with our choice!

G-Train for pick 18 was a fantastic deal for both clubs. He wanted out of West Coast and the Saints got a charismatic legend.

I doubt we would have selected Kerr. West Coast got a champion, so did we. A win all round. The question is quite problematical because I doubt Kerr was on our radar. I am sure there are plenty of thoroughbred owners out there happy enough with the fillies they bought the same year Black Caviar went through the yearling sales.

GT in 04-05 was a gun, the best forward in the league or thereabouts... u build clubs around players like that

IMO big win for us

skeptic wrote:GT in 04-05 was a gun, the best forward in the league or thereabouts... u build clubs around players like that

IMO big win for us
This

skeptic wrote:GT in 04-05 was a gun, the best forward in the league or thereabouts... u build clubs around players like that

IMO big win for us
This
Still this!

Luke Penny to fullback around mid-2003 allowed us to move the G-Train to full forward.

That was the moment we literally took off... and a legend was born. 8-)

(Such a shame Penny's knee didn't hold up. The club was even prepared to wait long term for it to come good... 'Big Show' Gardiner-style, but he retired. I reckon a fit Penny would have been the boost to get us over the line for a couple of flags. He was a very good player, and was getting better. :( )

Dual Coleman medalist thanks

wolfpup

without doubt, gehrig to full forward transformed us as a club

gehrig combined with hammil and a young kosi and roo and milne we had a lethal forward line (never forget that year that guerra fired for us in the forward line as well)

they were exciting times

-----------

St.Kilda Forever!

Getting Gehrig for pick 18 was a steal only because we had the option of the pre season draft as a bargaining tool!

Kerr would've been playing in 09 and 10 grandfinals and might've been the difference in winning.

G was worth 2 Kerrs. One of the best tall forwards of his generation, and he started as a running back. Gave a young list self belief. We need another G train. Petrie last night reminded m of him.

andrewg

I have to say I loved watching the gtrain. Some of my best memories are of him running about taking big grabs..............in the end that's what it is all about entertainment.....and I miss it. Can't say Ross provided much entertainment during his rein and to be honest I much preferred the gtrain era to our 2009-2011 football.

I'd love us to trade our pick 21 or whatever it is for soemone 75% as good as The Train.

Once Rooey retires at the end of 2016 we need an icon. Maybe it will be Spencer in 2017 but it may also be no one.

Kerr was never going to anyone outside wa....

Old Mate wrote:Kerr would've been playing in 09 and 10 grandfinals and might've been the difference in winning.

Playing for who? Where do you get the idea he would have ended up at StKilda?

Gehrig gave us a few years of elite service and was well worth the trade at the time.

That said, Kerr was a gun for almost a whole decade, and would have given us a desperate injection of pace.

Cases can be made for both.

However, I remember hearing at the time that Kerr was more or less hid by West Coast until their pick, and they may have been spreading the odd rumour or two...just like with Jack Darling. Doubt we'd have taken him.

Kerr was very good but his best work was when he was playing with The Druggie and The Eye Gouger.
They made him look better.

Enrico_Misso wrote:Kerr was very good but his best work was when he was playing with The Druggie and The Eye Gouger.
They made him look better.
I agree, he spent a long time on injury lists in the last years of his contract. Was kind of cooked after their successful era.

I don't think anybody would argue that Kerr wasn't a good pick

For us at least, this was the right right outcome.

This may acually be what they call a win/win

Loved Fraser Gehrig. He is the reason I go for the Saints. Talk about players attracting you to teams :-)

Kerr played 11 games in 2009 and 4 games in 2010. He was basically stuffed after 2008.

Useless argument.

We would not have drafted him with pick 18 anyway, WA boy through and through.

Gehrig kicked 150 goals in 2004-05. If we had no Fraser, we wouldn't have made the top 4. Simple as that. Where do you think we would have found an extra 150 goals?

G-Train for me, easily!!!

Megamaguire

G Train or Kerr - Petracca or McCartin ?

Interesting consideration.
First it makes me think of Judd being passed up (because of his 2 shoulder reconstructuions i think it was) in favour of L.Ball. Ball looked ready made but not the best mid option as the other young potential mids negated his strength advantage by matching it over time.
Back to Kerr I think he like Judd like Cousins even could have been the difference in 'those' GF's. We could have been luckier there!
I never regretted us drafting 'G' train -I loved his antics, straight kicking and colemans etc.

however these things are worth considering especially by recruiters.
Both Ball and Fraser G. were good drafting decisions I agree but I'd like to highlight the burst of speed both Judd and Kerr brought to the weagles. Both in the same team mind you - what a boost!

Petracca v's McCartin? wish I knew but hopefully someone @ the club being paid the big bucks gets it right.

G O S A I N T S ! :D

The boy can play and we can build a defence around him that will have respect.

ShanghaiSaint wrote:Here's a classic hindsighter for you all.

which would have done us better, not taking Gtrain and keeping pick 18 Kerr? think a guy like Kerr would reached the same heights with our famous mids... maybe been a difference in 09?

Personally I preferred what we did but wondered what Kerr could have been for us.

Thoughts?
no...... gtrain initially.. he was great for us......but redrafting him and cutting barlow loose was a big big mistake

ShanghaiSaint wrote:Here's a classic hindsighter for you all.

Thoughts?
no gtrain initially...but redrafting him and cutting barlow loose was a big big mistake
Cutting him loose?
He only trained with us briefly - was never on the list, he also trained with Essendon who didn't take him… then only rookied by Freo so it would be absurd hindsight to suggest we should have known better, he wasn't rated as good enough for any clubs primary list.
We should have also taken Cox, Rockliff, Dahlhaus and so on.