Congrats StKFC !!

The atmosphere at the game today was pretty close to, if not the best that I have witnessed at Etihad Stadium. And this in a year where we have won 4 games

The Tribute to LENNY really helped

The noise meter thingo and the ground announcements encouraging fans to get involved was fantastic (I reckon this should happen at ALL HOME GAMES)

The weather clearing up for the MARCH. I'm hopeless at estimating numbers. Does anyone know roughly how many marched? (It was great to see people inside the ground cheering us on. Hopefully, they can join in next year.

It's all well & good for us to have these ideas, but it requires the dedication & organization of our Fan Development Team led by Rory who make it all happen.

Congrats & Thanks StKFC. Also, SAINTS FANS, take a bow. YOU were FANTASTIC !!
Last edited by Eastern on Sun 10 Aug 2014 9:31pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Congrats StKFC !!

ROLS-LEE

I agree. Should happen all home games. It was the only thing to get the crowd going.

linz

I am very impressed by the marketing departments initiatives. Go Saints from P to P. (Port Melbourne to Portsea)

I once spent a year in Adelaide, I think it was on a Sunday.
linz

I loved the Noise Meter too. Well Done MKT.DPT.

I once spent a year in Adelaide, I think it was on a Sunday.

being told to make noise .....ffs :oops:

The Fireman wrote:being told to make noise .....ffs :oops:
totally agree...........fireman

Thought it was cringe worthy.....................crap

Seemed to help the doggies more often than not haha

Thought the atmosphere was barely present for most parts,pre season type feel. The lenny goal they got out of there seats, that's what it takes these days

Don't want to rain on the parade.
And maybe some of this is more AFL than StKFC related ....
But can we just get rid of all the C R A P before the game and during the breaks?

- the face in the crowd
...(Never ceases to amuse me all the idiots that wave in Level 3 when they are obviously too stupid to realise the no-one has ever or will ever win from L3 because the prizes are handed out on the boundary - but still the morons wave every week).
- those retards trying to kick goals from 20m out to win some dodgy hardware
- the blonde bimbo asking stupid questions that she obviously hasn't a clue about
- kiss cam (oh how incredibly funny is that!)
- the Chemist Whorehouse thing whatever it is
- load music
- that d'head who screams his every word into the mike to try and generate excitement
- advertising
- more music
- more yelling
- more advertising

MINDLESS STUPID IRRELEVANT INANE NOISE

Has it really come down to Generation X / Y can only enjoy going to the footy if they are bombarded with marketing/noise/"entertainment"?
Because constant noise and things happening means excitement so they must be having fun!
Are they really that pathetic, that incapable of conversation or reflection or absorbing the natural build up to a game?

Do we really have to pander to them?
Can't we just allow a natural build up to the game and allow fans to discuss what might happen, what just did happen, what will happen next, what the coach should do, who should be dropped etc. etc.
All the things that have made going to the footy enjoyable for 118 years.

Footy has gone from an exciting experience you share with friends, to steralised theatre where you are merely an observer making polite noises of support or dissent on cue.
Not hard to see why attendances are falling.

The Fireman wrote:being told to make noise .....ffs :oops:
totally agree...........fireman

Thought it was cringe worthy.....................crap

Wasn't there, but can imagine it. Sounds like manufactured bulls***. Exactly the kind of crap that turns me off and makes me prefer local footy. Can't bear the lack of authenticity.

jonesy wrote:Thought the atmosphere was barely present for most parts,pre season type feel. The lenny goal they got out of there seats, that's what it takes these days

It never really got going did it. There were threats but the dogs pretty much hose down our excitement. We were sitting on the wing near the CS and apart from being told to make noise it was silent. You didn't want to be the loud guy. I was really disappointed compared to last years game against Freo. Knowing it's not final sort of loses some impact too.

A bloke standing near me was calling the umpires yellow maggots (even though they were green), at 3/4 time a Stkilda supporter walked up to him and told to shut up it is not the 80's anymore. If i was in charge I would cancelled the theatre goer's membership,for life

jonesy wrote:A bloke standing near me was calling the umpires yellow maggots (even though they were green), at 3/4 time a Stkilda supporter walked up to him and told to shut up it is not the 80's anymore. If i was in charge I would cancelled the theatre goer's membership,for life
That's a disgrace. I mean the theater goers and the umps!

I still like my idea of a batman style saints crest being shone onto Etihad for night games.

Not noisy, and would "saint" up the stadium

I agree with Eastern, the atmosphere was great, loved the "make some noise " encouragement. Loved the acoustic version of the club song. It actually felt like a home game for the first time in a long time.
The march is a great thing for the club, well done Eastern, too many people whine and moan but don't get off their arses to help the club.

If we keep that noise radar thing after every goal I will kill someone, only clubs who are pathetic do that rubbish, surely we can make noise without a tv telling us what to do. Leave that garbage for the Adelaide home games.

Was up in the function room on level 2 looking out onto the entrance of gate 5 and unfortunately only looked like 60 or so in the march then 20-30 strolling behind the pack not really apart of it.
If you take into account the weather at the time it was pretty good.

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."

saintdooley wrote:If we keep that noise radar thing after every goal I will kill someone, only clubs who are pathetic do that rubbish, surely we can make noise without a tv telling us what to do. Leave that garbage for the Adelaide home games.

Was up in the function room on level 2 looking out onto the entrance of gate 5 and unfortunately only looked like 60 or so in the march then 20-30 strolling behind the pack not really apart of it.
If you take into account the weather at the time it was pretty good.
Eastern, Jigster and myself were marching up or near the front . The weather was horrible but cleared in time for the march. As we passed the footbridge I could see a wall of people moving over it. People turn up so late to games. I was seated just after 3 and I reckon easily another 5 to 7K came to their seats after that.

That noise thing maybe the worst thing ive seen in footy and those questions at the break were pathetic. Im old though. If young people like it then continue to do it. We arent catering for people of my age.

I'm happy that the march went ahead, and for what it's worth, in my opinion this should be a permanent feature for our final home game every season. It's been a hell of a year, results-wise, but in SO many other areas, a really bright one. Our young kids have gained precious experience and game time, we have had no whiff of scandal or idiotic behaviour putting the club in the media for all the wrong reasons, and despite the disappointing ladder position we are in, folk have stuck fast and I'm sure that loyalty will be rewarded! I take my hat off to Eastern, Rory and the folk who organized the march, long may it continue!

jonesy wrote:A bloke standing near me was calling the umpires yellow maggots (even though they were green), at 3/4 time a Stkilda supporter walked up to him and told to shut up it is not the 80's anymore. If i was in charge I would cancelled the theatre goer's membership,for life
That is a disgrace! The AFL need to stamp out theatre goers before the game turns completely into a girls-only competition. Pffft!

I concur with the view that folk shouldn't need a message on the big screen to rev them up! I had people in bay 18/19 area yesterday saying to me; " get em revved up mate" and while it's very flattering to hear such comments from my fellow Sainters I had to wonder why any of us would need ANY motivation to yell and barrack, other than seeing the guy wearing number seven on his back. It was the same story, to an extent with the march around the ground. There were heaps of folk who could quite easily have just " tagged along " for a few minutes to get to their gate, but who just stood around, hey, that's their prerogative, but every little helps as they say!

SunburySaint

That silly make some noise thing reminded me of North Melbourne's games with the "BOOM" for the little angry man that they have going.. they also utilise the "Make Some Noise" crap as well... everything else about the day was good (apart from the final result), but please, lets not do that again...

Now lives in Geelong...

I can still remember going to my first game of AFL at Docklands for the Collingwood V Footscray match and that animated bulldog thing on the screen popping up after every bulldog goal " doggy! doggy! doggy! Oi oi oi!" Cringeworthy indeed! Personally I think if you need to be cajoled into backing your team vocally by a prompt from the screen, then you'll never be a vocal supporter.

Kris1

Well, it might be a bit manufactured, and all the oldies in the crowd might not like it...But...the noise thing really worked!

Maybe its just the way of the modern world, and lets face it, the kids are the future, both on and off field.