Webster is a beauty!!

Billings & Dunstan have been well documented.
They both look super players but this boy Webster can really play.
What an athlete!!
Straight line speed, cat like rebounding ability on second efforts, good judgement, nice dependable kick & how about that passage of play at the end when Bombers had kicked 2 goals in 1 minute & attacked again for Webster to grab the ball, back himself down the middle, burn 2 to 3 players & deliver a beautiful pass to Roo. Exquisite stuff.
He also was amazing a couple of times one on one. Love him.
I cant wait to look at Acres also.
Looks like the recruiters have done well.

Re: Webster is a beauty!!

He's going to be a gun. An old guy in Tassie told me he's going to be the best player to ever come out of Tasmania so have followed him since then in his first year. He came on quick because you couldn't even seeing him getting a game early on now he's looking like a 200 game player in the making.

Had too big ice packs on his calves after the match , so you know he didn't leave anything out on the field !

Mate if he is in the top 10 best to come out of Tassie I will be happy. No one is talking about him that much but boy this kid is really good. I feel so safe when he has the ball.

It's great to think Webster is going to be a gun, unfortunately not all recruits can have "gun" status and i'm starting to believe players like Siposs and Ross are in the "gun" to be dumped as we evolve into a team that challenges for a flag.

I was told by someone in the football department that Siposs was given a rocket at the start of the season for not working hard enough. His tyres were pumped up way too far, he has some ability & he will need to work as hard as the others if he wants to make it. I hope he can turn it around.
Seb Ross has some ability but lacks a tank & possibly some speed again he needs to work hard & from what I hear he is doing that. I have a gut feel he will make it as a good mid fielder for our club. for every Dunstan & billings that look top class after 1 game most mere mortals need to work hard at it.

Very silky player who will become a very good midfielder.

Webster is a favourite of mine

Best game ever. Kept finding the ball and the disposal was pin point accurate. Lovely to watch.

He actually is a like a cat the way he jumps to his feet after a contest.
Has pace and his kicking is awesome. All round very good footballer. Also tougher than he looks.

I enjoyed it early when Hocking was running a hard tag on Jack Steven and when Webster jogged past them he slipped a hard jab into Hocking's guts (anyone else see this one?).
Im not condoning dirty play but no doubt when your best midfielder cops a heavy tag the coach gives instructions to help him out and not let the tagger bully the gun. So Webster was just letting Hocking know he wasn't going to be the one calling the shots out there tonight.
Worked out to be correct as Jack gradually got into the game later on.

He's slipped under the radar a bit as opposed to Billings, Dunstan and Templeton but he'll play a lot of good footy for a lot of years for this club barring anything unforeseen.

Love his work

There's a lot to like about Webster. Great size, very agile, quick, decision making and clean skills. He and Newnes both very good recruits from the 2011 draft. If he can stay injury free he could be a genuine A grader.

PADDLEPOP1001

Would love to see him gradually moved onto the wing and through the midfield in the coming years a real gutsy goer has has great skills !

PADDLEPOP1000
I Love Peter Kiel

'The Dictionary' in Webster!

In honour of those who went before, in the dark and desperate years.
Milne

Con Gorozidis wrote:He actually is a like a cat the way he jumps to his feet after a contest.
Sums it up perfectly.

I reckon we have got a real beauty in Webster.

Dunstan, Acres, Billings, Eli, etc get all the kudo's but this kid could be the best of the lot.

Really, this kid is the goods, and is getting better and better

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

Kicking is great and always gets a spoil in when playing defence!

mick13

Him and Newnes have just added something to our backline. Along with Nath Wright they are going to form a fantastic partnership.

Wonder how long before him (all three?) get transitioned into the middle.

Jimmy played well, but Brent Stanton did kick three goals on him. He has a habit of losing contact with his opponent. I don't think he's not agile enough to be a midfielder.

perfectionist wrote:Jimmy played well, but Brent Stanton did kick three goals on him. He has a habit of losing contact with his opponent. I don't think he's not agile enough to be a midfielder.

Pretty sure te first was from the midfield. Probably both others were on him though. Still think that will happen with younger guys but the last thing we need is for him to lose that run. He set many attacking thrusts from the backline.

Milne

Posted this in another thread, but this is where he outruns Jetta. Cool, calm and collected

plugger66 wrote:Pretty sure te first was from the midfield...
Nope. The first, in the third quarter (21.55) is where you see him leaving Stanton to join a contest. This was actually his worst mistake. The two in the last quarter were quite excusable given the situations.
Last edited by perfectionist on Mon 21 Apr 2014 10:12am, edited 1 time in total.

Good get Milne.

Webster easily matches Jetta and then rans away from him.

Maybe Jetta is just a front runner. Didn't seem to want to take Webster on physically.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

like jimmy webs
if he could turn into a birchall id be elated

good speed and a good kick
the future looks bright.....i gotta wear shades 8-)

Watching a saints player with sublime skills is an absolute joy. We've had some real goers that you would never question work ethics but precise deliver is such a buzz. Cheers Jimmy