Just signed jason holmes

someone do some digging
we've signed someone on this international schol thingy?

http://www.saints.com.au/news/2013-10-0 ... for-saints

St Kilda Football Club is pleased to announce it has signed American college basketballer Jason Holmes as an International Rookie.

The athletic 23-year-old, originally from Chicago, is a multi-talented sportsman, with a background in American Football, soccer and most recently playing division one college basketball with the Morehead State Eagles in Kentucky.

“Basketball is very important to me, but sometimes you burn out a little bit and you want to do something new,” Holmes said.

“Basketball conditioning and footy conditioning are obviously different, but I love getting up there and rucking and using my athleticism and I do feel comfortable kicking so I enjoy that.”

After impressing at the AFL combine held in Los Angeles in April this year, and training with the Sydney Swans Academy mid-year under Paul Roos, Holmes, who stands at 203 centimetres is a potential ruck/key position prospect for the Saints.

Holmes is partaking in the 2013 Draft Combine this week.

Re: Just signed jason homes? (holmes?)

Re: Just signed jason holmes

reckon the guy is a pure athelete
on trade radio know!!!!!!

saints contacted about 20 people in that usafl league about being ruckmen!!

he was the one that got thru

heard about aussie rules on around april 1st
watched the game about years before
watched on youtube that night and knew he wanted to have a good crack and loved the look of it

since he was five played soccer til 12
always kicked a ball
enjoyed soccer
was a punter in his american footy team
loves to kick
as his skill gets better he reckon he will do ok with the kicking
afl dif type of endurance
had great training for the last 6 months
played usa afl team at chicago
pretty exciting walking in the facility about all the great players he was reading about, great history and is really looking forward to haveing a really good crack

think he played collage ball for kentucky??
good find buckets
i hadnt checked the newspapers yet
tried to type while he was talking so sorry if the above has come thru a bit 'scattered'

jimmy_slats

Dude is 207 cm 114kgs im pretty sure paul roos loves him massive get

'WALK THIS WAY!!!!!'

Is there some sort of international rookie draft on at the moment? Sounds like an extremely athletic and mobile big man.

Munga wrote:Is there some sort of international rookie draft on at the moment? Sounds like an extremely athletic and mobile big man.

part of the afl combine, but will be an international rookie for the saints.

Is this the dude in the red? He's a Goliath!

jimmy_slats wrote:Dude is 207 cm 114kgs im pretty sure paul roos loves him massive get
bloody hell
no wonder maccas name has been thrown around

macca goes in trade week
hickey and rhys hold fort for a year while holmes gets up to speed possibly??

another scenario comes to light

you gotta love trade (3)week

I like the sound of it. Clubs like St Kilda need to dig a lot harder to find the gems, in order to have some sort of edge.
If he turns out, brilliant, if not, very little lost.

Out of left field: He's 23, so they would surely hope he'd make it in the next year or two max. Is that a sign that McEvoy might be off to GWS?

This would be him:

Very light on his feet.

matrix wrote:someone do some digging
Found some video.

This bloke is bloody huge and very impressive! :)

Oops, I checked again. Think it's his brother John :oops:

philtee

Here's the pic from twitter...

jimmy_slats

Think he is slightly shorter 203 but around that weight there is another american thats 207

'WALK THIS WAY!!!!!'

matrix wrote:someone do some digging
Found some video.

This bloke is bloody huge and very impressive! :)

Nickname shouldn't be too hard!

Oops, I checked again. Think it's his brother John :oops:

good to have a bit of good news that the club has done something compared to the meltdown about the entire list and the coach leaving seaford with the pelch left on his own eating timtams on the couch with no friends

and holmes is a lefty
Last edited by matrix on Wed 02 Oct 2013 2:24pm, edited 1 time in total.

Looks very agile from the videos. Changes direction extremely quickly.

jimmy_slats wrote:Think he is slightly shorter 203 but around that weight there is another american thats 207
Yes 203 is what the afl websites has:

After impressing at the AFL combine held in Los Angeles in April this year, and training with the Sydney Swans Academy mid-year under Paul Roos, Holmes, who stands at 203 centimetres is a potential ruck/key position prospect for the Saints.

Most pleased to read that he has been involved with kicking balls since young. Buys that have only played basketball struggle to adapt.

Also good to note that he is not just a beanpole.

He's no tommy Walsh.

Dont know - from the youtube clips, seems to throw the ball alot.

Didn't see him kick it once and bounces it every two steps.

Oh well at least he can come home and meet mum and date one of my daughters :D

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

saintsRrising wrote: After impressing at the AFL combine held in Los Angeles in April this year, and training with the Sydney Swans Academy mid-year..
So we should be able to put a good 2 years of development into him before the Swans pinch him from under our noses with a 25 year "Bondi Lifestyle" deal :shock:

St Loxton

Good stuff saints, i guess this fella could be anything.

Be good to see him at training.

I think it was him on the radio yesterday and sounded a very driven and aware sort of guy. Good get.

dragit wrote:He's no tommy Walsh.
It seems strange to me that Tommy Walsh is still on Sydney's list given all the forwards they have, and the very little progress he's appeared to make.

Clearly they haven't given up on him just yet?

matrix wrote:reckon the guy is a pure athelete
on trade radio know!!!!!!

saints contacted about 20 people in that usafl league about being ruckmen!!

he was the one that got thru

heard about aussie rules on around april 1st
watched the game about years before
watched on youtube that night and knew he wanted to have a good crack and loved the look of it

since he was five played soccer til 12
always kicked a ball
enjoyed soccer
was a punter in his american footy team
loves to kick
as his skill gets better he reckon he will do ok with the kicking
afl dif type of endurance
had great training for the last 6 months
played usa afl team at chicago
pretty exciting walking in the facility about all the great players he was reading about, great history and is really looking forward to haveing a really good crack

think he played collage ball for kentucky??
good find buckets
i hadnt checked the newspapers yet
tried to type while he was talking so sorry if the above has come thru a bit 'scattered'
Funny thing is Matrix, that I read that article last night and thought he could be a good gamble!