Cop it, Lyin'

That is all

Re: Cop it, Lyin'

bigcarl wrote:That is all
You mean that a Qually Final at Geelong is on the cards?

Go Cats, smash 'em

Arrogant flog. Leaving out star players for a "rest". Probably expected to win too.

Eat a big bag of s***.

Nice of him to congratulate the players after the game.

Hurricane wrote:Arrogant flog. Leaving out star players for a "rest". Probably expected to win too.

Eat a big bag of s***.

Did you say the same when we did that in 2009! Nah of course not...

clarky449 wrote:
Hurricane wrote:Arrogant flog. Leaving out star players for a "rest". Probably expected to win too.

Eat a big bag of s***.

Did you say the same when we did that in 2009! Nah of course not...
I hate it when sides rest players. The height of arrogance. Not to mention buggering around with form. You'll excuse me if my time machine is on the fritz because I can't remember.

In 2009 Lyin hadn't pissed off for more cash to a souless mob like Freo.

Hope freo beat the Cats. have no reason for wanting geelong to win.

Don't think Freo are soulless. Think they have a lot more soul than either of the Sydney sides, the Queensland sides, and Adelaide and West Coast. I think Rossy would have been in a bit of trouble though if the Lions had've got up yestiddy. But they didn't, and were probably never realistically going to. Don't think losing by 12 goals on the eve of the finals, even if it was the East Fremantle side they had in, will do their chances any good though. At least we won our game against Hawthorn whe we did it.

saint6

actually wondered in the last quarter whether ross had orchestrated blakey being alone in the forward line - happened twice and no opposition player on him. Same with kosi to a lesser extent - alll on his own to take an uncontested mark.
Was nice of lyon to come over and shake players hands after the game.

Bono

The match meant nothing to Freo. And given they have to come back next week, good of him/them for doing what they did. If I was a Freo supporter in WA, I'd be happy to know 10 guns will be back in the team v Geelong at Geelong next week. The game was a dead rubber and its all about player management.

Would have been nice if Geelong lost - then freo would have missed that chance at a home final....(I think)

SaintWal

You only have to look at the respect the Saints players have for Ross and Ross has for the players. Time to move on, the players and Ross have.

Bono wrote:The match meant nothing to Freo. And given they have to come back next week, good of him/them for doing what they did. If I was a Freo supporter in WA, I'd be happy to know 10 guns will be back in the team v Geelong at Geelong next week. The game was a dead rubber and its all about player management.

This. Almost impossible to win twice in a row travelling (As per Jonathon Brown who should know).

They have to beat Geelong IN GEELONG, no mean task.

Scott Watter said the Saint WILL do the exact same thing WHEN we are in Freo's shows.

Nice touch for Lyon to give the three players a hug after the game.

Good luck to Freo, Lyon is a marvellous coach.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

It's time to move on from Lyon now. Clearly there was mutual friendship between he and those retiring. A nice gesture to come out on the ground for them.

The dead rubber made it a great day for Saints supporters - enjoy the ride.

SaintWal wrote:You only have to look at the respect the Saints players have for Ross and Ross has for the players. Time to move on, the players and Ross have.
Yep, exactly.

kos

What would you have said if they beat us by 10 goals, spoiling the celebration? Thanks Ross for helping send our boys in style,
I hope they go on to win the flag.

SinCitySainter

I have regained some of the lost respect I had for Lyon after his gesture of congratulating the three players.
I still don't completely absolve him for the situation I find ourselves in at the moment but I will allow bygones be bygones.
He would have had a fair bit of egg on his face though had Brisbane got up.

You know what, Freo will win at Geelong this week. It is already written.

SinCitySainter wrote:I have regained some of the lost respect I had for Lyon after his gesture of congratulating the three players.
It was a nice gesture, the hug on Kosi being particularly poignant.

But I did enjoy watching him squirm in the coaches box during the game as the lead blew out.

bigcarl wrote:You know what, Freo will win at Geelong this week. It is already written.
Freo will get absolutely PUMPED at KP.
Then they will go home shell-shocked and will be lucky to win through to a Prelim.
They'll do a Tomic - Out in straight sets

Enrico_Misso wrote:
bigcarl wrote:You know what, Freo will win at Geelong this week. It is already written.
Freo will get absolutely PUMPED at KP.
Then they will go home shell-shocked and will be lucky to win through to a Prelim.
They'll do a Tomic - Out in straight sets
We'll see. One thing I know about Lyin' teams from experience is that they play well on the road.

saint6 wrote:actually wondered in the last quarter whether ross had orchestrated blakey being alone in the forward line - happened twice and no opposition player on him. Same with kosi to a lesser extent - alll on his own to take an uncontested mark.
Was nice of lyon to come over and shake players hands after the game.
Agree entirely...and also to have Monty with no-one even near him for the last half.

I don't think it was deliberate.

I think he was more focused listening to another game.

SainterK wrote:I don't think it was deliberate.

I think he was more focused listening to another game.
Dennis Commetti commented that The WA fans and footy followers were very supportive of Ross since he arrived at Freo. Maybe not as sycophantic as the 'in Ross we trust' crowd that developed at St. Kilda, but basically Dennis said that Mark Harvey might've undone all the goodwill that Lyon had built up in his last 2 years had Brisbane won yesterday.

With the non-decision against Chappy and the dreadful shot on goal that was touched, I'd say Rossy was lucky that his decision didn't backfire. Ironic isn't it that the bloke Lyon screwed over nearly screwed him over and the whole of WA would'v turned on Rossy boy if he stuffed up Freo's chances of getting a home qualifying final

I don't think it's a given that Geelong has an unfair advantage against Freo down at Simmons because Finals are a totally different ballgame. The pressure is on Geelong. No-one expects Freo to win. There midfield guns and outside runners are fresh and I won't be surprised if they win. Geelong are far too arrogant and I reckon if the odds are juicy I'd be putting a couple of bob on the Dockers

Greg T

plugger66 wrote:Hope freo beat the Cats. have no reason for wanting geelong to win.
Absolutely agree with that.
Stuff Geelong,and the AFL for handing that game on a plate...mongrels

100 goals in 14 games...Lockett is the key