Day/Night/Twilight - what breakup do you want?

For the past 3 seasons including the current one, most of our games have been night, followed by twilight then very few day games.

For 2014, what mix would you like to see?

For me, 10 night, 8 day, 4 twilight would be a good mix.

I'd really like a few more day games (especially in Melbourne) for something different.

saint6

Re: Day/Night/Twilight - what breakup do you want?

prefer the night games personally as then you can do something else during the day before going to the game. Really hate the 1 pm start closely followed by twilight especially twilight sunday. Does not matter what we prefer as the afl will treat the saints like a second class side and give us a terrible draw.
Will be interesting to see how long a break we are given prior to the anzac day game this time. Have booked flights on the monday to go over as not convinced that we will not be scheduled to play on the sunday before.

PADDLEPOP1001

Hate Sunday at 4.40

PADDLEPOP1000
Saint_Ash
Location: Either work, home or the footy, maybe a pub somewhere

Hate 4:40pm Sunday, closely followed by the 'Day' game at 3:20 Sunday and 4:40pm Saturday.

More day games would be nice. Maybe 8-9 days games and the rest night and no twilight.

What doesn't kill us only makes us stronger.

Saint_Ash wrote:Hate 4:40pm Sunday, closely followed by the 'Day' game at 3:20 Sunday and 4:40pm Saturday.

More day games would be nice. Maybe 8-9 days games and the rest night and no twilight.
Given that there is twilight Saturday and Sunday, we won't have no twilight. That's pretty much a given. But it would be fairer to have less than the 8 this season!

Every game at 2.10 saturday afternoon would be fine by me !

saintspremiers wrote:For the past 3 seasons including the current one, most of our games have been night, followed by twilight then very few day games.

For 2014, what mix would you like to see?

For me, 10 night, 8 day, 4 twilight would be a good mix.

I'd really like a few more day games (especially in Melbourne) for something different.
Pretty close to what I would like to see. Mine would be 12 Night (4 Friday, 7 Saturday & The Mothers Day Monday), 6 Day (3 Home, 3 Away) 4 Twilight (2 of these being in Perth v WA sides on Sundays), the other two being 1 Saturday & 1 Sunday !!

SinCitySainter

My preference in order is Saturday afternoon, followed by Saturday Twilight, Sunday Arvo, Friday Night, Saturday Night, Sunday Twilight and lastly the Mondays and Thursdays etc...

Anytime but Saturday and especially day games Saturday. Mainly Sunday is good. We will probably only get one Friday night next season and hopefully still get the Monday night against the Blues.

Skildir

SinCitySainter wrote:My preference in order is Saturday afternoon, followed by Saturday Twilight, Sunday Arvo, Friday Night, Saturday Night, Sunday Twilight and lastly the Mondays and Thursdays etc...
I agree with everything above.

SideshowMilne

Given our current state we are unlikely to get too many TV slots i.e. night games. We will again be shafted into the dreaded blackhole 4.40 slot.

I reckon we make a play (and market) for at least 6-8 traditional 2pm Saturday afternoon games. I know this sucks for families with teens who prefer night, but we wont get those games, and sat arvo suits younger families. As it stand with toddlers there are < 5 games attendable imo.

Saturday afternoon
Sunday afternoon
Sat/Sun twilight
Sat night
Friday night
Thur/Mon night

Your servants shall hold her stones dear, and have pity on her dust :shock:

Not twilight

saint3d

A day game in Melbourne before round 22 would be nice. I wouldn't mind being able to take my daughter to the footy more than once a year.

saintkellerm

Sat arvo...2.10
Sat night
Fri night

Not Sundays (as I can't go on Sundays - but that is just me).

saint3d wrote:A day game in Melbourne before round 22 would be nice. I wouldn't mind being able to take my daughter to the footy more than once a year.
How old is she?

My eldest kids are 8 and 6 and twilight is ok. But kids under 5 are pretty stuffed by the end of the game.
I might email the club and maybe suggest they garner some feedback maybe via Saints Facebook re timeslots.

saint3d wrote:A day game in Melbourne before round 22 would be nice. I wouldn't mind being able to take my daughter to the footy more than once a year.
How old is she?

My eldest kids are 8 and 6 and twilight is ok. But kids under 5 are pretty stuffed by the end of the game.
I might email the club and maybe suggest they garner some feedback maybe via Saints Facebook re timeslots.

My daughter went to all games from 10 days old until she was about 14. Time didnt matter. Didnt effect her life. She is now drinks to much and has Dan Milecki's all the time. Seriously why does it matter how old they are. gove then a book to draw on or let them run up and down the steps.

SideshowMilne

Thanks plugger, can you give me some more gold in relation how I should bring my kids up.

SideshowMilne wrote:Thanks plugger, can you give me some more gold in relation how I should bring my kids up.

No but late nights at the footy once or twice a fortnight will not hurt them at all.

SideshowMilne wrote:Thanks plugger, can you give me some more gold in relation how I should bring my kids up.

No but late nights at the footy once or twice a fortnight will not hurt them at all.
That's in your opinion from your experience but disagree strongly re ours kids who rarely sleep in after a late night.
Again, depends on the kid I guess.

Darren

Used to be Friday night alot, but dramatically dropped to the Sunday twilight because of work

DK27

My Wife and I stopped being members as with small kids we have no games at 2.10 to go to. They are too small for evening and twilight games.

More 2.10 Melbourne based games please. Saturday or Sunday.

We would be members still if the fixture had 5 or 6 games we could attend.