Good luck Jimmy

Jimmy websters first game Monday
Enjoy the experience and take it all in

PurpleHayes

Re: Good luck Jimmy

Let's not set our expectations too high. Will not be easy against the Blues if he plays on one of the mosquito fleet down back.

Looking forward to seeing how he goes in the big league!

PurpleHayes wrote:Let's not set our expectations too high. Will not be easy against the Blues if he plays on one of the mosquito fleet down back.
Jimmy is 188cm and so may not be on the mosquito fleet.
Last edited by saintsRrising on Sun 12 May 2013 1:18am, edited 1 time in total.

Good luck Jimmy and hope allis well with your family in Tassie.

http://www.saints.com.au/news/2013-05-1 ... orkstation

The Saints evolution continues.. if we want to succeed then we need to evolve...Good on you Scott for giving the kids a chance....

agree - kudos to Watters this is whats needed.....to find out who is going to be a player.

I like this kid. I like him a lot.
Seems like a real good bloke.
Can play footy too.

Con Gorozidis wrote:I like this kid. I like him a lot.
Can play footy too.
have you met him?

Con Gorozidis wrote:I like this kid. I like him a lot.
Can play footy too.

I reckon you have seen him play one or two games at the most and never met him. How do you come up with these things Con?

What sort of a player is he? Tough in-and-under midfielder, pacey half-back, goal sneak?

Toy Saint wrote:What sort of a player is he? Tough in-and-under midfielder, pacey half-back, goal sneak?

Outside running HB at the moment.

Toy Saint wrote:What sort of a player is he? Tough in-and-under midfielder, pacey half-back, goal sneak?

Outside running HB at the moment.
And Very Good at dodging blokes in the defensive goal square that ultimately assists Spencer White's highlight reel. Someone who is more tech savvy than me might be ale to link that YouTube clip !!

Review of him prior to draft day:
http://www.contestedfooty.com/2011/07/j ... -prospect/

Name: Jimmy Webster
Position: Midfielder/Forward
Age (by draft day): 18
Height: 186cm
Weight: 71kg

Quick Notes on Jimmy Webster
*Left footer
*Has pace/agility
*Good hands
*Penetrating kick
*AIS-AFL Academy member

Jimmy Webster in detail
Jimmy Webster is a talented wingman/forward from Tasmania.

Webster is exactly what you want from a wingman. He has pace, is happy to take on play and once he has broken the lines he delivers to his forward line with his penetrating left foot.

When Webster isn’t setting up play from the wing he is capable of going forward and having an impact there. His pace, read of the play and sure hands allow him to get dangerous and add another dimension to his side’s forward line.

Webster hasn’t played as good football over the last 6 months as many expected, but he undoubtedly has the tools to make it at the top level. Expect him to be picked in the second round at the latest.

AND
http://www.themercury.com.au/article/20 ... 1_afl.html
GLENORCHY'S Jimmy Webster feared a year of injuries and frustration might have cost him his AFL dream at Thursday night's national draft.

So the hoots and hollers of celebration in a shed out the back of Mangalore were understandable when his name was called out by St Kilda with pick No. 42.

"I just had a few mates and family up in the shed and watched it on Austar and I was very happy to be picked up," Webster, 18, said.

"I was shaking like anything, I didn't know what was going on.

"I just heard everybody start yelling and screaming and then looked at the screen and I was up there, it was unreal."

An AIS-AFL scholar, Webster was selected to tour Europe pre-season with the AIS squad and was tipped early as an AFL draftee monty given his previous form.

But it was on that tour that his season started to turn for the worse as injury restricted him to one game with the AIS, one-and-a-half games with the Mariners and seven matches with Glenorchy.

"Injuries have been pretty big this year," he said.

"Shin splints kept me out for eight weeks, then had my appendix out as well so that was another three weeks.

"So it has been a frustrating year but I did well over in the draft camp and was injury free so that's what got me across the line.

"I did think it might cost me at the draft actually, especially not playing with the Mariners and going away with the AIS and playing one game and that was it, that was a bit of a worry.

"Going to the draft camp and doing pretty well over there probably boosted my chances a bit."

The son of former North Hobart player Darren, Webster has been a lifelong North Melbourne supporter, but not any more.

It will also be a huge cultural shift for the 186cm, 79kg running defender/wingman with a silky left foot to go from country Mangalore to the metropolis of Melbourne.

"It will be hard to start with, moving away from family and friends, but I can't wait to get into it, meet everyone and play some footy," he said.

creepypolar

Bernard Shakey wrote:Good luck Jimmy and hope allis well with your family in Tassie.

http://www.saints.com.au/news/2013-05-1 ... orkstation
Good on the boys! That's the sort of thing that endears a player to a club.

Webster sounds like the exact type we need, pace, agility and a penetrating kick. Will hopefully find his way into our midfield in a couple os years.

If we're not going to win the flag this year, we may as well enjoy the development of the rookies....

Well done to SW and coaches for getting games into the kids. Grab the opportunity Jimmy and good luck. Go Saints

Apparently his little brother Zac is a a gun.
Hope we get him.

All the best,Jimmy!!

I'm sure Dad (Squizzy) and Mum will be in the stands cheering you on.

Con Gorozidis wrote:Apparently his little brother Zac is a a gun.
Hope we get him.
yes coz the last set of brothers we had brought so much joy and success :roll:

Sounds like a good player to have on the fat side of a attacking switch.

whiskers3614 wrote:
Con Gorozidis wrote:Apparently his little brother Zac is a a gun.
Hope we get him.
yes coz the last set of brothers we had brought so much joy and success :roll:
ok lets never get brothers again because of the clarkes?
relevance?

St Kilda FC‏@stkildafc
Debutant Jimmy Webster celebrates with his brother Jay in the rooms #29

Well done Jimmy

did anyone happen to capture the half time interview?

wearing number 29 reminds me a bit of Justin Peckett when he first wore the 29. If he plays as many games for the Saints as Frankie we will all be very happy :-)

Lots of Saints family wore 29 early
Burkey Thommo Bakes

video of jimmys first game and the Coach chat..

http://www.afl.com.au/video?guid=546966

Last edited by saintbrat on Wed 15 May 2013 8:22pm, edited 1 time in total.