Financial Report 2012

How far off these Clubs will we be?

Richmond has done well.................53,000 members

2012 AFL CLUB FINANCIAL RESULTS

Richmond: $3,017,742 profit

Hawthorn: $2,023,720 profit

North Melbourne: $1,193,080 operating profit

Other clubs to follow

Re: Financial Report 2012

They are excellent results both membership and in dollar term. Wish wecould do something like that.

chook23 wrote:How far off these Clubs will we be?

Other clubs to follow
How much of Nth Melbournes money is AFL subsidy?

Stillwaiting wrote:They are excellent results both membership and in dollar term. Wish wecould do something like that.
Profit means nothing as far as financial health goes. It is a faux accounting concept, nothing more.

However non financial people look at it like it is the be all and end all.

The Balance Sheet is more important in looking at Financial health. Look at the notes of the financial reports as well. Debtors and Creditors turnover is a bettr indicator, as well as the Cah Flow Statement (or whatever it is now called, haven't done a cash flow in about 15 years for a financial report.)

Profit is a guide only, however so many intangibles can be added or not to skew a P&L that it is almost worthless on its own.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

Stillwaiting wrote:They are excellent results both membership and in dollar term. Wish wecould do something like that.
Profit means nothing as far as financial health goes. It is a faux accounting concept, nothing more.

The Balance Sheet is more important in looking at Financial health. Look at the notes of the financial reports as well. Debtors and Creditors turnover is a bettr indicator, as well as the Cah Flow Statement (or whatever it is now called, haven't done a cash flow in about 15 years for a financial report.)

Profit is a guide only, however so many intangibles can be added or not to skew a P&L that it is almost worthless on its own.
Yeah I expect that much of these figures are not clear cut, when the club releases its finacial report it would be good to get a clear explanation from someone hear. Then we could compare how the saints perform to other clubs

joffaboy wrote:The Balance Sheet is more important in looking at Financial health.
Depends on the business. My business has just about zero assets but very strong cash flow, margins and profit. Looking at the balance sheet tells you nothing about it. St Kilda is similar, in that the majority of their "assets" are intangible - the players, the supporter base, the brand. In that case you'd be much more likely to look at revenue from various sources to measure how well the club is performing, and various expense groupings to see how tight it's run.

joffaboy wrote:The Balance Sheet is more important in looking at Financial health.
Depends on the business. My business has just about zero assets but very strong cash flow, margins and profit. Looking at the balance sheet tells you nothing about it. St Kilda is similar, in that the majority of their "assets" are intangible - the players, the supporter base, the brand. In that case you'd be much more likely to look at revenue from various sources to measure how well the club is performing, and various expense groupings to see how tight it's run.

Thats why I said look at your key indicators (turnover) and cash flow. Asset and Liab yearly comparisions can be helpful, but it is mainly (as you would know bergholt as you have a business) what cash comes in the door and when, and what cash goes out the door and when.

Revenue is a nice indicator, but you can have a billion on your book in revenue, but it doesn't help your solvency too much if you cant collect a cent of it through your debtors.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

joffaboy wrote:Thats why I said look at your key indicators (turnover) and cash flow. Asset and Liab yearly comparisions can be helpful, but it is mainly (as you would know bergholt as you have a business) what cash comes in the door and when, and what cash goes out the door and when.

Revenue is a nice indicator, but you can have a billion on your book in revenue, but it doesn't help your solvency too much if you cant collect a cent of it through your debtors.
Yeah, I guess, that's something I've never had to worry that much about - I've been lucky enough to pick the right clients! I hope the same would broadly apply to St Kilda. Three broad classes of debtors: members, sponsors, the AFL. The AFL should pay every time, sponsors should pay unless they're out of business, and the numbers involved are big enough for serious legal remedy to be an option. That leaves members, and while many pay up front I suppose there'd be some reneging from those on monthly plans. Still, I reckon revenue would generally be a reasonable indicator of cashflow for a footy club.

Other clubs to follow
Lions
The Lions, announced a net loss of $2,513,262 for the financial year which ended on October 31.
Blues
Blues chief executive Greg Swan announced a net loss of $683,799.[/quote]
Last edited by saintbrat on Tue 27 Nov 2012 6:30pm, edited 3 times in total.

Yaysaints

Ah an accountancy thread.
What do u get when u combine an accountant with a jet ?
A really boring 747.

Yaysaints wrote:Ah an accountancy thread.
What do u get when u combine an accountant with a jet ?
A really boring 747.
:lol: :lol: :lol:

But on a somewhat more serious note, this reminds me Yay of an unpleasant duty a mate had to perform recently.

Had to do the whole sad knock-on-the-door and let the missus know that her hubby had passed away thing. :(

Seems the deceased was an accountant... hence the segue way.

When his wife was told the terrible news, something like... "I'm so sorry to have to inform you of this, but your husband the accountant is dead..."

She just looked at my mate for a moment, and then replied... "How can you tell...?"

Other clubs to follow
Lions
The Lions, announced a net loss of $2,513,262 for the financial year which ended on October 31.
Blues
Blues chief executive Greg Swan announced a net loss of $683,799.[/quote]
Western Bulldogs
on Monday announced a net operating loss of $136,679 for 2012.

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/o ... z2DPATvEo0

oh when the

Will we report a profit?

oh when the

Why can't we get members.
What are we doing wrong?

oh when the wrote:Will we report a profit?
last I heard yes

oh when the wrote:Why can't we get members.
What are we doing wrong?
No flags?
Moving down the ladder?
Poor off-field behaviour?
Twilight matches?

Rosco wrote:
What are we doing wrong?
No flags?
Moving down the ladder?
Twilight matches?
Drafting Lovett. Losing Ball for nothing.

Drafting Howard with a high draft pick.

Freebird

Rosco wrote:
What are we doing wrong?
Joffboy never fathomed why choosing howard early was dumb....

Agggh some good old fashioned CPA balance ....I Like it.

Rosco wrote:
What are we doing wrong?
No flags?
Moving down the ladder?
Twilight matches?
Drafting Lovett. Losing Ball for nothing.
Swapping Ian Cervi (and a third Brownlow) for a silly carrot (and two games). :oops:
Not looking after Doug Booth's dog.
Letting Simon O'Donnell go and play cricket.
Letting Keith Miller go and play cricket.
Letting Sam Loxton go and play cricket.
Letting Wels Eicke go to Nuff Nuff Melbourne.
Letting Roy Cazaly go to the Swines.
Pissing off Dave McNamara.
Turning up late for our first ever VFL game... hey, finally a good one on this list! :mrgreen:

Joffa 5

St Kilda Football Club has announced an operating profit of $631,135 for the financial year ending 31 October 2012. After accounting for depreciation, amortisation and interest the Club made a net loss of $436,818.

http://www.saints.com.au/news/newsartic ... fault.aspx

Joffa 5 wrote:St Kilda Football Club has announced an operating profit of $631,135 for the financial year ending 31 October 2012. After accounting for depreciation, amortisation and interest the Club made a net loss of $436,818.

Amazing how the club spins things. Unless for some reason our club is immune to interest I reckon that counts. JB will have a btter idea than most on here but I reckon most clubs pay interest nad have to depreciate things.

saintlee

One positive is our cash flows have improved significantly from last year. Debt has also been reduced. Its an improvement on last year no doubt, but we are hardly a financial powerhouse.

Joffa 5 wrote:St Kilda Football Club has announced an operating profit of $631,135 for the financial year ending 31 October 2012. After accounting for depreciation, amortisation and interest the Club made a net loss of $436,818.

Amazing how the club spins things. Unless for some reason our club is immune to interest I reckon that counts. JB will have a btter idea than most on here but I reckon most clubs pay interest nad have to depreciate things.
Yes
You'ld think that if membership, merchandise and gate receipts don't rise significantly next year , then will have another loss .
Early next season we play big clubs so we should make money however if the team is not playing well , then out of our last seven home games , only the game against the hawks will see the club getting any return .

Saints record an operating profit of $631K, a $2.1 Mil turn around from last year. Great result