Possible ins

andrewg

Possible ins

Now that BJ has gone and we have over a million dollars in our cap, who is in?

We will loose BJ, Peak, Polo, Crocker

Possibles

Wellingham
Warnock
Koby Stevens (straight swap for Cripps)
Caddy
Salopek
Giles?

Will the money be spent or saved???????

Re: Possible ins

We must spend, we cannot afford to bottom out, our membership is way too fickle and we may not survive a few years in the bottom 4

The last player of quality to come to our club was Lovett. Since then we've lost Ball and Goddard. I wouldn't hold my breath waiting for us to catch a big fish.

BringBackMadDog wrote:We must spend, we cannot afford to bottom out, our membership is way too fickle and we may not survive a few years in the bottom 4
We've been around for 120 years. In that time we've won 1 premiership and 26 wooden spoons. I wouldn't describe the membership as 'fickle'.

Saved this year and then spent aggressively over the next three years trying to lure quality players to be part of our next assault at a flag from 2015 onwards. We'll land a few cheapish but promising young players and a tall defender looking for more opportunities this year, but after that I expect we'll have our first real head hunt since we landed Gehrig, Hamill and Powell.

no-ones coming don't kid yourself.
Who would come to us unless you're forced via the draft.
Bombers, Pies, Hawks and even the Blues attract talent we don't.

noddy04

suss wrote:The last player of quality to come to our club was Lovett. Since then we've lost Ball and Goddard. I wouldn't hold my breath waiting for us to catch a big fish.

Yeah he sure was Quality :roll:

maverick wrote:no-ones coming don't kid yourself.
Well it's an especially hard sell when you let your quality players go...

Convince who to come, convince who that we'll contend?

Sending out a message that is more an admission that it's over rover....

Has inferiority complex written all over it...........

been a sainter without success (premiership) for so long

BJ or the Club?

suss wrote:
BringBackMadDog wrote:We must spend, we cannot afford to bottom out, our membership is way too fickle and we may not survive a few years in the bottom 4
We've been around for 120 years. In that time we've won 1 premiership and 26 wooden spoons. I wouldn't describe the membership as 'fickle'.
Really!??? We have been up for nearly a decade yet still can't crack 40000 members. If we bottom out our membership numbers will plummet and in this day and age, passing around a hat on a Thursday night training session doesn't cut it

BJ or the Club?
The club

I'd understand if it was a older decent player, but the guy has a couple of very good years ahead of him...intergral (IMO of course) to anything significant they have planned.

I'd go so far as to say he was in Watters plans, or he wouldn't of bothered sending him back to school this season.

probably was (is) in the plans BUT at a salary that is considered appropriate

I know that the figure is dfferent in variuos peoples opinion................but when is it inappropriate

800,000 for 4 years ............

you mentioned couple?? have doubts on more

chook23 wrote:probably was (is) in the plans BUT at a salary that is considered appropriate

I know that the figure is dfferent in variuos peoples opinion................but when is it inappropriate

It's being reported 680-720....not 800K...truth is nobody really knows.

Personally I just feel like full control has been handed over to the newbie, and I'm admittedly a bit nervous about it all.

Chris on radio being a bit snide with a 'you'll have to speak to Dan Richardson' when questioned about BJ's contract, made me a bit nervous some ego is coming into play here.

800,000 mentioned on SEN tonight when Finey rang in and spoke to dasher

SainterK wrote:I'd go so far as to say he was in Watters plans, or he wouldn't of bothered sending him back to school this season.
I don't reckon he sent him back to school. I reckon he spent most of the season testing BJ in the midfield, and in the end he failed the test. For mine that's the main reason he's on the way out the door - Watters is looking for a player he can build his future midfield around and he doesn't believe BJ is that player. I'm inclined to agree, but I have a feeling you won't see it the same way, K.

GeorgeYoung27

That's what it's like with Pelchen. It will be a bit of a rough ride but hopefully he is putting together his 3rd premiership team. First it was Port Adelaide. I think he was behind the Stevens saga and wouldn't trade him to Collingwood and let him go for nothing. Port won the premiership the next year. Went back to Hawthorn in 2005 for a flag in 2008. He is best described as ruthless, but is a meticulous planner. He would have been working on plans A, B and C all year. Read the articles:

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/afl/chris-p ... 6140368031

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/p ... 1fl53.html

He treads on toes, as SainterK said, he has an ego. The other clubs hate him, but he seems to get the job done. Last years trade and draft period was our best all round since 2000.

andrewg

Bergholt and georgeyoung27 best two posts I have seen on Sainsational in ages

Spot on is an understatement.

chook23 wrote:probably was (is) in the plans BUT at a salary that is considered appropriate

Personally I just feel like full control has been handed over to the newbie, and I'm admittedly a bit nervous about it all.

Chris on radio being a bit snide with a 'you'll have to speak to Dan Richardson' when questioned about BJ's contract, made me a bit nervous some ego is coming into play here.
Agreed.

battye wrote:

Agreed.
Someone on the QLD Saints FB page, who works at SEN has said some some potentially damning stuff about the club, said he cant go into detail, etc etc.. BUt clearly something is rotten at the top.

Want giles no to wellingham

clarky449 wrote:
battye wrote:

Agreed.
Someone on the QLD Saints FB page, who works at SEN has said some some potentially damning stuff about the club, said he cant go into detail, etc etc.. BUt clearly something is rotten at the top.

I heard off someone from SEN about 3 weeks ago that the Saints were happy to lose BJ and at the time wrote about it on here. I will still stick to that especially as we hear more about it. People will say why and I reckon only the club would know that but people could guess I suppose. My guess is they dont see BJ as irreplaceable because of how he plays. Plenty will see many reasons why he should stay. One thing I do know is 500K over 3 years is a very reasonable contract offer for a one time top 3 B&F placegetter.

A further issue rarely raised: perhaps BJ is seen as a bit of a difficult narcissist whose presence is not in best interests of 'team'. Always overlooked as a captain. Always a crank dummy spitter. Maybe there's something in that. Value is defined in many ways. Just theorising of course. I don't know the bloke from Adam.

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'

He is a very good player but has his faults. He is lumbering and slow, doesn't contest one on one, isn't that accountable for his man, plays better as a loose defender. He does how ever use the footy better than most and has an incredible ability to will him self into a contest, so while he isn't perfect he has qualities that are good. Personally as a loose utility/ defender he's worth around $500 000 per year.

I would rather keep guys like Rhys, Steven, Saad, Siposs and Armo as they will be the future stars of the club so we need to keep sane with contracts. If BJ does a knee next year and takes 2 years to get back to his best while we pay him $800000 pa the club will be accused of screwing up Kosi and Gram style.

howlinwolf

Buckley said this morning that Wellingham wanted to go home to Perth.

Robert Harvey's last home game. 24 Aug 2008
StKilda 13.17 def Adelaide 6.11