Steven Baker on Open Mike

Tonight at 9:30 on Fox Footy

Very excited for this interview, will be a great watch

Re: Steven Baker on Open Mike

Will be compelling viewing, but not sure it's going to be his finest hour.

SainterK wrote:Will be compelling viewing, but not sure it's going to be his finest hour.
Such is life, he is a divisive figure

don't have fox , can someone help with a link

dcstkfc wrote:
SainterK wrote:Will be compelling viewing, but not sure it's going to be his finest hour.
Has admitted to

* Filing his stops to make them sharper, then standing on opponents ankles.
* Constant punching to opponents arms just above the elbow, often resulting in the opponent having to leave the ground.
* Punches to the sternums of opponents in stoppage situations.
* Headbutting oponents by deliberately throwing the head back into opponents standing behind.

dcstkfc wrote:
Has admitted to

* Constant punching to opponents arms just above the elbow, often resulting in the opponent having to leave the ground.
* Headbutting oponents by deliberately throwing the head back into opponents standing behind.
Glad he was on our side then

dcstkfc wrote:
So is Baker.

howlinwolf

Don't think he's going to be breaking down the door at AFL house for jobs after that. :-)

Robert Harvey's last home game. 24 Aug 2008
StKilda 13.17 def Adelaide 6.11

But I think it only goes for half an hour.

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=77411

looking forward to it
but i feel it will be shite
he will tell all the dirty tricks of the trade
stuff that was second nature when he started

they will edit out anything too controversial, you wont hear too much on AD and the afl
it will make him look like a complete nasty piece of work
it goes for half an hr, i mean seriously? this show should be an hour, not putting out extended versions for blokes like mathews and bartlet

2cents

3rd snippett after 2 small pieces shown/heard on tv and radio
Hall dumping water over him 6hr late for training
S johnson incident ( I didnt due to static)
Retirement ??
http://m.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/bak ... 24gkt.html

I hope he has a good go at the club re it's pathetic defence of him re the Farmer case. It led the way to the ridiculous 9 week ban.

Good on him for going public. It's nearly a year gone now so it's open season. Might've been better on SBS or ABC not a rights holder so we could here more.

saintspremiers wrote:I hope he has a good go at the club re it's pathetic defence of him re the Farmer case. It led the way to the ridiculous 9 week ban.

Good on him for going public. It's nearly a year gone now so it's open season. Might've been better on SBS or ABC not a rights holder so we could here more.
stating first up I loved Bakes and his larrikan hard at it play

BUt why should we wish him to dump on the club and cause it yet more media sniggering? Yes explain the situations but the club gave him 10 + years of employment

must admit certain stuff should stay in the cupboard

why even mention about sharpening the stops etc

better to keep mouth shut and leave it to people to think you are fool than open your mouth and prove it.....................
apparently

Has admitted to

the filing of stops is nothing but an arsehole act but to then admit it............see above.

saintspremiers wrote:I hope he has a good go at the club re it's pathetic defence of him re the Farmer case. It led the way to the ridiculous 9 week ban.

Was lucky to get 7 considering what he did,would probably get 27 if he did it now.

Typical Bakes, tracky pants,hoodie,sneakers. Tells it how it is, knock about bloke who couldn't give a sh*t.
Gives Blight a spray too...

matrix wrote:viewtopic.php?f=1&t=77411

looking forward to it
but i feel it will be shite
he will tell all the dirty tricks of the trade
stuff that was second nature when he started

they will edit out anything too controversial, you wont hear too much on AD and the afl
it will make him look like a complete nasty piece of work
it goes for half an hr, i mean seriously? this show should be an hour, not putting out extended versions for blokes like mathews and bartlet

2cents
pretty astute comments imhfo...don't know why he would do the interview...

although i haven't seen it.. the interview may just serve to vindicate the afl and the dickwads who took a set against him.....

chook23 wrote:must admit certain stuff should stay in the cupboard

why even mention about sharpening the stops etc

better to keep mouth shut and leave it to people to think you are fool than open your mouth and prove it.....................
apparently

Has admitted to

the filing of stops is nothing but an arsehole act but to then admit it............see above.
EXACTLY.

If Bakes gets on TV and trouts off about this stuff all he is showing is that he IS AS DUMB AS DOG SH!T.

Sorry, but if this was a player from another club, the amount of vitriol that would be poured on him by this site would require the whole site to be closed down for a week. What possible purpose can be gained from it. As Saintbrat said, the club gave him an opportunity to play league footy where I reckon no other club would have looked at him. He had some great times at the saints. Was a great servant who got the most out of himself. Hate to think that the bloke was nothing but a tossbag though.

Filing down stops :roll:

surely he wasnt filling down spiggs in 2009
this musta been in the early years
surely?

throwing the head back
thats what he did to farmer wasnt it????

matrix wrote:surely he wasnt filling down spiggs in 2009
this musta been in the early years
surely?

throwing the head back
thats what he did to farmer wasnt it????
yep...told a friend of mine that if the afl had really worked out what he did to farmer he would have gotten life.....

That article says to me he holds a grudge and seems to think it was Pelchen who pulled the trigger.
In all honesty it was probably for the best. To say he had no idea was a bit strong as he says Lyon told him that he wouldn't be required.

maybe he is not so much pissed at telling him he wouldnt be required in 2012 (midway thru 2011) but that in the group meeting after the swans game lyon said he was retiring??

maybe he meant retiring from the saints?

who knows
bit of niggle still there i reckon

To be honest, I can see why Lyon would be confused about the reaction by some of these players. Sounds like he told the players that they wouldn't be required before he announced it. Maybe straight after a game isn't perfect timing, but for whatever reason he obviously thought that was the right time to announce it - maybe b/c that was the only time he could guarantee it would just be the playing group he would be talking to.

Club is always bigger than the individual - and everything I've read on here and in the article in The Age disappoints me so far about this interview tonight. I have Fox and I love the Open Mike interviews. I won't be watching tonight though. I don't want to see one of my favourite players at the saints pour a bucket on the club, and say things that as a footy lover, will make me lose so much respect for him. What possibly has he to gain from doing such an interview?

@StevenBaker10: My 'Open Mike' interview is on at 9.30 tonight.. Wonder if they will make me out the victim haha http://t.co/2wSsbHLd

From the previewing ( I may be hoping rather than knowing)

If they really have anything explosive would they not have hinted at , and Nick when questioned just said it would be interesting