Why that was a fantastic win
- ralphsmith
- SS Hall of Fame
Why that was a fantastic win
Often, some external factor fires up Melbourne.
Neitz and the taxi driver incident for example. We lost that game.
Today it was Paul Roos calling Melbourne players soft http://www.heraldsun.com.au/afl/paul-ro ... 6341132568
So f****** great, they come out breathing fire against us. Head over the ball all night, throwing themselves into contests like they actually want to win. They haven't done it all year, but suddenly against us they turn it on like their lives depended on it.
We often lose these ones.
Not tonight. Great effort saints. Really good effort!!
Now we have the hardest run of the year. Hawthorn, carlton west coast.
Neitz and the taxi driver incident for example. We lost that game.
Today it was Paul Roos calling Melbourne players soft http://www.heraldsun.com.au/afl/paul-ro ... 6341132568
So f****** great, they come out breathing fire against us. Head over the ball all night, throwing themselves into contests like they actually want to win. They haven't done it all year, but suddenly against us they turn it on like their lives depended on it.
We often lose these ones.
Not tonight. Great effort saints. Really good effort!!
Now we have the hardest run of the year. Hawthorn, carlton west coast.
What is dead may never die, but rises again harder and stronger.
Re: Why that was a fantastic win
You are easily pleased. If you believe what you are saying then you must think what i think and know we are going down and already an average side.
-
- Saintsational Legend
Play like that fist half where we were oathetic in a contest, clearance and Hawks will have 6 goals up on us in 10 mins.
First half was deplorable.
Perfect for the lead in v the Hawks
Going to be as tough in close next week.
Better preperation than a coast, that's for sure.
Just not going to accept that the Demons were crap tonight, just not.
I'm sure they will review the first half, but gee that last quarter, it actually reminded me of 2009, contested....tight...fierce....cream rose to the top
Going to be as tough in close next week.
Better preperation than a coast, that's for sure.
Just not going to accept that the Demons were crap tonight, just not.
I'm sure they will review the first half, but gee that last quarter, it actually reminded me of 2009, contested....tight...fierce....cream rose to the top
clarky449 wrote:You are easily pleased. If you believe what you are saying then you must think what i think and know we are going down and already an average side.
And the conditions had nothing to do with it
We were cruising until it rained and brought a 6 goal lesser team back into it.
Good win in tough conditions. Obviously you never played footy on anything but pristine sunny, dry days
There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)
-
- Saintsational Legend
When I saw that article about melb today I was concerned that it would motivate them, thankfully we got over the line but it's still crap performance, we are going to find the next few weeks hard going.
- ralphsmith
- SS Hall of Fame
The expectation that we'd roll over the top of them with ease must have entered the minds of some players.
Melbourne brought a shitload of ferocity to the contest tonight. In fact they were killing us in contested possession in the 1st half. We managed to grind out a win against a very determined team. Never underestimate any team in the AFL (except gold coast and the giants perhaps...).
We won't be so unprepared for hawthorn.
Melbourne brought a shitload of ferocity to the contest tonight. In fact they were killing us in contested possession in the 1st half. We managed to grind out a win against a very determined team. Never underestimate any team in the AFL (except gold coast and the giants perhaps...).
We won't be so unprepared for hawthorn.
To be honest I'm quite happy. As soon as it started raining I thought we were screwed, Melbourne wanted that.
But we really did smack em in the second half, if it wasn't raining the scoreboard would show it.
GWS were about 20 down against Adelaide for most of the game last week in the wet, thats just how it is.
But we really did smack em in the second half, if it wasn't raining the scoreboard would show it.
GWS were about 20 down against Adelaide for most of the game last week in the wet, thats just how it is.
Mate i played 3/4 of my games on a wet mud heap ground. Probably got more touches in a game then you did in your whole career...Not about the conditions, we already are an average side.joffaboy wrote:clarky449 wrote:You are easily pleased. If you believe what you are saying then you must think what i think and know we are going down and already an average side.
Good win in tough conditions. Obviously you never played footy on anything but pristine sunny, dry days
-
- Saintsational Legend
joffaboy wrote:clarky449 wrote:You are easily pleased. If you believe what you are saying then you must think what i think and know we are going down and already an average side.
Exactly
-
- Saintsational Legend
Yeah we get it, you think we are average. You mention it in every thread, like there is some sort of prize for saying it first.
Well this average team just kept the other team scoreless and ground out a win. Yeah I know we are average
-
- Club Player
clarky449 wrote:Mate i played 3/4 of my games on a wet mud heap ground. Probably got more touches in a game then you did in your whole career...Not about the conditions, we already are an average side.joffaboy wrote:clarky449 wrote:You are easily pleased. If you believe what you are saying then you must think what i think and know we are going down and already an average side.
Then it was in fact a very good performance then. How many average sides win when their opponents lay 100 tackles in the wet.
Also good to know you were a superstar. Would I have heard of you?
lol - now you are bragging about your footy career on an internet forum.clarky449 wrote:Mate i played 3/4 of my games on a wet mud heap ground. Probably got more touches in a game then you did in your whole career...Not about the conditions, we already are an average side.joffaboy wrote:clarky449 wrote:You are easily pleased. If you believe what you are saying then you must think what i think and know we are going down and already an average side.
Oh dear
If (and by your silly post a HUGE if) you played any competitive sport including football in the rain, you would have some idea that conditions play a part
in the skill level of the contest.
You dont seem to understand that at all.
As for being average, the team may well be average and will struggle to win one or two of the next four, but tonights game was all down to the rain for three quarters.
So Melbourne showed some fight and tackled hard. They were doing that before the rain and we were all over them.
Now tell us some more about your great football career. lol - too funny
-
- Saintsational Legend
Good win in tough conditions. Obviously you never played footy on anything but pristine sunny, dry days [/quote]
Mate i played 3/4 of my games on a wet mud heap ground. Probably got more touches in a game then you did in your whole career...Not about the conditions, we already are an average side.[/quote]
lol - now you are bragging about your footy career on an internet forum.
Oh dear
If (and by your silly post a HUGE if) you played any competitive sport including football in the rain, you would have some idea that conditions play a part
As for being average, the team may well be average and will struggle to win one or two of the next four, but tonights game was all down to the rain for three quarters.
So Melbourne showed some fight and tackled hard. They were doing that before the rain and we were all over them.
Now tell us some more about your great football career. lol - too funny [/quote]
Do you reckon he played in an average team
Good win in tough conditions. Obviously you never played footy on anything but pristine sunny, dry days [/quote]
Mate i played 3/4 of my games on a wet mud heap ground. Probably got more touches in a game then you did in your whole career...Not about the conditions, we already are an average side.[/quote]
lol - now you are bragging about your footy career on an internet forum.
Oh dear
Now tell us some more about your great football career. lol - too funny [/quote]
Do you reckon he played in an average team
- Con Gorozidis
- Saintsational Legend
Melbourne did play much much better today. Was a good win by us. Sure we lack the class of the top 4 sides. But you cant knock our effort in the 2nd half.
i think in clarkys mind he is leigh matthews
Well i was called Lethal for a while.Con Gorozidis wrote:Melbourne did play much much better today. Was a good win by us. Sure we lack the class of the top 4 sides. But you cant knock our effort in the 2nd half.
mullet wrote:Do you reckon he played in an average team
I dont think the boy has played at all.
Really his posts seem to show an incredible ignorance to things that even the non footy observer would understand.
But to brag on an internet forum about being a great footballer is hilarious. He must be very young.
"Great footballer"??? Hmmm, didnt know i said that. Old age catching up gramps?joffaboy wrote:mullet wrote:Do you reckon he played in an average team
Really his posts seem to show an incredible ignorance to things that even the non footy observer would understand.
But to brag on an internet forum about being a great footballer is hilarious. He must be very young.
- Little Dozer
- Club Player
- Location: Forward Pocket, Outer side, Linton Street end or bay 38 Waverley
"Fantastic" win is a fair stretch. We were average and good enough to win thanks mainly to Lenny, Dal and Armo. The form of Milera and Stanley is encouraging. We'll get a good indication if we're a threat over the next month.
Are we waiting for a saviour?
I'm so sick of waiting!
I've been waiting my whole life!
This is a new day!
I'm so sick of waiting!
I've been waiting my whole life!
This is a new day!
- SaintPav
- Saintsational Legend
Clarky, stop posting. You are a joke boy..clarky449 wrote:Mate i played 3/4 of my games on a wet mud heap ground. Probably got more touches in a game then you did in your whole career...Not about the conditions, we already are an average side.joffaboy wrote:clarky449 wrote:You are easily pleased. If you believe what you are saying then you must think what i think and know we are going down and already an average side.
- SaintPav
- Saintsational Legend
Noticed how he never has his own opinion but will get stuck into posts? Very ordinary and unimaginative. He is a waste of space. Even someone like Cairnsman has an original view on things..joffaboy wrote:mullet wrote:Do you reckon he played in an average team
- samuraisaint
- Saintsational Legend
Milera and Wilkes are real finds
McEvoy is improving all the time
Cripps did well tonight - even counting the hospital passes he was given tonight
Next up - Siposs and Ledger
McEvoy is improving all the time
Cripps did well tonight - even counting the hospital passes he was given tonight
Next up - Siposs and Ledger
-
- SS Life Member
I agree. Just watching the way we played in that final quarter and it was a scintillating contest - one that will give us a good preparation for next weekend against Hawthorn.
Yes, they will punish us if we play anything like that first half but not looking at the scoreboard, there is a clear marked improvement in how we played the first half to the second.
The most important thing was we put just as much pressure as they put on us.
So I agree, fantastic win given the unexpected challenge we had ahead of us. All three winless sides really pushed their opposition today, great for the competition.
Oh and call me crazy but I don't think Hawthorn are certainties having actually watched that second half now.
Yes, they will punish us if we play anything like that first half but not looking at the scoreboard, there is a clear marked improvement in how we played the first half to the second.
The most important thing was we put just as much pressure as they put on us.
So I agree, fantastic win given the unexpected challenge we had ahead of us. All three winless sides really pushed their opposition today, great for the competition.
Oh and call me crazy but I don't think Hawthorn are certainties having actually watched that second half now.
-
- Club Player
clarky449 wrote:You are easily pleased. If you believe what you are saying then you must think what i think and know we are going down and already an average side.
Is your glass half full or are you a Collingwood troll?
In honour of those who went before, in the dark and desperate years.