Saints v Swans - 10th September - Etihad Stadium

Do you know how proud I am to start this thread....

From where they were, to be hosting a home final this week at Etihad.

I just love the stuff this group is made of.

So please, won't you allow me to open the discussion. :D

Armo in the mix, ruck situation, who to tag, limiting Goodes.

GO SAINTS!!!

Difficult to make the call. Surely Armo but god knows for who. I have a feeling Ross will go with Gardy/Mac in tandem against Mummy.
Last edited by Old Mate on Sun 04 Sep 2011 12:52am, edited 1 time in total.

Gardi out - Armo in....nows your time Ben...
Gilbert -run with role on Goodes
Geary sub.

Teflon wrote:Gardi out - Armo in....nows your time Ben...
Geary sub.
Agreed. Ben was crook last time we played them, and played like it. No excuses this week.....

Gilbert was very good tonight. Can't expect him to beat Goodes, just limit his influence. (Is Dempster too small to play on Goodes?)

Geary gets in as sub. TRying his guts out, but needs to work on skills AND decision making, Can't fault his hardness though.

Moods wrote:
Teflon wrote:Gardi out - Armo in....nows your time Ben...
Geary sub.
Agreed. Ben was crook last time we played them, and played like it. No excuses this week.....

Gilbert was very good tonight. Can't expect him to beat Goodes, just limit his influence. (Is Dempster too small to play on Goodes?)

Geary gets in as sub. TRying his guts out, but needs to work on skills AND decision making, Can't fault his hardness though.
Geary's been allright.
Dempster could do the job on Goodes - Gilbert would probably give Goodes more to think about the other way.....and if Goodes goes to midfield as hes been doing.....Gilbet would be ok for us in there imo.

What a weird season it has been.

*cue Close Encounters of the Third Kind music*

We were writes offs and the team has showed enormous character to get where they are now.

All this hard work could come unstuck very easily, however. I really hope we can bring our A-game into next week again. It would be a very disappointing way to end the season against a pretty mediocre team like Sydney.

Nevertheless, I trust RL will have the right plan with him and boys can execute. Hopefully no cases of gastro. If we can clear next week's hurdle, the team we'd be facing the following week WILL NOT be relaxed about the prospect of facing us in a final.

GO GET 'EM SAINTERS!

i_luv_nick_riewoldt

Nah i like gardi in the team especially up against mumford, rotate them around.

Great to be at etihad!!

Armo definitely back in. Can't decide who to leave out maybe gears. would be stiff though.

GO SAINTS

Go saints in '09!

Reading up on the Swans win, Goodes was excellent again (29 touches, 4 goals, 3 assists, 7 clearances) Rohan caused headaches. Reid was a late withdrawal with a calf and O'Keefe was injured in the game.

SaintSimmo

SainterK wrote:O'Keefe was injured in the game.
:D :D :wink: :wink:

Sainter for life.

I think that they will play Gardi and Armo. Unfortunately, Geary may be the one to miss out.

Junction Oval wrote:I think that they will play Gardi and Armo. Unfortunately, Geary may be the one to miss out.
Well god help us then. It will be disappointing to lose but considering out start to the year one final is ok.

will goodes get demstererererered??.

goodes is in brownlow form at the moment

If we beat Sid-en-knee next week, do we play the loser of Geelong & Hawthorn?

Furphy wrote:If we beat Sid-en-knee next week, do we play the loser of Geelong & Hawthorn?
sure do Furphy

matrix wrote:
Furphy wrote:If we beat Sid-en-knee next week, do we play the loser of Geelong & Hawthorn?
sure do Furphy
At the G on Friday night.

matrix wrote:will goodes get demstererererered??.

goodes is in brownlow form at the moment
Could he?

I don't doubt Seans ability to run with him, but he is a very big body.

He certainly is in brownlow form :?

armo comes back for sure

Cro

Armo back in for sure, missed his attack on the ball at times last night.

Would like to see Dempster go with Goodes I think, he has the pace to do it.

Go dem mighty saintaas!

Junction Oval wrote:I think that they will play Gardi and Armo. Unfortunately, Geary may be the one to miss out.
we need some run FFS.

The only other option IF Gardiner plays is Blake out and Armo in.

we need some run FFS.

It sounds like they will play both MG and Ben. Dont like it at all but dropping Blake doesnt really solve the interchange or forward problem. Think it is better to drop Blake then Geary but not much better. Cant believe we will go in with 2 ruckmen especially the way Kosi and Rooy played on Saturday. Kosi actually only touched it after going in the ruck. He cant do that when Ben and MG play together.

Well god help us then. It will be disappointing to lose but considering out start to the year one final is ok.
I reckon Archer for Geary. We will be able to exploit the small Sydney backline.

we need some run FFS.

It sounds like they will play both MG and Ben. Dont like it at all but dropping Blake doesnt really solve the interchange or forward problem. Think it is better to drop Blake then Geary but not much better. Cant believe we will go in with 2 ruckmen especially the way Kosi and Rooy played on Saturday. Kosi actually only touched it after going in the ruck. He cant do that when Ben and MG play together.
I reckon the key decision the club must make is whether Kosi is a key forward or ruckman. I once thought he'd make it as a key forward, but history has proved me wrong and he plays by far his best footy in the ruck.

IMO there's room for only two lumbering rucks so one of Ben, Kosi or Gardi should miss. And we need a genuine key forward, not a ruckman, to help out Riewoldt.

Not saying it will, or should, happen, BUT.....

....there is a guy in our side who is miles ahead of the pack when it comes to out of form big men.....he is struggling to run, chase, tackle, mark, kick straight etc. Only thing he's in decent nick with is tossing a coin....

Gardi showed some superb signs on Saturday, but we were way too top heavy. Our structure was much better in the second half with an extra runner.

There's no reason this game wont be like every other St Kilda vs Sydney game for the last 5 years, pretty hot in close, lots of contested footy etc. which makes Armo a certainty.

we need some run FFS.

I reckon the key decision the club must make is whether Kosi is a key forward or ruckman. I once thought he'd make it as a key forward, but history has proved me wrong and he plays by far his best footy in the ruck.

IMO there's room for only two lumbering rucks so one of Ben, Kosi or Gardi should miss. And we need a genuine key forward, not a ruckman, to help out Riewoldt.
Well we havent got another genuine key forward so we will need to recruit one next year. Kosi will have to do at the moment but I agree we cant play all 3 but it looks like we may.