30,000 crowd v Weagles? !!

It would be great to get a crowd in excess of 30,000 on Saturday Night, with 90% being rabid saints fans (joffaboy, are you going to show up?). We'll give the Weagles 5% with the other 5% being theatre goers !!

agreed, biggest game of the year for us so far. Need to make it a pure home ground and make some noise. See if we can get some cheap frees for starters

I'll be there.

Better be 30K.

About 10K Eagles fans.

I'd be hoping for 35K considering the timeslot, the importance of the game etc.

HOWEVER I suspect most of the neutrals will have gone to the G earlier in the day to watch Carlton/Collingwood. I know I will be at that game then straight to Etihad! :wink:

WCE have many supporters over here.

They usually fill that whole bottom area behind their goals with 90% eagles fans, then the whole bay next to their race (the bay on the other side to the ara behind the goals)

I was at the Carlton vs WCE game a few weeks back, and with about 10 mins to go when it was clear they were going to win they sure were making some noise, would of been a good 8k of them there.

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."

Went to a game when the WC were good 5-6 years ago , and there was plenty of cashed up W A miners over for the game ,
seeing as there playing good footy again , I'd expect the same this year !
So if saints fans can extract the digit on saturday night and turn up , I don't see why we couldn't get 40000 +
p.s. W A miners look like bogans with beards ( and thats just the women ! )

Not many people get a chance to watch a match live with the likes of Riewoldt, Milne, Nic-Nat, LeCras.

Could be a bit of x-factor about this one.

Badlands

foolishly booked tiger flights to attend... all the cheap virgin and qantas fares were long gone for that weekend. So now driving to albury friday night and getting the train down saturday morning.
Heading to the arvo game in the G' then dragging 4 makeshift st kilda supporters along to etihad for the main event - i say makeshift not because they follow other teams but because theyre new to melb and new to this afl business. Believe me we will all be making some noise come 7.10pm Saturday night!

"I'm in the middle of a long conversation with my audience. It'll be a lifelong journey for both of us by the time we're done." - Bruce Springsteen.
westy

With all due respect to you guys over there, I wonder if we need to send some Western Sainters over to add a bit of NOISE on the day? We've gotta belt this smartarse Egirl mob.

I'm livin' in a madhouse

First of all, a disclaimer: I live in provincial France, and cannot go to the game. I can't even watch it on TV. Thankfully it's on at night, which means I will spend lunchtime glued to the radio on the AFL website! So anyone that can, get to that game and cheer for me too, cheer for all of us overseas Saints that want to be there but can't.

It's fantastic that you guys are so revved up for this match; this could be pivotal in us getting off the ropes and punching again.

The flickers of hope are there; who'd have given us a chance with this game 6 weeks ago? We're still outsiders, but we can - and should - win this game.

It's Victoria, it's our home, we've got far more to prove, if we neutralise their delivery to NicNat and the other forwards, we can destablise them. This year's WCE success story is built on the shaky foundations of not so distant failure, they have not been consistent enough to trust themselves and their gameplan, so if we can get a good start, we can get the question marks going in their heads, and provided we keep going, we can knock them over.

More importantly, it's a chance for the Saints supporters to band together and show the footy world that our spirit will not be defeated and that we are still a proud club. Put your scarves in the air, get fierce with the chants, get the 'Milney' song going again, be the 23rd man we need. If you know any other Saints who are thinking of passing, do everything you can to get 'em there, buy them a ticket, shout them dinner, whatever it takes. This is a statement of our intent as supporters that we are a strong club.

If we win, we should win so don't whooping it up like we've won the GF. There will be more challengers. Drink it up and go again.
If we lose, there's another winnable game next week, the season isn't over. Suck it up and go again. And again. Until we are victorious.

Austinnn wrote:First of all, a disclaimer: I live in provincial France, and cannot go to the game. I can't even watch it on TV. Thankfully it's on at night, which means I will spend lunchtime glued to the radio on the AFL website! So anyone that can, get to that game and cheer for me too, cheer for all of us overseas Saints that want to be there but can't.

It's fantastic that you guys are so revved up for this match; this could be pivotal in us getting off the ropes and punching again.

The flickers of hope are there; who'd have given us a chance with this game 6 weeks ago? We're still outsiders, but we can - and should - win this game.
It's Victoria, it's our home, we've got far more to prove, if we neutralise their delivery to NicNat and the other forwards, we can destablise them. This year's WCE success story is built on the shaky foundations of not so distant failure, they have not been consistent enough to trust themselves and their gameplan, so if we can get a good start, we can get the question marks going in their heads, and provided we keep going, we can knock them over.

More importantly, it's a chance for the Saints supporters to band together and show the footy world that our spirit will not be defeated and that we are still a proud club. Put your scarves in the air, get fierce with the chants, get the 'Milney' song going again, be the 23rd man we need. If you know any other Saints who are thinking of passing, do everything you can to get 'em there, buy them a ticket, shout them dinner, whatever it takes. This is a statement of our intent as supporters that we are a strong club.

If we win, we should win so don't whooping it up like we've won the GF. There will be more challengers. Drink it up and go again.
If we lose, there's another winnable game next week, the season isn't over. Suck it up and go again. And again. Until we are victorious.
No we are not...

Hard to believe

we are 1.60 and eagles 2.25 currently at TAB sportsbet

hmm

philtee

Those odds are strange. Roughly the same odds at Sportingbet and Centrebet.
But how? The Eagles have just stitched up the ladder leader with some pretty exciting footy, and we've
had a minor win over a miserable Port Adelaide. The Eagles are eyeing the top 4, and we're closing in on 10th. Sure it's our home game,
but in the words of Yosemite Sam - "It just don't add up!"

Badlands wrote:foolishly booked tiger flights to attend... all the cheap virgin and qantas fares were long gone for that weekend. So now driving to albury friday night and getting the train down saturday morning.
Heading to the arvo game in the G' then dragging 4 makeshift st kilda supporters along to etihad for the main event - i say makeshift not because they follow other teams but because theyre new to melb and new to this afl business. Believe me we will all be making some noise come 7.10pm Saturday night!
Thats dedication, hats off!

westy wrote:With all due respect to you guys over there, I wonder if we need to send some Western Sainters over to add a bit of NOISE on the day? We've gotta belt this smartarse Egirl mob.
Excellent idea.

Especially as elements of the official Cheer Squad will no doubt be busy expending all their energies on bagging Kosi :roll:

doppler effect

chook23 wrote:Hard to believe

we are 1.60 and eagles 2.25 currently at TAB sportsbet

hmm
I'd say it has to do with the near perfect Saturday night @ Etihad record we have. Hard to believe we haven't had a Saturday night game there yet this season.

Maybe this means our luck is about to change

IF Eastern is shouting its all-ticket!!!! :wink: :lol:

Id love to be there but I have a work comitment interstate. Cheer loud and hard for me

Will do Hurricane! WILL DO!!!!!!! (particularly IF Eastern is going to shout:lol: )

30,000 would be a poor turn out. The club would 40,000