Channel 7 coverage

SaintPM

Channel 7 coverage

Is it just me or is the Channel 7 coverage getting worse each week? I'm not complaining about the commentary, that can be easily turned down, but why is it that while the game is on they want to show anything but the footbal. When Milney hurt his knee, 3 times they flicked to him hobbling off the ground while play continued. The are continually showing meaningless replays while the game continues.

And as for the aeriel view, am I the only one who can't tell which ant has the ball. I think they should take less cameras to the game or at least get a director who knows the right shot to show.

Rant over

Sign Sealed for Life

I dont understand that station, the final siren sounds, credits start rolling and off to the news.
Where is the review of the game?? terrible

WHERE's the SONG ??????????????
the games taped for goodness sake, the production editors stink at their job .

I'm pretty sure our song can get the message across in about 10 - 15 seconds - what else do they leave out :roll:

|Andy|

TELL ME ABOUT IT!! IT WAS HORRIBLE... i was waiting for the boys to sing the song, but NO THE NEWS CAME ON....

plus does everyone else notice that they have about 4 Ads everytime a goal is kicked... compare this to channel 10, who only have 1 Ad, cuz only 1 Ad is required for the ball to come back to the centre...

Channel 7 are horrible..

saintbrat wrote:WHERE's the SONG ??????????????

I'm pretty sure our song can get the message across in about 10 - 15 seconds - what else do they leave out :roll:
We got it on Setanta. They belted it out. Loud and proud.

Furtius Quo Rdelious

They try and maximise advertising time, thus cutting the game down to its bare minimum.

And the deal with the song is that they want the final siren to run straight into the news for ratings, and it works, Seven News Sunday is one of the top rating programs nationally every week.

Correct. Nine also do not have a break between Postcards and the News.

Neither station have a break between their 5.30 shows and the news Mon-Fri either.

Thats a network programming decision,,nothing to do with the crew working the game

Oh just on the coverage though. ALL networks show too many replays at stupid times. Memo to the directors...players play on after a mark/free A LOT now :roll:

The Saintsational Man

Watching the footy on channel 7 reminds me of Cloverfield.

kosifantutti23 wrote:
saintbrat wrote:WHERE's the SONG ??????????????

We got it on Setanta. They belted it out. Loud and proud.
almost thank goodness- thought I was going to be on telly when they took the camera along in front of us after the game- BUT I got to the cutting room floor in Australia..
so only the unlucky ones O/S got to see me :)

4ever_saint

Not to mention the countless times they cut to trainers from both teams. I must've of missed something...were they only constantly showing our trainer because he was old?

I don't know why they think we'd enjoy watching the trainers run around on the ground more than seeing the players while they are making decisions that actually affect the game in some way.

I cannot see how they justify having the Sunday game on delayed by an hour. If they shortened the delay, they would fit the after match celebrations in.

mightysainters

exactly the coverage was terrible and the camera angles appauling...

It's not Channel 7's fault....they are just exploiting loopholes in their contract with the AFL.

It is the AFL's fault.

The AFL should stipulate games are shown on no more than 30 minute delay (and live for interstate games involving Melbourne clubs), AND that they are shown in real time, so the game is not padded out by 15 to 20 minutes as 7 does on their 3pm replay!

That way, the game would be replayed at 2.30pm, with a finish at approx 5.10 to 5.20pm (dependant on game length)....gives 10 minutes for the song/post match interviews, but doesn't lead into the news.

Well F*** the bloody news - Channel 10 doesn't screw the fans on Saturday arvo replays (also 3pm!)......Friday night games don't start after the news, so stuff this Sunday night BS!

borderbarry wrote:I cannot see how they justify having the Sunday game on delayed by an hour. If they shortened the delay, they would fit the after match celebrations in.
See above...its all about keeping viewers for the News.

Most of the neutral viewers dont care about the song and Ch 7 want to give as little time as possible to think about potentially changing channels before the news.

Yes its annoying for the fans of the winning team, but I cant see the AFL putting a "must show the song" clause into the next rights agreement

TriColourDisciple

I was listening to it on ABC (I was at work) & found it frustrating that Drew seemed to be willing for the game to be an upset.
Got home to watch the last quarter & was bitter on missing out on the song.

(BTW, I wish I saw you on the replay saintbrat as I've often wondered if you really do look like that ceramic looking angel thingy)

Proudly Brainwashed since 1972

borderbarry wrote:I cannot see how they justify having the Sunday game on delayed by an hour. If they shortened the delay, they would fit the after match celebrations in.
See above...its all about keeping viewers for the News.

Most of the neutral viewers dont care about the song and Ch 7 want to give as little time as possible to think about potentially changing channels before the news.

Yes its annoying for the fans of the winning team, but I cant see the AFL putting a "must show the song" clause into the next rights agreement
All I can see the AFL doing for the next rights is perhaps forcing Friday night to go live against the gate, as it's the showpiece game of the round and the delayed rubbish finishes way too late and has got canned by all and sundry often.....

before you ring 7 complaining
we saw the song & post match change rooms up in qld

TriColourDisciple wrote:I was listening to it on ABC (I was at work) & found it frustrating that Drew seemed to be willing for the game to be an upset.
Got home to watch the last quarter & was bitter on missing out on the song.

(BTW, I wish I saw you on the replay saintbrat as I've often wondered if you really do look like that ceramic looking angel thingy)
Drew Muppet

Milney kicks one of the goals of the year, and NO replay!

Snap.. got it in one :wink: :roll:

Thankfully we got the song, but the coverage was a disgrace. Camera angels a joke, they don't follow the play properly and yes I agree, why do they film the game up so high you can't see who has the ball. Now I know you can turn the commentary down, but you should'nt have to. McAveney just hates St Kilda. Doesn't matter who we play he is constantly willing the other team to play well and beat us. I can't stand him. :evil: :evil: :evil:

Launcestonsaint
Location: Watching our games on tele or listening to the radio :(

We got the song on the coverage down here.
I'm just glad that there were black & white shorts worn. That was the only way I could tell who was who on a lot of the coverage from outer space. It is a disgrace.

St Kilda's 2 premiership captains are Tassie born. The Doc & Roo.

Launcestonsaint wrote:We got the song on the coverage down here.
I'm just glad that there were black & white shorts worn. That was the only way I could tell who was who on a lot of the coverage from outer space. It is a disgrace.
were you watching footy flashbacks:) 1966 - the saints won :)

7 are rubbish.

They take 3 hours to show a game that takes 2 hours 40 minutes in real time.

The extra 20 minutes is ads on top of the 30 seconds after every goal, plus quarter, half and three quarter time. Would be an hour of ads during the 3 hours.

A bloody disgrace.

Beej

I don't mind the aerial view. Gives you a good indication of space which is difficult to tell when you're not at the ground.

When the Fox Footy Channel was around I would often watch games from the wide-eye angle.

It's not hard to tell who has the footy.

If the disposal results in a turnover it was either Raph or CJ.

If the disposal hits a player lace-out it's BJ or Dal.

If an opposing player cops a nasty shirt-front, Lenny must be around.