Possible Changes v Essendon

In:King Out: McEvoy or no change.

Raph,Max ,Goose and Armo all pressing hard but no-one deserves to be dropped at this stage.

Geary perhaps the most vulnerable.

Thoughts?

villasaint

no change. unless injuries but nothing reported so no change in my books

Re: Possible Changes v Essendon

saint patrick wrote:In:King Out: McEvoy or no change.

Raph,Max ,Goose and Armo all pressing hard but no-one deserves to be dropped at this stage.

Geary perhaps the most vulnerable.

Thoughts?

i think you're right. no change.

geary's going to be a player though.

saint vince

No change

sainter2631

I'm hopeful that Ross goes with..

IN: King, Maguire
OUT: McEvoy, Gwilt

But, considering it was an 88 point win, probably no change.

No Change for me...

Give King another week off and let McEvoy get accustomed to the pace of the AFL.

Mr X from the West

Ross Lyon has already said King won't play becoz of hammy and Hudghton will play in the magoos.

Doubt Maguire will come in unless other injuries are sustained.

Therefore, no change.

"Blow out the candle I will burn again tomorrow"

any word on how long for King?

iwantmeseats wrote:any word on how long for King?
It sounds like he will be available for selection next week v Brisbane !!

No change

Emergencies: Eddy, Raph, Goose/Armo

saint66au wrote:No change

Both Eddy & Raph missed last week (?emergencies). I'd like to think that they will BOTH play somewhere this week !!

Eddy missed as he was crook prior to the game (I think I heard someone in the crowd say gastro?) rather than the matchup change I originally thought it was...but I agree. Maybe Armo can have a turn, Goose needs every minute on the park we can give him.

Eastern wrote:both Eddy & Raph missed last week (?emergencies). I'd like to think that they will BOTH play somewhere this week !!
interesting one, isn't it.

on the one hand it makes a nonsense of having match fit and hardened players to come in the following week if these guys are getting stale sitting in the stands.

on the other, what if an emergency is genuinely needed?

Eastern wrote:both Eddy & Raph missed last week (?emergencies). I'd like to think that they will BOTH play somewhere this week !!
interesting one, isn't it.

on the one hand it makes a nonsense of having match fit and hardened players to come in the following week and these guys are getting stale in the stands.

on the other, what if an emergency is genuinely needed?
It wouldn't surprise me if there was something about this written into the alignment contract !!

awesome_days

In: Maguire, R Clarke
Out: McEvoy, Geary

Gardiner good enough now for 75 - 80% ruck time. Blake can releive with Maguire playing a swing-man.

Give King a couple VFL games (last time it got him 2x premierships).

R Clarke is a best 18 player and one of our back 6 for finals. He has done his dues in the VFL. Geary has fallen back a little from his early games. Appears to lack a little freshness that can be associated with players in their first seasons of AFL. His decision making has dropped and he is not burtsing through like in the early rounds.

I would like to see our team something like below around rd 13 - this is contingient on those reurning proving their worth more than the current contributions of the incumbents:

B: Hughton Dawson Gilbert
HB: SFisher Maguire R Clarke
C: Montagna Ball Dal Santo
HF: McQualter Riewoldt Goddard
F: Milne Koschitzke Schneider
R: Gardiner Hayes Jones

Int: Baker King Blake Ray

Emg: McEvoy Eddy Gwilt

undecided

Can't take geary out he is in my supercoach team and eddy should come back in because he is aswell but that is not as important because I have patrick dangerfield as midfield cover

Seaford_Saint

Some comments on your team awesome_days....

- We have the best defensive record for the past 50 years, and you want to change change 2 of our back 6!!!! I don't think so!
- Maguire has proved nothing to me that he still has the speed and skill to fit with Ross's 2009 game plan.... don't be fooled by a few goals in a 2nd rate feeder competition that is the VFL
- Geary not in your best 25, having fallen behind the likes of Eddy, Gwilt and Raph Clarke.... hmm I think you misjudge how good this kid is going to be (and how good he already is)

Apart from that, nice work!! :)

Failure cannot succeed in the face of persistence......

sainter2631 wrote:I'm hopeful that Ross goes with..

IN: King, Maguire
OUT: McEvoy, Gwilt

But, considering it was an 88 point win, probably no change.
perhaps Kingy for Mac if he's ready but.....

IMHO not a hope in hell would you see Goose for Jimmy Gwilt next week!!!!

RL has already said KIng not this week in the press.

No Change.

Maguire - played 5 or 6 reserves games and getting somewhere but really only 1bog for his team in what is a pretty ordinary standard of footy ( relative to AFL). Injuries aside do not consider him until after mod season.

Why no love for Geary? Was quite impressed by what he did the other night. A few errors but they were made trying to take risks etc.

derby Street

Eddy missed as he was crook prior to the game (I think I heard someone in the crowd say gastro?) rather than the matchup change I originally thought it was...but I agree. Maybe Armo can have a turn, Goose needs every minute on the park we can give him.
I think Ross & crew were just being kind saying Eddy was crook - reckon it was trying to expose the filth with an extra tall. (and a good opportunity for Ben)
No change.

howlinwolf

Geary's workrate has been very high with great tackling pressure. Our game this year has been based on that exactly.

The kid is keen as mustard to impress.

Successful teams are usually full of hungry players and he is hungry.

We should not consider dropping him imo

Eddy will be back this week and Mac will give Sandy a lift.

No need for extra talls this week, we need pace and pressure, Mac gives neither of these.

howlinwolf wrote:Geary's workrate has been very high with great tackling pressure. Our game this year has been based on that exactly.

The kid is keen as mustard to impress.

Successful teams are usually full of hungry players and he is hungry.

We should not consider dropping him imo
Had a career-high 26 disposals against the Pies. Is now a regular in the team. Would have to have a string of poor performances to lose his place I would think.

Bernard Shakey wrote:Eddy will be back this week and Mac will give Sandy a lift. No need for extra talls this week, we need pace and pressure, Mac gives neither of these.
that would mean kosi spending some time in the ruck and that we'd have only riewoldt as a key forward (which i'm wary of).

ross said in his post-match press conference the club's preferred structure is two ruckmen and two key forwards. so in that sense, what we had on the weekend was not extra talls at all. it was the normal number of talls.
Last edited by bigcarl on Wed 13 May 2009 10:53pm, edited 1 time in total.

Personally I can't see us going in with one ruckman... the structure was beautiful with Kosi able to stay deep forward.

Im constantly stunned that Geary is mentioned as a possible out. The kid is going very well & developing nicely.

Let the guys knocking on the door keep knocking until we really need them. There are bound to be opportunities eventually but dropping guys for the sake of bringing blokes in is foolhardy.

No change.