twilight game? response after first one?

I was surprised at the number of families with young children?
it may have been because Iw as sitting in a differant area but did surprise me

attendance? 36,000+ would not have dissapointed the AFL
number lower than I thought looking at level 3 But level 1 not that full ( Saints home game has nearly all lower level full most weeks- reserved areas)

great to see what I thought was more red black and white than red blue and white-

still makes it late for a sunday night BUt...........

hate twilight games that we are in. but good to watch when we are not, very relaxing on a sunday night.
Last edited by saintdooley on Mon 04 May 2009 6:21pm, edited 1 time in total.

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."

Loved it ! Should be more of them. Every week should be twilight week!

fingers wrote:Loved it !
The game? The time? The result? The company? !!

time slot doesn't bother me that much.

I thought the crowd was poor though and I am hazarding a bit of a guess that if the game was a saturday arvo or saturday night we would have got 40-45.

Just my estimate though.

OneEyedSainter77

Not too bad actually. I don't mind them. I never have to work on Sundays anymore (hooray!) and I still get home at about 8:30 which gives me plenty of time to sleep before work the next day. So I'm not really complaining about it. It just sucks having to wait so long for my team to play footy. And it really sucks if you can't go to the game as I don't have Foxtel.

They're not bad occasionally but I think by year's end I may be sick of them given we have 5.

There best for WA when it's 2.00pm there, however they would be a better idea in Melbourne on a Saturday.

Though hell of a lot better than a Monday night game.

Agree the timeslot cost 5000 off the crowd compared to Fri/Sat night

Was a touch strange looking at the time at 1/2 time and seeing it was 6pm

fingers wrote:Loved it !
The game? The time? The result? The company? !!
All of it!

From my perspective...

I have a little one, so it fits in with us given that afternoon footy is difficult when afternoon naps are still neccessary and night footy is too late.

I can appreciate that I am probably one of the few in this catergory though!

It was OK for a Sunday arvo.

Thought there'd be 40K

43K for Fri/Sat night

I reckon there would have been 15-20 thousand Saints fans there?

Easily had equal, if not greater support.

Loved the result, but geeze I hate sunday twilight games. Such an awkward time.

I dont like it

Launcestonsaint
Location: Watching our games on tele or listening to the radio :(

I hate it. I don't have pay-tv so don't get to see the game.
Free to air games on Saturday or Sunday afternoon gives me an excuse to sit & watch it instead of doing work outside.

St Kilda's 2 premiership captains are Tassie born. The Doc & Roo.
Foz

Have to drive 200km to get home so made for a late one ! Good to see some fellow Saints on the Hume though.

Why cant Melbourne play all these time slots. Think a Sat. night would have pulled a 40+ crowd.

realdeal

It completely sucked!

Sould've got at least 45 thousand with the 2 teams playing and the expectations each team is producing but the timeslot ruined it!

and by the time we got home after having a few drinks at The Ink after the game it was midnight so had to stuggle through work today! :shock:

Next week we play monday night.. crap!

Re: twilight game? response after first one?

[quote="saintbrat"]I was surprised at the number of families with young children?
it may have been because I was sitting in a differant area but did surprise me

attendance? 36,000+ would not have dissapointed the AFL
number lower than I thought looking at level 3 But level 1 not that full ( Saints home game has nearly all lower level full most weeks- reserved areas)[/quote]

Medallion Club - I dont know how they could qualify as a club.
There seemed to be less than 22 spectators over there.

Your company is going to out of business because another company used AI.
- Jensen Huang, CEO of NVIDIA 50:08
rexy

I enjoyed the time slot, doesnt intefere with the rest of the weekends activities, still had the kids in bed by 8.30, traffic was good on the drive home.

With two more sides coming in the need for more spread scheduling increases, the club would be wise to embrace either Sunday twilight or Monday night IMO. If good games are scheduled then they will become must see TV. Once they are must see TV then they will become desirable events to attend and what you are left with is Friday night football. Once a new concept and now the most desirable fixture every week.

Maybe this year?
Thomas

The lower than expected crow might have been due to bulldogs fans believing they were going to get smashed, my wife's cousins and wives six of them all members, never attended the game.
Last edited by Thomas on Tue 05 May 2009 4:09pm, edited 1 time in total.

When the going gets tough,the tough gets going.

CARN THE SAINTS.

i didn't mind the twilight game, but it does wreck my whole sunday!

SaintDebi

The time didn't worry me too much because I could get there as I didn't have to work before the game. Monday nights on the other hand...... :evil:

saintsrus

not a fan myself of twilight but winning makes me not care too much

Before Im 85

Great on TV, not so good being there.

Solution? Bring bring the 5:40pm Sunday matches in Adelaide - fantastic way to round out the weekend. They were great.