Saturday Afternoon Fever

I've just finished reading "Saturday Afternoon Fever" by Matthew Hardy.
If you've read it then you'll know what a great book it is. But for those of you who haven't - it's one of the best reads I've had in a long time.
Matthew Hardy grew up in Glen Waverley ( so did I), idolised Trevor Barker and epitomises the true meaning of the word Saints supporter.
His book is an incredibly funny and entertaining account of the trials and joys of supporting the Saints from the late 70's through until the 1997 GF and growing up absolutely besotted with Saints.
There are plenty of amusing anecdotes about the St.Kilda social club, Moorabbin, various players, and following the Saints to Windy Hill, the Western Oval and Kardinia Park.
In a self-deprecating and highly entertaining way, he manages to capture the essence of going to the footy when the AFL was the VFL, clubs played at their tribal homes and going to the footy involved the ritual of standing in the outer where the language and beer flowed freely and you could have a kick on the ground after the game.
A great book. I laughed out loud heaps of times. Would recommend it to anyone interested in footy or with an interest in a snapshot of how footy was before it became 'family friendly'.

my fav part was when as a kid he was watching the french president and wodered why they were playing the fitzroy theme song :lol:

True Blue Sainter

I've heard so many good things about this book, and Matt Hardy is an extremely entertaining radio presenter so I'd assume his book would be brilliant! Every time I've looked for it I've struggled to get a copy - might have to resort to shopping online!

The Saints are coming!
HardSaint

Its an absolute corker - have read it twice.

My favorite part is him telling about the "snow" that involved ripping up phone books and throwing the torn squares in the air when a goal was kicked.

The funny part was when he was at Geelong and reached out and grabbed a piece of "snow" and it was the very piece that listed Trevor Barker's address and phone number ... haha, who ever let the truth get in the way of a good story?

There are so many anecdotes in the book that made me laugh.
The bit about the French president standing to attention to the Fitzroy theme song was an absolute classic.
His descriptions of the characters in the outer are great too. Loved him recounting the time when someone in the outer at Moorabbin called out to O'Dwyer of Melbourne, "Hey O'Dwyer, Ronald McDonald wants his hair back".
I also loved his description of Plugger giving Ronnie McKeown a Chinese burn at Victoria Park.
I think the book hit such a chord with me because it captures the feeling of going to the footy when I was growing up. That someone should even write a book about footy and supporting the Saints is great, and that it should be so funny and so accurately capture what footy was like makes it a complete winner.

I'm buying it today ;) thanks

HardSaint

What about "ham on head"?

.... so puerile in a way we can all relate to - those in jokes we had as kids that crack us up as adults today

fingers wrote:I'm buying it today ;) thanks
Ahh good luck with that..AFAIK its been out of print for ages and copies arent that easy to track down

Let us know if you find a supplier tho...Id love to grab a copy for myself, I read a borrowed copy.

Still haven't read it...would absolutely love to...

HardSaint wrote:What about "ham on head"?

.... so puerile in a way we can all relate to - those in jokes we had as kids that crack us up as adults today
Gold!!!!
Being from Glen Waverley myself and having followed Waverley in the VFA when they were in existence, I also loved the story about the Mordi grandmas and calling one of the Mordialloc players a 'dole bludger'.
Very very funny book.

sainter35

evertonfc wrote:Still haven't read it...would absolutely love to...
It's available at your local library when you're down here. That's how I read it.

I loved the book so much I went to the Saturday Afternoon Fever show at the Comedy Festival a few years back.

If anybody else hasn't read it, definitely get yourself a copy. It's brilliant.

bigmicka

Have met Matt quite a few times, It's funny when you realise he still hangs out with the same people from the book.

Dedicated crazy Saints fans.

mic

sainter35 wrote:
It's available at your local library when you're down here. That's how I read it.
I looked last week and it wasn't there.

But I'm pretty sure we have different local libaries and I can't walk to Altona.

sainter35

evertonfc wrote:
sainter35 wrote:
I looked last week and it wasn't there.

But I'm pretty sure we have different local libaries and I can't walk to Altona.
All the Hobsons Bay Libraries are connected. They would have it delivered to Williamstown the next day for you.

But alas, you're right. Just checked the catalogue and it's no longer there.

Some Saints supporter was obviously smarter than me and kept it rather than returning it.

esaint66

Greatest book, I have read it 5 times.
Great tribute to the great man Barker.

I bought the book at Southland and sat on the nearest bench to start reading it.

One minutes I was howling with laughter as he talked about the peanut man who walked the boundary with the large sack of peanuts as people hurled coins at him :lol:

The next minute I had tears in my eyes as he described the moment his mum rang him in London to tell him Trevor Barker had died :cry:

A friend and I went to his show on at the casino a few years ago, as part of the Comedy Festival and of course I wore scarf and along with the other Saints fans, we tried to guess who the players were that popped up on the screen as Matthew told his story.

And no my friend are not stalkers, well I have my doubts about my friend, but we were at the National Theatre in St Kilda for his "I am so Australian" show right in the front row and to our horror we popped on the youtube clip plugging the show. 8-)

Don't forget Matthew will be hosting the Angels "on the Couch" on May 6 and like he did the last time, he'll bring along his mum 8-)

http://www.theaustralian.seekbooks.com. ... 1740513500

available Online

or

http://chaos.com/product/saturday_after ... 61739.html

and I have seen it in bookstores- but try smaller stores that may still have copies- Ie strip shopping centres, country stores with less turnover.

I saw one recently and thought No I don't need another copy :)

Best.Book.Ever.

n1ck wrote:Best.Book.Ever.
i got it for a pressie one christmas...i suppose i should read it.....same for bangers book......

TriColourDisciple

Brilliant book! Read it many times. Can really relate to it as he grew up a mad Saints fan in the same era as me.
Just talking about it... I reckon I might read it again after I finish the book I'm reading ATM.

Proudly Brainwashed since 1972
i_luv_nick_riewoldt

Wish i could read it!!!

Go saints in '09!
Beej

Amazon's selling a used copy for £148.05.

Must be a cracking read for that price.

n1ck wrote:Best.Book.Ever.
i got it for a pressie one christmas...i suppose i should read it.....same for bangers book......
No offence to Banger, but his book is slow and boring.

SAF is THE single best book I have ever read.

docsaint

bought two copies at borders in Chaddy last year, try there