We will crush Port

Where did Port finish last year?

They've beaten three teams in Essendon, Melbourne and Hawthorn and they got smashed by the Weagles. All of these teams will probably make up the bottom eight. Why all the bloody pathetic concerns about these pricks being a bogey side. Yeah we lost a few games to them in the past but that was when we were a bunch of marshmallows. Like farking hell they match up well on us. If we lose on Friday night it will be because the players are soft in the head.

The only thing that will be better than watching the Saints rip Port a new one would be watching Bakes doing one of his stop-to-blocks on that smug prick Chad Cornes and dropping him on the ground into a pile of shyte.

F*** the Port. Eat em Saints
!

hear hear.

I hope you are right!

I hate the bastards after they beat us in that Pre-Lim they have treated our club with contempt.

Time for some pay back Sainters...

FNQboy

G'day there.....

G'day All,
I'm new here & was told about the sight by one of my best mates, another avid Saints supporter (although he's much more hard core than myself, but I'm working on it...)
Absolutely love the team, & especially love how well we are going this year!
I have only been supporting AFL (properly) for a little under 2 years. Unfortunately, it comes with the territory of growing up in FNQ during the 70's & 80's. There was no real footprint up that way then.
My Dad has been a keen Saints supporter all his life, so when it came to picking a team, it was a no brainer. Needless to say, after 38 years of waiting, he is wrapped with my decision!!
Anyway, enough about me, I'll get to the important stuff...

I was just watching FOX 8 and the panel had some great things to say about our team & the match tomorrow night. What I loved most was the fact that all these arm chair critics start talking about our record in Adelaide, but nobody stops to consider that we are a vastly different team. They made various comments on how strong we are down back. I was loving the wrap they gave us. I am looking forward to the game tomorrow night, I reckon we will smash em!!

So, I look forward to reading more & with luck, as I learn, posting a few more contributions & getting involved in topical points!
Thanks for a great sight, Go Sainters!!

saintly_safes

Love your optimism & although I think we're a good chance ,dont think it will be a walk over imo.

BelfastSaint

I said in another post we will smash em by 40+ points ...
They are the fragile ones at the moment ...not us ..

Would love to see our boys tear 'em a new one :twisted:

Those pricks have given us quite a bit of grief over the past decade.

100 point victory for us, and I'll have to have a box of tissues on standby 8-)

felixleo

we should smash them if we stick to our game style but remember we are travelling and if we get sucked into playing their way don't be surprised if we lose.

Are you gonna be the one?
Winmar7Fan

IMO this is our test to see where we are at MENTALLY. If we are able to play as we have without falling apart if we cop a strong challenge we should definitely beat them even with their strong feral crowd of supporters.

Re: We will crush Port

Cairnsman wrote:Where did Port finish last year?

They've beaten three teams in Essendon, Melbourne and Hawthorn and they got smashed by the Weagles. All of these teams will probably make up the bottom eight. Why all the bloody pathetic concerns about these pricks being a bogey side. Yeah we lost a few games to them in the past but that was when we were a bunch of marshmallows. Like farking hell they match up well on us. If we lose on Friday night it will be because the players are soft in the head.

!
and just who have we beaten?

only adelaide in adelaide was a good win!

Swans belted Hawthorn, Saintly. We smacked Swans. And the way we went about it that night was great. Our stifling effort against WC was also impressive. Adelaide away was a good win too. Only Freo was a flabby performance. They were inept and we stooped to their level at times I believe.

Overall think you are being a trifle unfair...

Duggie1

Crippsy

He is given credit by Chocko Williams for the improvement in Port's attack, particularly in the turnaround of Tredrea.
I had lost track of this great Saint since he left us as assistant under Thommo.
Pity we could not find a place for him, but then he may have had views about the sacking of Thommo. :lol:

Always a Saint

30+ points

GOOOO SAINTS

kaos theory

Kosi is a big loss. Takes away from our structure a fair bit.

Often, when we attack we can confidently kick it long to a contest on the forward line, because either roo or kosi (especialy kosi) will either mark it or crash the pack, which leads to a spill for a small forward to pick up.

This gives a lot of confidence to the guys delivering into the forward line...

Still I tipped us, but by 10pts.

interestingly

if we are on, play our game with high intensity then port is the perfect side to play. The rely on running the lines, high effeicient ball movement between the arcs and large possesion counts. High pressure and tackle counts will lead to lots of turn overs from them and their gam plan falls over.

on the other hand if we are not on their speed and ball use will cut us up. easy as that

bob__71

117 points

Superboot

Every time we play Port we allow them to control the way the game is played.

We dictated play against Adelaide at AAMI and have to do the same tonight.

Otherwise, the likes of Tredrea and Chad Cornes will waltz around doing whatever they like and we'll be playing catch-up all night.

The first quarter will be crucial. We have to go out there and maintain the same style of play that we've established this season and not be knocked off our game.

I'll be happy if can come away with a 1-point win with a string of games at Docklands to look forward to.

As Port aren't nearly as bad as Freo, I originally tipped us by 82pts...but revised my prediction to 7,000pts after reading Cap'n Cassisi's memoires.

In reality, us by 10pts, it's gonna be a slog out there tonight.

BTW, Eddy is a good inclusion, as is their inclusion of Nick Lower...they're obviously thinking the same thing as us in regard to gameplay. Whether they're discaplined enough to be able to carry it off against us, who knows? No Burgone's is a big plus!

Loyal

felixleo wrote:we should smash them if we stick to our game style but remember we are travelling and if we get sucked into playing their way don't be surprised if we lose.
it will be a different style tonight. it will be ugly to watch.

in the recent tradition of channel seven FNF this one should typically be to a degree somewhat of a blowout.

its going to be tough but i see it as a stepping stone to getting home and smashing the dogs and the pies at the dome and being 7-0.

We are in for a big win this week.

How often do you get a double yoker egg.
Once a year if you are lucky, huh!.

I have used ten eggs from this weeks carton of eggs.
Only got 9 double yokers so far. :D :D :D

With luck like that I am going to win the lottery and the saints are going to win by heaps.

LOYAL
I always thought god was a saints supporter.
Your avitar is further proof.

If I hear one more person going on about Port being to good for us I will

f@3king loose my sh1t! ( yes it will come out a lovely teal colour)

FFS! They have beaten Melbourne and the Box Hill hawks. Whilst I know

we haven't beaten "anyone" either at least we have been laying the

smackdown on teams. A little respect please.

Some muppet was on the radio saying Treders would kick another six. The

whole team will be lucky to kick six the way we are playing. Let the carnage

begin....Carn Sainters :twisted:

Re: We will crush Port

saintly wrote:
Cairnsman wrote:Where did Port finish last year?

!
and just who have we beaten?

only adelaide in adelaide was a good win!
Did you word that wrong?

We have only had one good win?

The Eagles win not a good win?

Queen of negativity as per usual.

Marcus1232

It will be a tough game but i think we will win by 3 goals. Saints just need to continue to be hard and first to the footy and we will see PA undisciplined streak come out in them once again

aussierules0k

Last edited by aussierules0k on Tue 23 Jun 2009 2:15am, edited 1 time in total.

5 prelims in 7 years. 40 wins from 49 games.
2009 and 2010 were 2 of the 5 best years ever by the St.Kilda FC.
Thanks for all your efforts Saints.