Just thinking of that game...

Against Essendon last year where we had to win by, over 100 points I think it was to make the top 4.

That was quite incredible, going into a game not only looking for a win but looking for a 100+ point win, and then to actually pull it off.

Amazing really, that was a great game :)

Go Saints :)

I've ONLY watched it about 6 times !!

It was funny that game - I was there with my mother in law and 2 borthers in law ....alll Essendon supporters.....loved it

Loved that game, just watched it last night. Great way for Harves to finish the home and away season.

Saintersss

Yeah I went there with all Essendon supporters. Good times.

imo we are synonomous with not actually doing a job within footy circles

i.e we were expected to win a flag by now and have found a way not to

we were meant to beat collingwood after their shaw/shaw/didak drama

countless other instances come to mind of loosing games we should have won...and convincingly

this wa a change, we actually pulled something out of the hat. With this in mind i doubt the playing group really thought about it however as a spectator it was good to see a potential scenario that obviously benefitted us greatly actually happen

axcellence

Yes... I think Shane Birss really lifted in that game... shame he's no longer with st kilda... timing is everything I guess.

your momma

Daymmn..
After you reminded me of the game,
I gotta watch it asap.
Whata box office

"Im never satisfied...its a curse"
mick13

Surprisingly none of my mates are keen Essendon supporters. one is but he doesn't really care enough about it to really take the loss too badly. SO bagging him was pointless.

But yeah, it was a great game. Ranks up there with the best I've seen.

i_luv_nick_riewoldt

How amazing was the last quarter when we were around 70-80pts ahead and the crowd erupted with anticipation that maybe we could clinche 4th spot. Once the live ladder hit the big screens, there was excitement around the ground.

All i can say is that train ride home was fantastic!!

Go saints in '09!

It was an incredible day, the dream was alive and well when only 15 weeks earlier we were all thinking Harvs was going to go out in an absolutely degrading fashion.

It really has been an incredible few years for the club, we have been involved in more 'crazy' matches than anyone. Sirengate, whispers in the sky, the 100 point win over Essendon, almost having a match stolen from us due to the new interchange rule. Whether or not we get a flag or not in the next few years I still think we will all look back as the past 5 or so years as one of the most exciting parts in our history with the St Kilda football club.

It's refreshing to hear everyone enjoying the memory of that victory for

what it was...a fantastic victory. I was expecting the usual rehash, "Essendon

were under-manned, had Rama kicked the goal then top 4 was gone", etc. It

was an amazing victory and that's how it should be remembered.

Exactly, all the talk about Essendon's injury problems were so overrated, half of them weren't in the top 22, next time we have an injury crisis I pray that it is our rookies and duds...

that game was my first one of the 4 weeks back and forth to melb jaunt....
ill never forget that game as long as i live..

sitting there with complete strangers, adding up the scores and trying to work it out, to knock the Crows outta 4th, and jumping up and down with strangers giving high fives.
once i told em i was from SA the hugs and even more high 5's were flowing freely....

isnt footy great.
ill never forget it 8-) 8-) 8-)

it was one of those moments where i can say openly that i was moist

aussiejones

I too was there with an Essendon supporter ....we go to all the Ess v St Kilda games .

I think he would have gone home at thre qtr time but for pride he stayed and was very vocal against the Sainters..... I just smiled and razzed him up.

Makes up for the in the Dark at Waverley and subsequent 'continuation'

It was exciting.....a bit like watching Twenty20 cricket - full of action, with one crap side playing a good side, but with a meaningful end...

In hindsight, it gave Harvs the chance to play 3 finals and equal the club record of 16 finals games.

Yep loved it.

Sat with my fellow MWers near the Cheer Squad with my best mate......who happens to be an Essendon fan. Brave man to put up with what he did on that night

Last edited by Hurricane on Tue 03 Feb 2009 11:49am, edited 1 time in total.

HardSaint

Gotta agree - what a feeling it was
At the last minute, at the gate, I asked if they had anything on level 1 seating and they said yeah - just one - no one told me it was slap bang in the middle of Essendon Social Club reserved seating !!!

Minded my p's and q's all game as the old dames tsked and hissed at my restrained and mild barracking, the unwillingness to move their legs to let me in and out at the breaks, and the glares and nasty looks, not to mention the general whinging and whining and constant abuse of Roo.

The last quarter, was beautiful, no longer willing to be restrained I let loose and put the s*** up them as they sat there depressed and speechless prompting many to leave. I felt like a kid again

"Why put in Peverill - what have they done for you?", and "Are you retiring as well today Lloyd?" amongst other calls to the response of standing room saints faithful who were giving heaps as well.

I still reckon thee's nothing sweeter than doing Essendon and their born to rule, spoilt attitude.

the fact that we were playing manangatang thirds and needed to win by more than 100 points obviously persuaded us to shelve the defensive and negative mindset that was a feature of 2008.

attack and goals were the order of the day and we showed we can do it if we have to.

it was a great win with a feeling of disbelief as we approached the magical percentage we needed to finish top 4.

TassieJones

The only saints game i managed to attend last year, and what a game it was!

I was there with Dad who is a crows supporter, needless to say he thought 4th spot was in the bag before the game hahaha.

anyone have youtube highlights?

this game made me so happy great effort