Other Than Winning the Premiership

Other than winning the premiership, what else do you really want to see this season.

For me I really want to break the Pt Adelaide hoodoo, absolutely smash them at home and especially at Moron Park.

Other things, continue the streak against Carlton, continue beating Essendon and hope we have a smuch success against them as they had against us while Sheedy was coaching them.

But, of course, in the Preliminary Final, meet Collingwood with all the pundits saying how brave they are and the team spirit their showing to get to the Prelim from 7th or 8th position and just watch them unravel as we smash them by 10 goals plus and have the joy for the 2nd year in row to wave goodbye to their fans long before the final siren.

My wife creating a bi-sexual clone of herself, for starters.

WayneJudson42 wrote:My wife creating a bi-sexual clone of herself, for starters.
I'm sure the "clone" bit was included just in case your wife read that.
as to the OP, I want the cup, if not for the club's sake, then mainly to win a bet with a carlscum mate.
Last edited by sunsaint on Sun 25 Jan 2009 6:32pm, edited 1 time in total.

8bloggs

My wants

Roo and Kosi not to miss any set shots at goal in the first quarter.
Kosi to take hold of at least 3 games during the season and be a winner for us.
2 young guys to make a difference in our midfield.
The Seaford development to run to plan.
More than 32,000 paid up members.
Clinton Jones to run down Buddy Franklin again.
Chris Judd to get reported for striking Bakes because he just can't skake off the glove.
Max's hammies to last 25 games home and away.
BJ and Gram to kick 20 goals each as attacking mids.
Archie to improve non-membership income by 10%.
Goose to regain full fitness and burst the ball kicking a 60 metre goal on the run.
Eljay, McGrath to each put on another 10 kilograms.
Luke Miles and Zac Dawson to be elevated from the rookie list and play 2 promising games each.
Our cheer squad to develop some entertaining chants.
Matthew Scarlett to apologise to Harves and state that the Saints are a real threat this year.
Patrick Smith to admit he does not know anything worthwhile about footy.
Luke Ball to win the Brownlow.
Both of the Clarke brothers to be named in the best players for 3 games.
Michael Gardiner to play 10 games.
The Kingston City Council to declare they could have done more in the negotiations on Moorabbin.
The Collingwood cheer squad to be sacked again.
Ben Cousins to declare after being best on ground for the first 3 games, that he has discovered God and move to a remote commune for the rest of his life.

StNoodles

I want to see:

BJ smash it in the middle

Armitage cement a spot

X stay injury free

Kosi play to his potential

Dal dazzle us with his slick tricks and disposal

A few of the first-yearers show some real promise

2004 arrogance

unfashionable footy

hell we created the idea of unfashionable, asshole, rough footy

we saw with the hawks, cats and eagles it won flags...

players were both hard at the ball and the man...and it one them flags

we did it before all of them except we have no flag to show for it

sunsaint wrote:
WayneJudson42 wrote:My wife creating a bi-sexual clone of herself, for starters.
I'm sure the "clone" bit was included just in case your wife read that.
as to the OP, I want the cup, if not for the club's sake, then mainly to win a bet with a carlscum mate.

just beat collingwood. that will keep me happy for aprox 1 year :)

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."

BJ to finish top 3 in the Brownlow.... I've taken $50 at 125 to 1. :D

Get me a cool $6k to pay for a few GF tickets the following Satdee!!

Selhurst Saint

Continue the domination over Carlton, I am not ready to let that go.

Richmond..............ditto

I would also like to see our supporters become more positive, passionate, and animated at games. Sometimes it feels like we are in a library.

"...If there has been one recurring theme through this whole shocking mess, it has been the misguided, inflated egos and their ill-judged determination to cling to long-standing old boy friendships. The bad advice that has guided the selfish and culpable James Hird has not only punctuated this saga but symbolised it..."
Gabba

saintdooley wrote:just beat collingwood. that will keep me happy for aprox 1 year :)
Hell, I'm still smile everytime I think of that finals win.

Saints Premiers 2008 wrote:2004 arrogance

unfashionable footy

hell we created the idea of unfashionable, asshole, rough footy

we saw with the hawks, cats and eagles it won flags...

players were both hard at the ball and the man...and it one them flags

You couldn't have said it any better.

Are we capable of playing this tough and hard?:

(If not, we can't win the premiership. We must remember how to physically intimidate - it's what busted Geelong open.)

But since this isn't about that flags :? I guess I'd like to see us do the following:
- Win four of our first five (only Adelaide away we won't be favourites) heading into the Dogs match in R6.
- Win the back-to-back blockbusters against Collingwood and Essendon in "Mega May".
- Beat Geelong in R14, push Hawthorn in R19 (though it's at the Tassie Graveyard)

Our draw for supporters is a shocker, but for the team, it's a cracker. We can blast away to a great start and never should we lose more than two in a row - our draw is too kind.

But that's up to us, and if we want it enough, and if we're prepared to improve enough.
Last edited by evertonfc on Mon 26 Jan 2009 12:50pm, edited 1 time in total.

Like everyone else, I would love to see success for our club and our players. As for the other things I would like to hapen this season.......... The fact that this is a family forum would prevent me from disclosing my thoughts :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :wink: !!

Yep, hard, tough footy, and scoring on average 15+ goals per game thank you very much.

....winning 4 out of the first 6, and seeing membership numbers grow quickly, so we will get 30K+ members.

That's my wishlist for starters....

To have a full squad to pick from most weeks.....

Saints Premiers 2008 wrote:

Yes we do...66

We had some mean b**stards back then and Jeans had us playing tough football.

1. Beat Essendon twice.
2. Have a decent run with injuries that allows us to field close to our best 22 at some stage during the year.
3. See 22 players have a red hot dip every week. Honestly there were weeks this year where I walked out disappointed after a win because the players looked like they were going through the motions.

Win 16 games but dont give a stuff who we beat or lose to as long as we win that many games.

bj in the forward line and killing it

a virtually injury free list all year,
good attacking footy,
remain in top 4 from Rd 1 to finals,
games won without relying on our superstars

Pies win the wooden spoon and tigers to finish 9th :) and the saints to win the premiership :wink:

Gram01 wrote:Pies win the wooden spoon and tigers to finish 9th :) and the saints to win the premiership :wink:
that would be good, but i would rather the pies to finish 15th, and the Blues get the spoon and then they will have to change their slogan for 2010 :wink:

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."
HardSaint

agree with all of the above

Would love to get that confident 2004 feeling back week in week out where we can expect a good toughed out fight against the comp's best (and being considered as such ourselves).

The last coupla years did my head in as to having absolutely no idea how we were gonna play - how last year, we started those come from behind wins after shocking 1st halfs etc.
How every week it seemed 50/50 whether we were gonna win or lose:
Thinking we were "up there" after beating Hawthorn beautifully, only to get done by West Coast seconds the week after - almost unwatchable.
How Collingwood shamed us in the Shaw and Didak week - the press had a field day about the fighting Magpie spirit, but was really that we were terrible
We should have absolutely smashed them.

Going along to see us play Carlton at the G, actually nervous, that the media hype was true and they would do us - thankfully they didnt, but there were moments when the door was swinging.

Zed wrote:a virtually injury free list all year,
good attacking footy,
remain in top 4 from Rd 1 to finals,
games won without relying on our superstars
all of the above, particularly attacking football and winning without reliance on our superstars. i'd like to see us get some arrogance back into our game.

Pilgram

great thread.
Other than winning the premiership, what else do you really want to see this season?
respect from the media.