Does anyone remember this?

mcadam05

Does anyone remember this?

Someone on Ebay is floging what they say is a old stk training jumper does anyone remember seeing us train in it?

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Old-VFL-St-Kilda ... otohosting
Last edited by mcadam05 on Mon 19 Jan 2009 12:41pm, edited 1 time in total.

dees training jumper maybe.....

What a pisser - I'm hitting him with questions LOL

mcadam05

its also funny there's a VFL logo yet there isnt a shield badge and whats with the red and blue

mcadam05

fingers wrote:What a pisser - I'm hitting him with questions LOL

Valentine Cards did sponsor us in the early too Mid 80's so it may be a stk jumper but there are a few question marks over it
Last edited by mcadam05 on Mon 19 Jan 2009 10:59am, edited 1 time in total.

TriColourDisciple

The Saints definatley had a Valentines Greetings training top.
I know, because I had one!
However, I used to find it a bit embarrassing to wear as all of my mates tops had 'tough words' like Esso, Yakka, Avco, etc. & mine had... 'Valentines greetings' :oops:
It was different to this one as it was BLACK, white collar with red sleeves.
I still have it....somewhere!

Proudly Brainwashed since 1972

mcadam05 wrote:
fingers wrote:What a pisser - I'm hitting him with questions LOL

Valentine Cards did sponsor us in the early too Mid 80's so it many be a stk jumper but there are a few question marks over it
Yeah I remember - BUT IT'S BLUE??? LOL

history doesn't record the fate of the numbskull who ordered 40 of them for the club.

i'm guessing the last phrase he heard when he got his marching orders was:

"I said red, white and BLACK"

Banger2Plugger

OK - now I have a training jumper from the 80's season 1982 I think-
It is Black Valentine Greetings in White, and red collar and red trims around the sleeveless area.
I remember it well as I use to wear it all the time over my plaster cast I had from my lower back to under my armpits - a result of a spinal fusion @ 13 years of age.

To me - that one is definitely not a Stkilda training jumper - possibly Melbourne

If everyone speeds, why haven't you been overtaken?
mcadam05

this is the answer he just gave me too my Question on ebay

Question & Answer Answered On

Q: Are you sure its Stk??? have you got any history on it 19-Jan-09

A: Hi, The history that i can provide is that i am in the Ballarat area. This area was the St Kilda zone before all the drafting came in. A local footy guy i know had the jumper and was going to throw it out. He does not recall who he got it from. Back in the days of zoning, every player who could get a kick in the ballarat footy league got a try out at St Kilda so i reckon the jumper probably got flogged by some guy who went down there for a training run or possibly to play a few games. The saints had valentines greetings as the major sponsor for a few years in the early 80's and the training jumpers at all clubs had the sponsors names on them. At this time the iron on lettering and logo's were all the go. The Saints even used iron on numbers for a few years. Back then you were not able to buy the training jumpers in the shops. Only club jumpers, so i would think that this jumper came out of the St Kilda footy club. This jumper is the classic tight knitted style of the times. Hope this info is of help to you and anyone else. Cheers

so bigcarl you may be on the right track

ctqs

I had a kids-sized Saints training jumper when I was 11 ... with Gilbeys Gin on the front of it! :oops:

Still waiting for closure ... if you get my drift.

ha this is great

Launcestonsaint
Location: Watching our games on tele or listening to the radio :(

I had one of the Valentine Greetings training tops. It was as mentioned black with red collar, trims & white lettering. Club logos weren't on the training tops back then, just the VFL logo. I bought it from the club via mail during the 80's.
I had it until a couple of years ago when I had no more need for it as it had shrunk too much. :oops: :oops: :wink:

St Kilda's 2 premiership captains are Tassie born. The Doc & Roo.
TriColourDisciple

Rang Mum to ask if she knew where my Valentine Greetings top was & she had no idea what I was talking about & added that it definately wouldn't be at her place.
Nooooooo.....WAAAAAaaahhh...This was going to be my moment to shine & produce a pic for all to see & I would be hailed as a bit of an SS legend!.....but no, it wasn't to be :cry:
Bugger it. I'm gonna keep looking..

Proudly Brainwashed since 1972

TriColourDisciple wrote:Rang Mum to ask if she knew where my Valentine Greetings top was & she had no idea what I was talking about & added that it definately wouldn't be at her place.
Nooooooo.....WAAAAAaaahhh...This was going to be my moment to shine & produce a pic for all to see & I would be hailed as a bit of an SS legend!.....but no, it wasn't to be :cry:
Bugger it. I'm gonna keep looking..
Just get round to her place and check what shes washing the dog with. :wink:

markinUSA

Grumpy... it's funny you say that. I had a stick figure jumper (not a footy jumper, just a sweatshirt) from the early 80s, which got far too small for me... and it became the dog's jumper for important matches. He wears it with pride. I had to cut the sleeves off for him... but it looked great.

"Don't give up, never give up" - Robert Harvey.