Training report summary

james rose

Training report summary

A shortened version of the player by player review I did in my blog.

Summary
Notable absentees
Lenny Hayes
Stephen Milne
Jarryd Allen (on crutches)

Player Highlights
Leigh Fisher looks to of improved in almost every area.
Max Hudghton was on the angry pills.
Jason Gram looked lazy but talented.
Stephen Baker completed most training but did some run through work on his own under the eye of some of the trainers, my personal theory being they are looking at his running style.
Justin Koschitzke took some nice marks, kicking for goal was poor though.
Nick Riewoldt and Koschitzke were available to chat to with one of the young fans (who I think may have had cancer) was very nice to see.

Structure of training
Came out and did some light kick to kick
Did some jogging
Run through work
Stretching
More run through work
Stretching
Some circle work
Match simulation/light contested work
Warm down (after someone kicked a goal to earn this I believe, players were very happy.)

Thanks for that, very pleased to see your comment on Armo on your blog (make sure you look forumites - nice stuff!).

#20 David Armitage- Trained very hard with lots of encouragement from the other players, looked much fitter.

I'd love to see this guy step up and be more productive in our midfield. the snippets I've seen of him gave me great hope but he seemed to have a pretty average engine based on reports from the forum.

james rose

Yeah I was rapt.. he seemed to of toned down.

i_luv_nick_riewoldt

Cheers for the training report... the detailed player-by-player was fantastic. Thanks for your effort!

Go saints in '09!
the_D_train

Thanks for the report that was great...

you say that clint jones has improved his kicking disposal, just wondering if his kicking style is more fluent or his is just more accurate with the same kicking style ?

cheers :D

james rose

He seemed to be concentrating really hard on his drop... so the style has changed but still doesn't look completely fluid.

the_D_train

thats good to hear, i like the way that Clint Jones goes about his footy, just his disposal has always let him down. Hopefully he can keep improving his kicking.

once again thanks for the training report :D

james rose

he's a hard worker jones.

I have no doubt any success he has is attitude related.

Great read mate :wink:

Where can we read your blog?

james rose

See my signature.. as in straight below this post

also someone on bigfooty mentioned that Milne was probs on the honeymoon ;)

Sam23

Great stuff mate.

Really appreciate it.

Goddard.
Pilgram

Max Hudghton was on the angry pills
.. right, so basically nothing has changed since last september then..

james rose

Pilgram wrote:
Very vocal in telling players to switch on.. correcting them etc.

I think as each week goes by he will only be getting more intense, only a few years left.

james rose wrote:
Pilgram wrote:
Very vocal in telling players to switch on.. correcting them etc.

I think as each week goes by he will only be getting more intense, only a few years left.
Is or was Max in the Clubs leadership group?

I would love to see him as a co vice captain this year

not to bad for early training

james rose

unsure on the leadership group.

the set plays were very nice by the way... requiring lots of initiative

Thanks heaps for the training report JR - both on tbe blog and here
Rapt to read the progress of Leigh Fisher and Maguire :shock:

Your servants shall hold her stones dear, and have pity on her dust :shock:
james rose

MCG-Unit wrote:Thanks heaps for the training report JR - both on tbe blog and here
love the avatar.

james rose wrote:
MCG-Unit wrote:Thanks heaps for the training report JR - both on tbe blog and here
love the avatar.
Thanks - it's pole vaulter Melanie Adams :shock:

Your servants shall hold her stones dear, and have pity on her dust :shock:
james rose

lends itself to a lot of crude comments.

anyway thanks heaps for the positive feedback guys, I'll have to do something similar for the practice match!

Pilgram

every premiership team needs an a$$hole.
max is our a$$hole.

james rose

Pilgram wrote:every premiership team needs an a$$hole.
max is our a$$hole.
who do you think will be once he's gone??

speaking of assholes whichever coach took training was very fired up. it was impressive.

james rose wrote:
max is our a$$hole.

speaking of assholes whichever coach took training was very fired up. it was impressive.
I saw Hutchy out there ans Elshaugh took the boundary line simulation.

Maybe it was Tudor?

Pilgram

james rose wrote:
max is our a$$hole.

there's no rush to find the new hardman, max has a good two or three left in him.
kosi has shown that he is hard and i feel will step into the vancancy well.