Old interview with John Gdanski - AJN

Here's an interview with John Gdanski I came across from the Australian Jewish News.

Yes, it's a bit old (Oct 19, 2007), but it's still quite an interesting read if you've got a spare five minutes.

Saint John of Moorabbin
http://www.ajn.com.au/news/news.asp?pgID=4248

After seven years on the St Kilda Football Club board, John Gdanski believed it was time for a change. He was the architect behind the recent bloodless coup staged by the Footy First ticket that ended former president Rod Buttress’ seven-year reign and talks passionately about the dawning of a new era at Moorabbin. Gdanski talks exclusively to AJN sports editor ADAM KAMIEN about footy, Jewish support for the new board and what we can expect from the talented but underperforming Saints next season.

How did the challenge to Buttress materialise?

A number of factors were very annoying. The first one was the Steve Baker case [Saints tagger that was handed a seven-week suspension for rough conduct against Fremantle’s Jeff Farmer even though the incident wasn’t caught on camera] that was handled, in my opinion – and I need to be careful – I don’t believe that was handled as well as it should have been.

By who?

Well, I’ve got to say by the board. Notwithstanding, I didn’t have anything to do with it. Ross Levin and I were completely excluded but it wasn’t handled well by the board. Now that’s the problem ... we were two lawyers on the board and we were not asked anything. It’s fair to say the board was divided over many issues for a long period of time.

There was a footy sub-committee of Rod Buttress, Glen Casey and Mark Kellett and it wasn’t sufficient. The information flow was not acceptable.

Greg [president elect Greg Westaway] said, “Will you come with me?â€

Modesty isn't a strong point for Johnny is it?

Although having said that, it's just so refreshing to read someone saying what they think without fear of upsetting anyone.

rodgerfox wrote:it's just so refreshing to read someone saying what they think without fear of upsetting anyone.
That was why I posted it.

It was a honest, open and fortright...the kind of stuff that you want to see from your board.

Good on him for telling it straight. We need more ppl like that in our world

Moccha wrote:Good on him for telling it straight. We need more ppl like that in our world
Ego is not a dirty word.

will be interesting to compare the sponsorship figures of this year and last year. The whole idea of "cuddling" the corperates seems to be a big focus.....

not bad read

Interesting the perspective on RB almost the opposite of what Westaway stands for.

RB was highly visible at footy matches and the media loved jumping on this. I can remember heaps of close ups of RB watching the game.

According JG he wasn't into promoting the club to financial backers.

You never really know though do you, the media are so good at inventing stuff based on perception. They played RB as the flamboyant young president and his outbursts in the media really helped them build this up.

Westaway plays the serious elderly statesman that has St.Kilda's best interests at heart - it's probably too unintersting to sell for the media.

Two opposed perceptions of what a president should be.

Interestingly it's similar with our coaches - GT with his confident swagger and turn of phrase - RL quiet, circumspect, dry to the point of deadpan. Both sets gave the saints something quite different both pretty interesting for their times.

Although having said that, it's just so refreshing to read someone saying what they think without fear of upsetting
Maybe this has something to do with the fact the article has a specific targeted audience. JG knows his community, the supporters of an AFL club in the large are a much more diverse beast. Even still though he's careful with some off the stuff he's saying (legalities).

Re: Old interview with John Gdanski - AJN

John Gdanski wrote:The first one was the Steve Baker case [Saints tagger that was handed a seven-week suspension for rough conduct against Fremantle’s Jeff Farmer even though the incident wasn’t caught on camera] that was handled, in my opinion – and I need to be careful – I don’t believe that was handled as well as it should have been.

By who?

Well, I’ve got to say by the board. Notwithstanding, I didn’t have anything to do with it. Ross Levin and I were completely excluded but it wasn’t handled well by the board. Now that’s the problem ... we were two lawyers on the board and we were not asked anything. It’s fair to say the board was divided over many issues for a long period of time.
This is really interesting. At the time, it was the way the Baker case was handled by the club/board that made up my mind that it was time for a change at board level. Clearly JG felt exactly the same way. Interestinmg how a completely outside perception (mine) is precisely the same as an insiders one - sometimes everything is exactly how it appears!

Wasn't the Steven Baker debacle also seen as the end of Kenny Sheldon??

What was Kenny's position in the club at that stage?

PJ wrote:Wasn't the Steven Baker debacle also seen as the end of Kenny Sheldon??

Wasn't he Football Operations Manager?

My view is, that by the time the Baker case was heard, Butterss was about Butterss. The club was merely a vehicle for his flourishing 'J Grade celebrity' career.

I also firmly believe, Demetriou had him. He'd gone from fighting the AFL on pretty much everything, to not saying boo and towing the AFL line.

I think the AFL wanted Baker rubbed out. And I think Butterss let it happen.

Maybe Baker had to take one for the team in the long run? If he didn't get 7 weeks, we'd still have Butterss.

PJ wrote:Wasn't the Steven Baker debacle also seen as the end of Kenny Sheldon??

Still pulling Devonport's jumper from over the fence. :wink:

evertonfc wrote:
rodgerfox wrote:it's just so refreshing to read someone saying what they think without fear of upsetting anyone.
That was why I posted it.

It was a honest, open and fortright...the kind of stuff that you want to see from your board.

thanks mate...an interesting read.... :wink: :lol:

Wow B4E.
One of your more impressive rants !
I'm tipping this thread will go crazy or be locked.

Enrico_Misso wrote:Wow B4E.
Or of course the offending post gets deleted :oops:
:D :D

barks4eva, you made the following comments:
[quote your comments in the John Gdanski thread were borderline racist and defiantely inflammatory.

You receive one warning for breaking this rule; should you receive a further two warnings in the next month, you may be banned for up to one month.

Regards,
saint66

U R Joking, yeah?

Why don't you do me a favour and just ban me now!

FAIR DINKUM

Talk about political correctness gone crazy!

Surely you can't be serious!

Gdanski talks exclusively to AJN sports editor ADAM KAMIEN about footy, Jewish support for the new board

I’m very proud of my position and I’m very proud of representing the Jewish people if I can say that.

We both feel pretty strongly about helping the Jewish clubs.

There’s a huge Jewish supporter base at St Kilda ... the goodwill is huge.

Of the 8000 votes in support of the Footy First ticket that came in really quickly, about 1000 of them up the front were Jews, which is a great result.

So only Jews can call themselves Jews, is this what you are insinuating?

I still reckon we need a few more Palestinians on the board!

Anyone have the contact details for Hamas?
I was the one that broke the board up, I was the one that divided them, I was the one that caused the s*** to hit the fan.
The fact is the s*** has hit the fan and it's called Belvedere Park!

Enrico_Misso wrote:
Enrico_Misso wrote:Wow B4E.
Or of course the offending post gets deleted :oops:
:D :D
As it so righly deserved.

Was neither funny, educated or sensible. :x

[quote your comments in the John Gdanski thread were borderline racist and defiantely inflammatory.

You receive one warning for breaking this rule; should you receive a further two warnings in the next month, you may be banned for up to one month.

Regards,
saint66

U R Joking, yeah?

FAIR DINKUM

Gdanski talks exclusively to AJN sports editor ADAM KAMIEN about footy, Jewish support for the new board

I’m very proud of my position and I’m very proud of representing the Jewish people if I can say that.

Of the 8000 votes in support of the Footy First ticket that came in really quickly, about 1000 of them up the front were Jews, which is a great result.

I was the one that broke the board up, I was the one that divided them, I was the one that caused the s*** to hit the fan.
and there's no 2 ;)

Regards,
saint66

U R Joking, yeah?

FAIR DINKUM

are you sleeping with poochy?

either that, or you have hit the fan, or maybe both

I too found him refeshingly honest and upfront

Thanks for posting it Ev

HarveysDeciple wrote:

Regards,
saint66

U R Joking, yeah?

FAIR DINKUM

and there's no 2 ;)
He'll regret all that when he sobers up.

GrumpyOne wrote:
HarveysDeciple wrote:

Regards,
saint66

U R Joking, yeah?

FAIR DINKUM

and there's no 2 ;)
He'll regret all that when he sobers up.
I don't think he drinks that much to sober up, he is just a natural at it :lol: :roll: :shock: :wink:

Solar wrote:will be interesting to compare the sponsorship figures of this year and last year. The whole idea of "cuddling" the corperates seems to be a big focus.....
IIRC Archie said they were up about 25% ...