Is your BBQ up to it?

with the current dispute between the Dome- Docklands and the AFL now heading for the courts.
could your local oval handle an AFL game or two.

you will need:
* snags may have to rise to $2
* you may need to offer a Healthy alternative- maybe a bit of slaw?
* and the beer to price will rise to ?
*the cleaners will need to attend the facilities mid match so may need a slight price rise
* I'm sure you can find a few locals to stand gate and do bag search
* will the treasurer be able to cope with the ticketing/ gate attendance
* your Labrador and the bluey should be able to to the ground search pre game..

what else needs to be looked at?

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/ ... 61,00.html

On a serious note, this MUST stay on the real forum IMO, as it directly effects us, as we are one of the clubs that Demetriou is actually going into bat for!

So....I'm on the AFL's side on this one, as we need a much better deal with Telstra Dome to make some serious money.

BUT....

Demetriou needs to remember that the AFL (before him), sold VFL Park, that was outright owned by the AFL, and thus sold exclusive management rights to a venue.

Yes, the AFL will own TD in about 15 years time, but until then they may be forced to build a new ground which they can control perhaps?

All Demetriou needs to do, is to spend $50 or $100K on getting plans drawn and putting it through council/government to operate a scare campaign to force Collo to back down.

That's if Collo will fall for it of course!

saintspremiers wrote: Yes, the AFL will own TD in about 15 years time, but until then they may be forced to build a new ground which they can control perhaps?
What?

I don't think think you gave that one much thought

I understand the conflict re the AFL's sponsorship deal with Qantas v Jihad Airlines.
But who cares about Collingwood's sponsorship !

The sooner the AFL gets control over Docklands and doesn't have to kow-tow to a piece of excrement like Ian Collins the better !

What year does the AFL gain ownership - around 2030 ?

casey scorp

Docklands Stadium opened in March 2000, and the AFL gets it after 25 years – ie 2025 (which is now only 16 years away).

Demetriou has suggested a boutique stadium accommodating 25,000 people to accommodate small crowd sizes for matches against low-drawing interstate clubs (Vic clubs v Gold Coast, Western Sydney, Port Adelaide, Freo etc).

If an 18 team competition with a 24 round season occurs, as planned by the AFL, there will be 40 more matches. Demetriou has said that up to 22 of those could be in Melbourne, but the actual figure is likely to be about 14 to 18.

Building a boutique stadium will kill 2 birds with one stone:

• it will meet an actual anticipated demand
• it will also give the AFL leverage in dealing with the AFL and the MCC in being able to schedule additional games at the boutique stadium (not blockbusters, but certainly some of the others which might otherwise have attracted 30,000 people could be scheduled at a boutique stadium as a sell out – it could be a threat anyway).

A base-level boutique stadium will cost around $60 million – it doesn’t need to be of the standard of Telstra Dome or the MRS seating 31,500 around a far smaller playing field at a cost of $320 million.

Remember basic grandstands like Moorabbin – they’re not as flash as TD, but if the issue is just about getting seating for patrons at a reasonable standard (albeit with bucket seats etc) then it would do the job.

saintspremiers wrote:All Demetriou needs to do, is to spend $50 or $100K on getting plans drawn and putting it through council/government to operate a scare campaign to force Collo to back down.

I think Collo's jus a bit smarter than that. It needs to be a genuine project to impact on Collins. It will only be the surplus capacity created by a boutique stadium , and the ability to actually take games away from TD, which will force his hand.

This is one of those rare occasions that I hope the AFL win.

Lets not forget that Ian Collins was CEO at Carlton for a large chunk of John Elliott's reign which would lead some to conclude that his buisness ethics are "questionable" at best !!

casey scorp wrote:Docklands Stadium opened in March 2000, and the AFL gets it after 25 years – ie 2025 (which is now only 16 years away).

Demetriou has suggested a boutique stadium accommodating 25,000 people to accommodate small crowd sizes for matches against low-drawing interstate clubs (Vic clubs v Gold Coast, Western Sydney, Port Adelaide, Freo etc).

If an 18 team competition with a 24 round season occurs, as planned by the AFL, there will be 40 more matches. Demetriou has said that up to 22 of those could be in Melbourne, but the actual figure is likely to be about 14 to 18.

Building a boutique stadium will kill 2 birds with one stone:

• it will meet an actual anticipated demand
• it will also give the AFL leverage in dealing with the AFL and the MCC in being able to schedule additional games at the boutique stadium (not blockbusters, but certainly some of the others which might otherwise have attracted 30,000 people could be scheduled at a boutique stadium as a sell out – it could be a threat anyway).

A base-level boutique stadium will cost around $60 million – it doesn’t need to be of the standard of Telstra Dome or the MRS seating 31,500 around a far smaller playing field at a cost of $320 million.

Remember basic grandstands like Moorabbin – they’re not as flash as TD, but if the issue is just about getting seating for patrons at a reasonable standard (albeit with bucket seats etc) then it would do the job.

saintspremiers wrote:All Demetriou needs to do, is to spend $50 or $100K on getting plans drawn and putting it through council/government to operate a scare campaign to force Collo to back down.

I think Collo's jus a bit smarter than that. It needs to be a genuine project to impact on Collins. It will only be the surplus capacity created by a boutique stadium , and the ability to actually take games away from TD, which will force his hand.
Gee..you seem keen on the idea...even though its fanciful at best imo

Why didnt you just put your cards son the table and come out and say "why not redevelop Casey Fields"????? :wink: 8-)

rogerwa

dont knock it 66,anyone who thinks we will still be around in our current form in 20-30 yrs time is playing with emselves

if ya want the st.kilda footy club to still be in existance as a stand alone club scorps is heading in the right direction

our only chance would be by being no1 tenent of a smaller boutique stadium holding 25-28 at max

geel only holds about 25 yet they make chytloads from that whilst we break even /lose with about 35 thou

with new clubs coming in we could easily accommodate playing 6,7.8 of the lower drawing clubs at our 'home' ground whilst playing our major games at the dome AS geel do now

please no, what about our members...we dont have 30000 members who go to the footy each week

what we do have is about 8000 interstate,overseas & distant country members who if lucky will see one or shock horror 2 games a yr & in most cases none

we are not football members we donate to the football club

of the remaining 22000 maybe 5000 would be young family members ie membership brought for them

leaving us with about 17000....of those i'd bet eastern's lefty no more than 10000 ( at max)would see 16 games of footy

no1 tenant of a small stadium would be right up our alley & savour

membership & footy patronage mean jack chyt

example...last yr i went to the geel foots game which was about rnd 12 with both teams situated on top of the ladder

the game was the blockbuster of the round played at geel with a capacity of 25000
geel had 35000 members,foots about 30000 yet i managed to get 5 tickets 4 days before the game without any difficulty

is casey scorps right...a small stadium 40 or so mins from melb holding 25-27 thou ...geelongs further out than that

wouldnt ya spew if melbourne became the no1 tenant at such a venue whilst we become extinct

we can stick our head up our arze & hope things will stay the same forever...

aint gunna happen ....explore every opportunity to stay alive

We may want another stadium but it isnt going to happen and if it did we wouldnt have the benefits like the Cats because that is their own stadium and as such get all the revenue. If one was built which it will not be it will basically be the same deal as Telstra or the G so the only benefit is if we get a small crowd we will not make a loss but we will not make any money either.

rogerwa

good point plugger

i know geel have the catering/ signage rights etc etc & even hold other events at the ground that they make bucks on & a thriving GAMING licence that runs amuck on match days...donated a good few bob before,at 1/2 & after the game :cry: :cry:

the afl owning the ground will give a better take than some outsider (as the dome is)ripping the chyt out of the hand that feeds em

a small profit at such a venue far outways the massive loses we occur playing clubs like freo port infront of 23

which takes us back 3 yrs
we made 400000 a game playing those clubs in tassie, today we lose about 200000 a game playing them in melb

those responsible at the time didnt have the forsight to realise they had signed our death warrant

they should be hung by the balls from the tower of the hobart town hall

casey scorp

saint66au wrote:Why didnt you just put your cards son the table and come out and say "why not redevelop Casey Fields"????? :wink: 8-)
It doesn't really matter where it is, it is the principle.

But, hey, you've hit on a good location without even being prompted. :D

saintspremiers wrote:On a serious note,
I'd rather not---

so which area has the best carpark and transport? :wink:

plugger66 wrote:We may want another stadium but it isnt going to happen and if it did we wouldnt have the benefits like the Cats because that is their own stadium and as such get all the revenue. If one was built which it will not be it will basically be the same deal as Telstra or the G so the only benefit is if we get a small crowd we will not make a loss but we will not make any money either.
When Geelong were almost finished, and owed 3 million to Westpac, all the AFL needed to do was step in, take control of Kardinia Park, and hand over 3 million to Westpac.

I'm sure Westpac would've prefered that option to writing off the whole debt as they did!

THAT would've been a very easy solution in perfect hindsight.

saintspremiers wrote:When Geelong were almost finished, and owed 3 million to Westpac, all the AFL needed to do was step in, take control of Kardinia Park, and hand over 3 million to Westpac.

I'm sure Westpac would've prefered that option to writing off the whole debt as they did!

THAT would've been a very easy solution in perfect hindsight.

In reality Kadina park isn't far from Melbourne but I doubt any team apart from Geelong playing there could make it work.

this is a funny thread

jays wrote:this is a funny thread
Is that so?

Or has there been a recent cheap arrival of drugs?? :roll: :shock:

ausfatcat wrote:In reality Kadina park isn't far from Melbourne but I doubt any team apart from Geelong playing there could make it work.
After the last time I went there I refused to go back. Honestly it is WAY to far to go especially if, like me, you live an hour away from the city already.

Plus as you have stated her ausfatcat the ground is Geelong's spiritual home so I highly dount any other AFL team could make use of the place.

Redeveloping Casey Fields would be my choice if I was in charge.

casey scorp

Hurricane wrote:Redeveloping Casey Fields would be my choice if I was in charge.

Casey Fields might be MFC's training venue by the time a boutique stadium is developed.

casey scorp wrote:
Hurricane wrote:Redeveloping Casey Fields would be my choice if I was in charge.

Casey Fields might be MFC's training venue by the time a boutique stadium is developed.
Well that will their loss.

casey scorp

I think they will have learnt their lesson from "losing" the MCG.

If they have any leverage in the Casey Fields facility as a training venue in the short term, they will be in a stronger position to negotiate a favourable outcome for themselves if the boutique stadium ever happens.

casey scorp wrote:I think they will have learnt their lesson from "losing" the MCG.

If they have any leverage in the Casey Fields facility as a training venue in the short term, they will be in a stronger position to negotiate a favourable outcome for themselves if the boutique stadium ever happens.
Firstly the stadium will never happen but if it did it isnt going to be any further than 5km from the city and secondly who cares about MFC. Isnt this a Saints site.

casey scorp

plugger66 wrote:Firstly the stadium will never happen but if it did it isnt going to be any further than 5km from the city and secondly who cares about MFC. Isnt this a Saints site.
You're entitled to your view, as we all are.

Hurricane identified Casey Fields as his preference for a site for a boutique stadium, and some discussion has gone on from there:
MFC only has relevance to this site if it has any involvement in the topic at hand. In the case of Casey Fields, it does have involvement and would be a factor in any discussions.

casey scorp wrote:
plugger66 wrote:Firstly the stadium will never happen but if it did it isnt going to be any further than 5km from the city and secondly who cares about MFC. Isnt this a Saints site.
You're entitled to your view, as we all are.

Hurricane identified Casey Fields as his preference for a site for a boutique stadium, and some discussion has gone on from there:
MFC only has relevance to this site if it has any involvement in the topic at hand. In the case of Casey Fields, it does have involvement and would be a factor in any discussions.
Just tell me the last time a new stadium was built more than 5kms from the City of Melbourne in the last 10 years.

casey scorp

plugger66 wrote:Just tell me the last time a new stadium was built more than 5kms from the City of Melbourne in the last 10 years.
We all know there hasn't been a new stadium built more than 5kms from the City of Melbourne in the last 10 years.

But I think the debate isn't about the past - it's about the future.

Think beyond Melbourne, if you can, and up to the burgeoning growth areas of Queensland. The major urban growth area of Queensland is the Gold Coast.

Skilled Park is located in the suburb of Robina in the Gold Coast City Council. It was opened in March 2008 and is the home ground of:

* NRL club Gold Coast Titans
* A-league club Gold Coast United which will join the A-League in 2009.

It seats 27,400 spectators.

It is more than 5km from Brisbane - in fact it is 75 km from Brisbane.

casey scorp wrote:
plugger66 wrote:Just tell me the last time a new stadium was built more than 5kms from the City of Melbourne in the last 10 years.
We all know there hasn't been a new stadium built more than 5kms from the City of Melbourne in the last 10 years.

But I think the debate isn't about the past - it's about the future.

Think beyond Melbourne, if you can, and up to the burgeoning growth areas of Queensland. The major urban growth area of Queensland is the Gold Coast.

Skilled Park is located in the suburb of Robina in the Gold Coast City Council. It was opened in March 2008 and is the home ground of:

* NRL club Gold Coast Titans
* A-league club Gold Coast United which will join the A-League in 2009.

It seats 27,400 spectators.

It is more than 5km from Brisbane - in fact it is 75 km from Brisbane.
Now we are comparing Casey to the most popular tourist area in Australia. You really are a funny man.