WHY TAKE BEGLY!!!!

saintjake

WHY TAKE BEGLY!!!!

we have enough running defenders!!
he isnt going to help us if max goes down or goose never comes up
at least carrol helped us there.
but still if we wernt going to take carrol
why waste it on belgy, who, from what ive seen, doesnt really have much to offer.
why not take a punt, young player, who works hard and is a midfielder.
hird was pick 76 was he not?
and burns 90?
much better pick the begly in my eyes

AND WHY did we take, another bloody ruckman WITH OUR SECOND PICK!!! gahhhhhhhhh
we took bloody mcevoy with our first last year,
jsut relax with the rucks, its not like we are ever going to play to rucks in the one team
or not very often
were are we going to play kosi?
wasted pick
SHOULD OF BEEN A MID!!!
and i dont see why we took 2 players, who from what the paper says, play the same sort of position
i was shocked when we didnt take blease.
fast mid who can kick goals
IS THAT NOT WHAT WE HAVE BEEN BEGGING FOR!!!!

FFS st.kilda you do some crazy things sometimes,
i hope they pay off.

and god why did the filth get to get sidebottom:@:@:@:

1- we got Ray to play back
2- that releases players like BJ and Gram into the middle.
3- good rucks are hard to get.
4- with Dempster out, Begley also fills that role.

Options options and more options.

Simple to free up bj and chips

homework wrote:Simple to free up bj and chips
exactly, and Grammy also..

Need to remember that The Dumpster is out for 2009 with a knee, so he needs replacement.

*hopefully* Goose and/or Bakes will up to decent senior footy which is vital IMO for us to succeed.

Yes, it's a shame we didn't get Steel Sidebottom - mainly because I love his nickname: "Tin Arse"!!!!

Begley will be better than marty in 09 8-)

Well if you are quick and email the CLub or call them to tomorrow morning and voice your concerns, it might not be too late for them to change their minds :roll:

Oh..we didnt draft anyone named Begly....or Belgy come to that

saintly_safes

He couldn't cement a spot in a average Lions backline. At best a back up player but at pick 80 odd not too much lost.

It seems that Lyon is keen on getting defenders/taggers who are cheap and ready made. Attard, Dempster, Ray and Begley were all recruited to allow Chips, BJ, Gram and Raph to play an attacking game. So far we've had limited success with this tactic but with our midfield falling so far behind maybe it was necessary this year.

BallBanger

Re: WHY TAKE BEGLY!!!!

saintjake wrote:we have enough running defenders!!
why waste it on belgy, who, from what ive seen, doesnt really have much to offer.
and burns 90?

jsut relax with the rucks, its not like we are ever going to play to rucks in the one team
or not very often
wasted pick
SHOULD OF BEEN A MID!!!
and i dont see why we took 2 players, who from what the paper says, play the same sort of position

i hope they pay off.

Careful, you're risking being shot down by Joffa who opposes logic

and burns 90?

or not very often
wasted pick
SHOULD OF BEEN A MID!!!

i hope they pay off.

Why would you want Sidebottom? Because of one great game?

Because we have had a couple of Sidebottoms before?

I think we have done really well this week. The next 2 years will tell.

TassieJones

Begley is a far better player than Carroll and has far FAR more improvement left in him. He is not a pisshead, he won't deck his teammates, he's not old and he wouldn't concede 7 goals to Cain Ackland. If Max goes down we'd be just as f***ed with Carrol cause it'd be like playing a player short. Begley a far better selection intended to release and you do realise Lynch can play CHB
saintjake wrote: why not take a punt, young player, who works hard and is a midfielder.
and burns 90?
Hird and Burns were one offs over a decade a go in an era when the draft was much less scientific. We had already taken 5 youngsters, what more do you want? 1 in every 1000 players taken that late make it, from what I've seen of Begley he has a 1 in 10 chance of making it.
saintjake wrote: AND WHY did we take, another bloody ruckman WITH OUR SECOND PICK!!! gahhhhhhhhh
or not very often
Sorry mate but that's just stupid. When King and Gardiner retire (probably both this year) we're gonna need more than 2 players (Kosi and McEvoy) as our ruck stocks.
saintjake wrote: were are we going to play kosi?
wasted pick
Where he played this season, full forward with spells in the ruck.
saintjake wrote: SHOULD OF BEEN A MID!!!
??? What are you talking about? We took a utility tall, a huge ruck, a half forward wing, a speedy mid, a tall forward and a half back. Which of those two are the same? Add in Ray to those 6 players and we've covered all bases comfortably. Whilst we have been begging for a Blease type player, we've also been begging for a third tall forward option and a reserve KP back which is exactly what Tom Lynch is
saintjake wrote: FFS st.kilda you do some crazy things sometimes,
i hope they pay off.
No offence mate but you clearly have no idea what you're on about. Nothing we did wa remotely 'crazy' and I reckon instead of sooking about it based on what you've read in a paper you trust our recruiters who've spent 100s of hours watching these kids play.

mick13

Blease is Eljay Connors Mk.II. He's 68kg and would die twice in a game.

So he'll need to bulk up, and by bulking up he'll lose some of his pace.

And admit it, how many times have you seen any of these kids play?

Why not

groupie1

I think the ruckman point is fair.

We've been picking up ruckman in the draft and trading for them for, what, seven years... most successful has been S King - by far.

I say pick young quicks, and just pluck mid-age ready-made ruckmen as we need.

Developing ruckmen is a waste of time, lots of risk, Sydney has shown it's not a smart club's tactic

Gordon Fode couldda been Plugga

BallBanger wrote:
As opposed to you who only comes on here to stalk me :roll:

Didn't hear from you on Draft day hindsight king. Who are you going to claim vindication for calling an 18 y.o. in this draft no good?

Lynch?
Stanley?
Heyne?

I am sure you will come on and show us all you undoubted knowledge once again :roll:

After all you show such insight on football dont you???

What a combo troll and a stalker. You must have a very very sad little life.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

WayneJudson42 wrote:1- we got Ray to play back
2- that releases players like BJ and Gram into the middle.
3- good rucks are hard to get.
4- with Dempster out, Begley also fills that role.

Options options and more options.
Couldnt have said it any better myself. I see Begley filling the role that Dempster played only he can add dash aswell which allows us to use Gram and Goddard to play in the middle.

Terrible thread... :roll: :roll:

Don't you find it interesting that so many teams overlooked Sidebottom for better mids? This was the year to go tall and we did that...

As for Begley, he doesn't need to be a superstar he just needs to do his role and free up BJ or Gram to become gun mids...

As for Brisbane having an ordinary backline get a clue, just because they are a bunch of 'unkown workman like' defenders doesn't mean they're ordinary, they're one of the better backlines going about...

True Blue Sainter

Was very surprised when I heard we picked up Begley (was at a mates' beach house and saw it in the "recycled players" picked up on the news).

The more I've thought about it, and read some of your thoughts, the more I agree with his drafting. He'll add a bit of depth, a bit of dash off half back or a wing, and as several have mentioned, will provide an option in Dempster's absence. I see it as a low-risk strategy, with the potential for Begley to cement himself in our top 25 (not sure he would make the first 22 as of yet!)

The Saints are coming!

and burns 90?

or not very often
wasted pick
SHOULD OF BEEN A MID!!!

i hope they pay off.

ignorant post of the year

Bernard Shakey wrote:Why would you want Sidebottom? Because of one great game?
One? Even if you completely discount the GF (I've yet to figure out why you would), he had an extremely good season including a dominant U18 chamionships. If he were quicker, he would have been a lock for pick 3 as the only drawback to his game is a lack of game-breaking speed.

im sure the saints selection team has some sort of plan, well i hope

undecided

jays wrote:im sure the saints selection team has some sort of plan, well i hope
but is it the right plan

Saints Premiers 2008 wrote:
and burns 90?

or not very often
wasted pick
SHOULD OF BEEN A MID!!!

i hope they pay off.

ignorant post of the year

yeah not very informed

Hird and Burns and Hamill- all very late picks, but very rare that you get a bargain at this point

begley is only 22 so is still young enough to fit into our needs (10 years, 100 games etc etc)

By getting Begley and Ray it frees Gram and Goddard into middle- fast mids that can kick goals

Blease- this guy is too small, which means we would have had to take him at pick 13 instead of Lynch, if you have a look at our list we lack genuine forwards, especially a third tall option this is why we needed Lynch

Sidebottom- mate he was gone by our pick so we couldnt get him, damn i would have preferred the other 12 playes picked before us, that is why they were picked at that number

saint66au wrote:Well if you are quick and email the CLub or call them to tomorrow morning and voice your concerns, it might not be too late for them to change their minds :roll:

Oh..we didnt draft anyone named Begly....or Belgy come to that

:wink: :wink: :lol: :lol:

BallBanger

BallBanger wrote:
As opposed to you who only comes on here to stalk me :roll:

Didn't hear from you on Draft day hindsight king. Who are you going to claim vindication for calling an 18 y.o. in this draft no good?

Lynch?
Stanley?
Heyne?

I am sure you will come on and show us all you undoubted knowledge once again :roll:

After all you show such insight on football dont you???

What a combo troll and a stalker. You must have a very very sad little life.
Get your hand off it! "stalk" think your important enough to be stalked?

You hijacked the draft thread with your childish drivel...

Overall I was quite happy in taking some kids for a change (appears to be good mix) although our 1st pick was not rated that high and we went for need rather than best. On saying this he may become very important...

We badly need an a1 mid to add to our list...