Nick Heyne

mick13 wrote:Is he good to start playing next year guys? Or will we develop him with Sandy for a bit?
when have you lately seen a new draft line up straight away saints have this crap rule that players need to develop, well what better place to develop then in the firsts.

Batnoe wrote:here guys read this

a very handy pick at 48 going by this

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=447658
Interesting thread that.

I wonder what OP Bourkey's relationship to said player is - mate, girlfriend? :lol:

Wrapped with Heyne at 48.

Really liked the comments in the thread that he doesn't mind winning a hard ball.

Fortius Quo Fidelius Yo
mick13

Yeah he's very close mates I believe. I went as far as saying he was Nick and he sent me a PM about how he's just mates with him lol.

uncle joe

Reckon he'll play firsts this year .
The other young kids might need a bit more time in the twos .

uncle joe wrote:Reckon he'll play firsts this year .
The other young kids might need a bit more time in the twos .
Lynchy will burst out onto the scene just wait though :oops:

Beej

n1ck wrote:I watched those highlights of him from the Country v Tas match... while yes he has pace, there was no real vision of him spotting up targets or using good judgement. Nearly all video of him was gathering the ball and throwing it on the boot, kicking long.

While i love the excitement and usually do get wrapped up in the draft commotion, is this kid really that good? Why isnt there vision of him doing anything other than smacking it long?
It's worrying. I mean, you can make pretty much ANYONE look like a good player with a highlights package. Far out, they made Fergus Watts look like Malcolm Blight with his.

However, that was just one game of footy and a pretty big game of football at that level so he possibly didn't have one of his better games.

I'm sure our network of scouts have seen him play on at least 10 occasions and have seen something in him.

Hopefully the fact he was a St Kilda supporter wasn't the overriding factor in our decision to pick him up.

Beej

Batnoe wrote:here guys read this

a very handy pick at 48 going by this

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=447658
I like the comparison with Embley.

I'm pretty sure most of the players in the draft have the ability to dominate a game of footy at that level. It's all about how they adjust to AFL that will make or break them and that's the toughest thing to judge.

Some just can't cope.

One thing you will not see him doing is reading newspapers or internet fan forums to find out just how good — or bad — people think he is.

"I stay away from the footy chat forums and that sort of thing," Heyne said.

"The main people I listen to are my coaches and my dad, if he ever has something to say."
http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/h ... 89806.html

Great article Bratty good to see we've got a couple of young leaders coming through...

Jeez I'm excited about some of our youngsters coming through... I just get the feeling that Heyne and Steven are going to be something special while Armo, McEvoy and Lynch can all be very good players too... Chuck those guys around our core players who are all at 24-25 and we are looking pretty good for the next few years, there may be a hurdle in the next year or two but I believe we will be better positioned for our next genuine tilt at the flag...

[quote="homework"]Allen has to stand up in 2009 or Lynchy will take his spot[/quote]

Allen needs crutches to stand up, that is when he isn't lying down.
2009 has already passed him by. :cry: :cry: :cry: