2009 Probable Draft Selections

National Draft – Phantom Draft Selections

Note: I have put together a conglomerate of SAINTS selections from the Big Footy Phantom Draft board including their player descriptions.

Depending on what the SAINTS plan for at PSD where they expect to draft COUSINS and possibly another player will depend on the number of picks at the Nat Draft. However we will require a key position backman, a minimum of two midfielders (quick/goal kickers) and another developing ruckman. It looks like the NSW rookie ruckman McGRATH will come onto our rookie list; hence a ruckman may be a late priority.

(Speed & skills must rank highly) I have rated the players in each selection 1 – 10 ….

Selection 13 – (Will be best available selection)

(1) Steele Sidebottom (Murray 182 / 79) - Best available here for the Saints. Not sure how I had him sliding so far, however I doubt recruiters would be 100% convinced over 1 great game. Before that game I could have easily dropped him down to the 2nd round. Is a goal kicking midfielder which the Saints are crying out for, but can also play on the flanks where he will more than likely be used for 4 or 5 years before he can really kick off.

Odds: Will most likely be already taken

(2) Ryan Shoenmakers (Norwood 192 / 88) – Just a sublime mover on a football field who presents as someone who will develop enormously under the right coaching programme. If the body continues to fill out he will develop into a Scott Lucas/Mark Bayes type. Beaut mover on a footy field and has a raking left foot. On the bigger grounds this bloke will be terrific as he gets more 1:1 contests than he would on a smaller ground. Reads the play really well and will be someone that can assume will have a big career. Could go first round …..just a real talent.

Odds: Possible but will have interest from other clubs…

(3) Chris Yarran (Swan Districts / 180 / 84)
Yarran is the best left at this point. Been watching him for a while now and is just a beautiful reader of the game. Seems so effortless and gets into position easily (I think of Darren Jarman when I see him). Gets a ton of the ball and typically uses it well. Plays fwd but can play either end or potentially wing would be a great spot for him if he could get fit enough to do it. Can win his own ball but his real class is his time and use of the ball on his left side. Another to have seen a heap of senior footy and will potentially walk into an AFL side in 09……..he is that good!

Odds: Will most likely be already taken

(4) Sam Blease (Eastern / 183 / 72) – Red is the colour which represents speed. He has it, the hair and the speed. An exciting prospect which needs a couple of pre-seasons to develop in the gym, but well worth the investment. Blease will bring pace to a St Kilda midfield which has the grunt but lacks the leg speed. Enjoys bounding into the fifty and kicking a goal or two, another feature which will see St Kilda pick up the redhead. Spent a number of weeks at Richmond last year and apparently impressed, but their need is no longer pace through the middle.

Odds: Possible but will have interest from other clubs…

(5) Tom Swift (192cm, 84kg)
Swift is a ball magnet who shot to prominence at the U16 carnival a couple of years ago. Racked up getting the pill and wins it both inside and outside. Terrific height for a mid, has great footy smarts and is a natural competitor. Does the little things well and will drive the midfield/defensive brigade and you can certainly find other types to build around him later.

Odds: Will be available (has not played for 18 months injuries)

(6) Mitch Robinson (TAS / 188 / 77) - A tall midfield type that is equally good inside as he is outside. Gets to a lot of contests and really presents as a clearance specialist. When playing outside can be a good link up player as his skills are very good along with his decision making capability. Can really influence games and have watched him change games because of his ball winning ability. Uses the ball very well and is an on field leader. Can also move into a HF or HB role so will offer a lot of versatility to the club that picks him up. Could go as early as pick 10 IMO as he just loves playing footy. Another that reminds me of Buckley.

Odds: Should be available

(7) Jackson Trengrove (Calder / 196cm / 81kgs)
Saints need KPD and would love Hurley to fall here, and he is a chance if his lack of agility gets to heavily weighted, but they will be rapt with Trengrove. A ruck at junior level he is a bit short to play ruck albeit he has a terrific leap. Also played defence and ultimately I think it will be here that he will make his name. Very much a kick mark type player, but versatile with good agility and neat skills…

Odds: Should be available

(8) Nick Heyne (Gippy / 187 / 79)
Super footballer who spends most of his time in the midfield but can go fwd and kick goals. Gets a heap of possessions and use the ball really well. Not overly quick but that’s probably the only thing he is missing. Makes it up in ability to read play and be where the ball is going to be

Odds: Will be available

(9) Stephen Hill (West Perth / 182 / 72)
The Saints will add to their midfield depth with this very athletic midfielder. Terrific agility and speed, Hill will add a bit of zip to a one paced midfield. Like a lot of kids, Hill is going to have to build up in the gym but I think the saints are a good fit and he will benefit playing alongside Hayes, Ball, Montagna and DalSanto.

Odds: Will be available

Any on the above will be a good pick up for the SAINTS !!!

Selection 47 (Depends on what we select #13 will be a chance at #48 also)

(1) Adam Cockie (Subiaco / 185 / 83)
Kid that has been much talked about on BF over last few years and was a surprise that he didn’t go last year. Thought about having him much higher in the draft but unlikely a 19yo would go any higher than 3rd I would have thought. Tough player who would be almost ready to walk into league footy. Spent a year playing WAFL where he honed his trade coming off a HB / Mid type role. Has that run down factor about him and is hard at it good solid footballer who finishes his work very well. Very committed and will make every post a winner. Could well be a bargain.

(2) David Zaharakis (Northern Knights / 180 / 73)
Speedy onballer. Zaharakis has improved his kicking which prevented him from being drafted last year however it is an area which will need to continue to improve. Zaharakis will also need to improve his body strength as I think he gets hit off the ball too easily when he is in a contested situation. However Zaharakis is fast gets a lot of the footy and works exceptionally hard each and every week.

(3) Luke Shuehy (Oakleigh / 185 / 84)
Hard running and competitive midfielder who played for metro at the champs. Was solid without being outstanding but it was his form at TAC which excites. Has had a good solid year and tends to get pretty decent possessions. Will win own footy and has the ability to go fwd and kick goals.

(4) Jayden Post (Western Jets / 195 / 86)
Post is rising up the charts like a bullet. Everything seemed to click for him late in the year. He is tall, strong, quick enough and has a real dip at the contest. I see him developing into a key position back and he would get a lot out of watching and learning from Max Hudgton for the next couple of years. A mature 19 year old.

(5) Hamish Shepherd – An East Perth product who can play at either end. Shepherd was invited to the SS by two clubs, one was the saints, the other, Im not sure. Another of these players that can play as an undersized KP. I think he’ll move into the midfield in the bigtime.Is taller than 190cm, measured up at about 195cms at State Screening I'm pretty sure. Is a very athletic KPP who can play at either ends, but will need time to put on muscle.

(6) Tom Allwright (Tas / 185 / 83)
Medium sized midfield / defender who had a really good champs. Gets quite a bit of the footy and is another who can play inside and out when required. Gets a fair bit of the ball and uses it well.

(7) Kade Klemke (Murray & NSW / 180 / 78)
Saints 2nd pick and was probably looking for a speedier type but with the trading for Ray then I think a solid HB type is the go. Gram and Goddard both show the potential to play a lot more midfield in 09 and Klemke is someone that could quite easily fill that HB role. Terrific player who is just a real competitor. Keeps his feet in the contest and will just not give up. Makes good decisions with the ball and skills are ok.

(8) Jordan Jones (Geelong Falcons 190 / 90)
Saw a bit of him this year and presents as a third defensive tall type. Just seems to have a fait bit of time. Very agile and reads the play well. When in possession will share it around and is a v good user of the football and certainly going to get selected.

(9) Steve Geartner (Dandenong / 198 / 86)
Went hard on this kid getting up last year and he missed out. I think the big issue was his kicking because outside of that he is very promising type. This year his skills have improved markedly. Year was ok for him and he mainly played across HB line as well as up on the wing. Had a super finals series and clubs will see his agility at 198cm as extremely attractive. Can have stints in the ruck and go fwd but I think he will settle at CHB in league footy. Might be a good match up for Buddy one day.

Selection 48 (Again will depend on what has been taken AT #13 & 47)

(1) Riley Milne (Murray Bushrangers / 192 / 78)
A no frills defender who rarely got beaten at TAC level. He does a lot of things well defensively although another player for mine who could work on his kicking and decision making. What also impresses me about Milne is he seems a real leader out on the field and was the general of the Bushrangers backline this year. Would be a nice fit with the Saints and could be a nice replacement further down the track. Is a real goer and is always attempting to be creative when in possession.

(2) Dayne Beams (Southport / 181 / 80)– Hard at it clearance specialist who is capable of playing next year. Good hands in close and a smart operator under real pressure, enjoys the physical stuff and as I said before is creative in close. Good tackler.

(3) Tom Hill (Northern Knights / 198 / 80)
Haven’t seen a heap of this kid as he has had injuries and is bottom aged as well. For those that have not seen think of Tony Notte last year and you get some sense of it. He is still very raw but has shown enough to suggest he is worth taking a punt on before he potentially turns into a super star by next year. Very agile and will be groomed for a key forward post. Very agile and contests very well. Skills ok but to be fair I have only seen him when its been a bit windy and hence its hard to benchmark him.

(4) Luke Rounds (Geelong Falcons / 181 / 70) (Mid)
Geelong Falcons youngster who will be one of the bottom agers closely looked at this year when otherwise may have had another year to develop. Conceivable that he might also be left at TAC level for another year as well. Pacy and works hard around the ground. Seems to have a lot of footy nous and potentially suitable for a few different positions.

(5) Jay Shannon (Port / 182 / 80) (Mid)
Another clean player with very tidy hands and good foot skills. Has quick decision making, but the main thing I have noticed is the ability he has to read the bounce of the ball so simply. I think he will slide but wouldn’t surprise me to see him go a little bit earlier.

(6) Jarrad Blight (Swan Districts / 192 / 82)
I think the Saints will pounce on Blight with this pick. Blight is tall enough and athletic enough to play key position back a little down the track and I think the Saints will take the punt here. He is also athletically capable of playing through the flanks and even on the wings. An exciting player who could be very good value at this pick.

(7) Mitch Banner (Western Jets / 178 / 77)
Get a reliable, hard working midfielder who is capable of winning a stack of the footy. Banner has done everything asked of him this year both in the Nationals and in the TAC cup. I have a slight concern over Banner’s kicking as he sometimes throws the ball on the boot in a rush and he needs to kicker stronger and flatter in the AFL but they are areas he can work on. Will be a very good VFL footballer- the question is can he cut it in the AFL?

Selection 63

(1) Rory Sloane (Eastern Ranges / 182 / 76)
Hard at it midfielder/ utility who just thrives on the contest. Sloane has got terrific aerobic fitness, is hard at it, is good in the air for his size and has decent skills. However what I really like about him is he just hates to lose a contest. That to me is an underrated quality at AFL level. Sloane is also displays leadership qualities with a real extroverted personality. On the field he reminds a little of Damien Hardwick who ironically played at the same junior footy club off the field there is a touch of Shane Crawford. TAC cup Coaches award winner for this year.

(2) Andrew Renton ( Eastern Ranges / 202 / 94)
Was a bit surprised he didn’t get taken last year so will be surprised if he doesn’t get picked up this year. One of the better ruck prospects in this year draft. Good with the palm at the contest he also gets around the ground pretty well and picks up his fair share of the ball. Skills are ok.

(3) Will Young (192 / 83)
Not entirely the Country representative will get selected but I sure hope he does. Very competitive kid who attacks the ball with real intensity. Looks best suited to a CHB position but is a way from having the frame to do that. Like Williams he is very athletic and covers the ground pretty well.

(4) Zach Sengstock (Sandringham / 191 / 85)
Over age defender who has the potential to develop very well. Enormous amounts of ticker and backs himself when the ball is in his hands. Uses it very well and presents as a tall defender the Saints can work with. The only issue with this selection is the kid is Sam Gilbert like and hence a Jayden Post might be more appealing here.

(4) John Rayner (Western Jets 184 / 66)
Stats from his few games will tell you he was pretty influential in the games he played. He is a bottom age midfielder who is very light but seems to tick all the boxes. Whilst a speculative pick its one the Hawks can afford and he is exactly the type that will start getting taken around this point in the draft. Where a Zaharkis wasn’t taken last year, this year that same type will be drafted…

Selection 79

(3) Brad Mangan (Murray Bushrangers / 185cm / 80kgs)
This kid has a lot of upside and could potentially play midfield in3-4 years time. Played as a bottom ager (and will be potentially one of the youngest taken) in the Bushies side which went on to win the TAC GF. Was used in a variety of roles around the fwd half and sometimes even at CHF. When you watch him he never appears to be in a hurry and you often wonder if he is laconic but I think its more like a kid who just knows where he wants to be or run to. Acquitted himself very well and has made a name for himself as a very good 1:1 player who can win his own ball and take contested grabs. Skills are good on both sides and really presents as someone with terrific upside just think for him to have been that influential this year in that team he is well worth picking up now.

(2) Todd Banfield ( Swan Districts / 181 / 78)
Thought about Ben Bucovaz here but Todd Banfield probably offers more upside. Lightning quick kid that has a terrific engine and will run all day. Skills very good and in the few tapes I have seen seems to have a red hot go!

(3) Matt Suckling (Sandringham / 183 / 84)
Good to see this kid taken as I think many of us had wraps on him before he got himself injured last year. Was kept on as an overage player and has been a consistently good performer for them this year. Ticks all the boxes – strong at the contest, good in close, can play outside and finishes off his possessions very well. Type that would appeal to US as he just keeps going and wont let you down.

(4) Luke Stanton (Northern Knights / 191 / 83)
Stanton a great choice and probably should go higher. Tall athletic kid who typically plays wing but could also run off HB. Moves well, strong over the ball and uses the ball pretty well. His athleticism suggests he could go higher than this and is one who might be able to play sooner than later. There is a question on his kicking but he is fairly handly on both sides.

Selection 95 - PASS (Cousins)

(1) Lance Daly (Swan Districts / 191 / 85)
I am always worry about fwds that are 191cm still he is very talented and has a good engine and knows where the big sticks are. At this late stage you taken the punt – particularly when you need more fwd options!

(2) Scott Blessing
Small defender / midfielder with good pace and nice skills. Good reader of the game and gave SA good run from defence during the Champs.

(3) Zachary Clarke (Oakleigh Chargers / 203 / 84)
Young ruckman who has had a good year in the TAC Cup. Will spend a bit of time developing but has the tools to make it.

BEST DRAFT RESULT FOR 2009 & FUTURE
Midfielder 1st round
Mildfielder & KPP Defender 3rd round
Ruckmen 4th round
Goal Kicking HFF 5th round
Last selection most likely be PASSED to pick up COUSINS in Pre Season Draft - otherwise Best available 6th round.

Re: 2009 Probable Draft Selections

WinnersOnly wrote:BEST DRAFT RESULT FOR 2009 & FUTURE
Midfielder 1st round
Mildfielder & KPP Defender 3rd round
Ruckmen 4th round
Goal Kicking HFF 5th round
Last selection most likely be PASSED to pick up COUSINS in Pre Season Draft - otherwise Best available 6th round.
Unless we have further delistings we will only add four players at the ND/PSD. That means we'll probably take three at the ND and one at the PSD. Aside from adding Cousins, I don't see anything we do at the draft making us a better team in 09. There's a few guys who might be able to contibute in 09, but ours is a tough squad to crack.

I don't see midfield as a need in the first round either. Especially when you consider it's a very tall draft up the top. I don't care what position they play, I just want somebody who can make a real difference with our first pick. Lewis Johnston, Tom Swift and Jackson Trengove all play different positions and I'd love to have any one of them. I'm less keen on the likes of Yarran, Blease and Hill.

I'm praying for Hurley, but unfortunately I can't see him getting past pick 6...

SaintBot

Good wrap up.

I'd be happy with Trengove or Swift in the first round. Trengove suits our needs better however the potential bargain Swift could become is very tempting.

If we do take Trengove then midfielders and forwards I'd imagine will be our target for our next few selections.

Banner is one with an obvious flaw which is an inconsistency with skills and/or decision making. He can gather plenty of it and does kick goals. Reminds me a little of Dane Swan from Collingwood.

Ideal draft scenario for mine:

Pick 13: Jackson Trengove (Key Defender)
Pick 47: Mitchell Banner (Midfielder)
Pick 48: David Zaharakis (Midfielder)
Pick 63: Liam Jones (Key Forward)
Pick 78: Ben Cousins (Mature Midfielder)
Pick 95: Pass (Pre-Season Draft)

This gives us a bit of everything. A key defender who can replace Max in a year or two and work with the likes of Gilbert, Maguire and S.Fisher for the next decade. Two very good midfielders. Both have their question marks but are both very able to forge a long and successful AFL career. Liam Jones did training with us during the preseason through the AIS program. His dad played with us for a few seasons. He is underaged (17) and still quite slight but has huge potential. The fact that he was injured for much of this season combined with his age will see him fall to a later pick (or potentially a first/second rounder next year). Then of course Cousins. Depending on the talent left at the end we may pick another youngster before Cousins and forfeit a pre season selection or we will have a look at the discards.

Armoooo wrote:I'm praying for Hurley, but unfortunately I can't see him getting past pick 6...
Neither can I. He should go pick 5 or pick 6. If he lasted through to the Kangaroos pick, they'd be crazy to pass up on him.

Benny is the one of most interest.

I reckon he'd be picked up at 47 or 48 - similar to what happend with G-train - our coaching team may not want to hold out just in case another team is lurking in the background with some late interest.

But I hope that's not the case of course and we get him at the end of the draft!

I've got my fingers crossed the Saints don't draft players who are stick thin and will need years to develop some size and i also hope they don't draft someone who has been injured for 18 months or someone who has had a recent knee reco or two......

Just get players who can get the ball and hit a bloody target. There's way too much emphasis put on height, endurance and pace these days. Our recruiters seem to have forgotten that it is useful for our draftees to be able to play footy as well as ace draft camp tests.

mad saint guy wrote:Just get players who can get the ball and hit a bloody target. There's way too much emphasis put on height, endurance and pace these days. Our recruiters seem to have forgotten that it is useful for our draftees to be able to play footy as well as ace draft camp tests.
Agree.

For me foot skill/decision making no 1 followed by some speed/body size.

we dont have 5 yrs to waith for a Phil Raymond body reconstruction.

bobmurray wrote:I've got my fingers crossed the Saints don't draft players who are stick thin and will need years to develop......
Couldn't agree more - no players who will need 2 years in the gym to be ready for AFL :shock:

If they want a 'development' player, use the Rookie draft

Your servants shall hold her stones dear, and have pity on her dust :shock:

SURELY must be our turn for a Selwood/Palmer/Rioli/Cotchin :-)

saint66au wrote:SURELY must be our turn for a Selwood/Palmer/Rioli/Cotchin :-)
Nope. Our turn was 2002. And 2001. And 2000.

And that's just recent history :)

I hope we don't get another turn at a Palmer/Cotchin for quite a while!

I agree with Vacuous Space above, I don't expect to draft someone to have an immediate impact, but I want someone who will have an impact. Mid/KPP/whatever, I don't want a specific position (ala Rioli), I want someone that will force us to find a spot for them in the 22 in 2010 and beyond.

Like Saintbot I hope we consider Liam Jones, 194cm CHF/FF from Tassie, son of Bob Jones, a Saint ruckman from the past. Part indigenous as well.

vacuous space wrote:
Armoooo wrote:I'm praying for Hurley, but unfortunately I can't see him getting past pick 6...
Neither can I. He should go pick 5 or pick 6. If he lasted through to the Kangaroos pick, they'd be crazy to pass up on him.
The Saints visited him at home a few weeks before the draft. He's keen as mustard to get to St Kilda but will be wrapped to be picked by a Victorian club. The pace issue will be an interesting one.

saintspremiers wrote:Benny is the one of most interest.

I reckon he'd be picked up at 47 or 48 - similar to what happend with G-train - our coaching team may not want to hold out just in case another team is lurking in the background with some late interest.

But I hope that's not the case of course and we get him at the end of the draft!
I thought the same but now we've lost our 2nd pick we need to draft two kids at #47 & #48. With no other clubs seemingly interested I'd be happy to get him with #95 or in the PSD.

Top 4 picks= kids!

PLUGGER14

(1) Steele Sidebottom (Murray 182 / 79) - Best available here for the Saints. Not sure how I had him sliding so far, however I doubt recruiters would be 100% convinced over 1 great game. Before that game I could have easily dropped him down to the 2nd round. Is a goal kicking midfielder which the Saints are crying out for, but can also play on the flanks where he will more than likely be used for 4 or 5 years before he can really kick off.

Would have to be the target for SS sponsorship option :wink:

mick13

Pick 13 went onto win a flag in his first year from the 07 draft.

Keep up the tradition!

Blease, Hill and Zaharakis all seem a bit light at this stage. I would like to think we would pick someone with our first pick who is ready to play AFL.

borderbarry wrote:I would like to think we would pick someone with our first pick who is ready to play AFL.
With a side like this:

S. Fisher - Hudghton - Gilbert
Gram - Blake - R. Clarke
Cousins - Hayes - Dal Santo
Montagna - Riewoldt - Jones
Schneider - Koschitzke - Milne
King - Goddard - Ball

Armitage - Baker - X. Clarke - Ray

even Daniel Rich or Jack Ziebell would struggle to get a game from day one. Long term contribution >>> short term contribution.

Didn't know that we had already secured Cuz.

BigMart wrote:Didn't know that we had already secured Cuz.
Even if we don't for whatever reson, the point still stands. Very few of these kids have the ability to walk straight onto any team, particularly this one. What the kid is going to do from 2010 onward is what it's all about. Anything before then is a bonus.

There is only a handful each year!

borderbarry wrote:Blease, Hill and Zaharakis all seem a bit light at this stage. I would like to think we would pick someone with our first pick who is ready to play AFL.
There is only a handful of AFL ready players each year! But having said that players I have listed like YARRAN, HEYNE, COCKIE , SHUEHY, SHEPHERD and SENGSTOCK would be likely chances...

BallBanger

Who was responsible for these gems?

Year Pick# Player Rank Out of 5
1 2 3 4 5
2005 33 Sam Gilbert 3
2005 49 Michael Rix 2
2005 63 Phillip Raymond 1
2005 71 Justin Sweeney 1
2004 17 Andrew McQualter 2
2004 33 Cain Ackland 1
2004 49 Mark McGough 1
2004 63 James Gwilt 1
2003 8 Raphael Clarke 3
2003 55 Samuel Fisher 5
2003 65 Craig Callaghan 1
2002 1 Brendon Goddard 4
2002 22 Matthew Ferguson 1
2002 46 Leigh Fisher 1
2001 2 Luke Ball 4
2001 5 Xavier Clarke 3
2001 13 Nick Del Santo 4
2001 21 Matt Maguire 2
2001 37 Leigh Montagna 4
2001 49 Josh Houlihan 1
2000 1 Nick Riewoldt 5
2000 2 Justin Koschitzke 2
2000 64 Mark Gale 1
2000 75 Robert Powell 3
2000 82 Daniel Wulf 1
1999 9 Caydn Beetham 1
1999 24 Jason Blake 3
1999 54 Murray Pitts 1
1999 68 Tony Delaney 1
1998 11 Lenny Hayes 5
1998 22 James Begley 1
1998 27 Steven Baker 4
1998 43 Damien Ryan 1
1998 53 Troy Schwarze 1
1998 70 Kurt Heazlewood 1
1998 81 Jacob Anstey 1

awesome_days

BallBanger wrote:Who was responsible for these gems?

Year Pick# Player Rank Out of 5
1 2 3 4 5
2005 33 Sam Gilbert 3
2003 8 Raphael Clarke 3
2002 1 Brendon Goddard 4
2002 46 Leigh Fisher 1
2001 21 Matt Maguire 2
2000 2 Justin Koschitzke 2
1998 53 Troy Schwarze 1
You have underrated our players who have been brought down by injury - that is one thing you cant predict at draft day.

A lot of these players have been very servicible and would be "above average" for the selection they were taken or in relation to everyone else in that year.

Looking at the selections, with hindsight since the ones above have been underrated and n my opinion were good selections.

borderbarry wrote:Blease, Hill and Zaharakis all seem a bit light at this stage. I would like to think we would pick someone with our first pick who is ready to play AFL.
Why?

Given that we're not going to get someone like a Palmer, Cotchin or Selwood at #13, what serious imrovement do we reasonably expect from an 18 year old? Even with Cyril Rioli, let us remember that the Hawks had no other option for a small forward coming through, so Rioli was a great pick... had he been a St Kilda pick, he might well have struggled to make the team behind Milne and Schneider.

Is there any reason to think we're likely to get a ready made 18 year old player at pick 13? Or is this more of a hope?