How stupid are the cartlon fans RE: rewoldt.

10 marks and 2 goals and they reckon waite beat him ><

honestly, if it wasn't for cheap kicks behind play kick to kic waite was soundly beaten.

anyone would take a CHF who took 10 marks, gave off a couple of goals and kicked 2 themselves, any day of the week.

fair dinkum, carlton would give a fair bit for ANY forward who can take 10 marks in a game ><

Disagree Dan, I thought Reiwoldt had minimal effect on the game.

Definitely think Waite had the better of him, in terms of Reiwoldt is capable of. Usually does.

Spinner wrote:Disagree Dan, I thought Reiwoldt had minimal effect on the game.

Definitely think Waite had the better of him, in terms of Reiwoldt is capable of. Usually does.
i counted 2 goals and 2 or 3 passes that ended up in goal scoring opportunities.

waite got a few intercepts from poor passes the rest of his touches were rubbish in the back line under no pressure.

he's good waite, but IMO the scoreboard shows that reiwoldt delivered goals and delivered goal scoring opportunities.

Dan Warna wrote:

i counted 2 goals and 2 or 3 passes that ended up in goal scoring opportunities.

waite got a few intercepts from poor passes the rest of his touches were rubbish in the back line under no pressure.

he's good waite, but IMO the scoreboard shows that reiwoldt delivered goals and delivered goal scoring opportunities.
Yeah, but Reiwoldt's 2 goals were of the cheap variety. One from a free, the other an open goal while unmanned.

Just not as damaging tonight. Doesn't even consider having a shot from the 50, especially after his first attempt.

But I did believe we were too congested in our forward line....I really do think more is less in terms of trying to out-tall our opponents. Stick Gehrig, Kos or Roo in there one on one and I think we will be more effective in terms of scoring from our forward 50 entries.

The Saintsational Man

Re: How stupid are the cartlon fans RE: rewoldt.

Dan Warna wrote:carlton would give a fair bit for ANY forward who can take 10 marks in a game ><
Yes of course they would, but we expect more from Roo & Waite did do a good job on him. Still 10 marks, 2 goals & a couple of goal assists is still good, but roo at his best against Carltank would deliver alot more than he did 2nite and Waite had alot to do with limiting his influence on the game.

my les foote

I thought Waite won on the night.

But if Riewoldt had gotten the sort of armchair ride from the umpires that the Carlton forwards did in the first quarter, it might have been a different story.

Win it for HIM!
james rose

waite had 8 spoils!
bloody good effort...

thought one out he did a better job on roo than most I have seen.
roo will always take marks, and if he ever kicks less than a goal he has been spanked...

I'd call it just about break even with waite with the slight advantage.

Riewoldt was beaten, but due to his enormous ability and workrate he willed himself to 11 marks anyway.

Very rare that you will blanket him.

widereceiver

like Judd, HD.

I think he is still favouring his leg on the long kicks.

"Winning's not everything, it's the ONLY thing!" Vince Lombardi.
Sam Gilbert #1 booster - always on the attack!!!
Win more for Winmar

i think folks are missing the point here.

you are judging reiwoldt by his high standards, not by what he actually achieved.

plugger would kick 8 goals and folks would say he was well held.

the reality is reiwoldt kicked 2 goals, took a swag of marks and passed off 3 goals

if most other CHFs had a day like that, folks will be extolling a dominant performance.

IMO some of you are missing the point and the quality of the guy.

pebbles BEST day is 10 marks and 2 goals ><

saint08

Studid.... very stupid... beyond any level of normality....Verging on unable to reason at the most basic human level....

Oh...oops
sorry...

I missed the last 2 words of the thread, ...thought the thread asked " How stupid are the carlton fans"

Murray Pitts

Dan Warna wrote:i think folks are missing the point here.

you are judging reiwoldt by his high standards, not by what he actually achieved.
Shouldn't he be judged on what he can achieve? I thought Waite had his number all night, the delivery wasn't great to Roo but Waite had him covered most 1 on 1's.

The same can be said of Judd. Did Leigh Fisher beat Judd on the day? Leigh had 6 touches yet Judd had 19, but todays papers say that Fisher had the better of the contest.

Great players should and are held to a higher standard than the rest of the players out there.

StNoodles

very stupid...

as opposed to the st.kilda fans who know how to spell their captain's name...

The Saintsational Man

StNoodles wrote:very stupid...

Mate.....it does my head in to.....but i will say it's a hard collection of letters to spell.....i just broke it up in my head to start with;

Rie.....wol....dt

Remembered it in no time.

So now i can spell Reiwolt easily.....

JK :wink:

i thought roo was beaten....but on reflection if he wouldve kicked the absolute dollies that he missed it might have looked a bit diff.

peeps expect too much from him i reckon, as soon as he takes less than 6 marks he gets bagged.
what?...u expect the bloke to dominate every week....be real.
im glad roo and kozi had quiet nights, because it shows that the others had to stand up and not rely on the 'big two names' to get us over the line.

I think judgements can be sometimes clouded because of the expectation of Riewoldt.

My score;

Riewoldt v Waite = DRAW !!

Dan Warna wrote:

i'm with you...irf you get a chance have a listen to wanker walls on this issue...contradicts himself when comparing this clash to the brown v brown the other day....FW...

Waite beat him. Roo had some easy touches late in the game when we were playing for percentage, but Waite definitely won on the night. He is probably the only defender going around who has both the size and athleticism to keep up with Roo.

Well, you cling to small mercies when you lose by 40 pts and only got that close because the opposition mailed in 2 qtrs.

Riewoldt was effectively held by Waite, 2 goals is no shame. 10 marks is not a concern as long as it doesn't translate too far on the scoreboard.

I'd call it a pretty even matchup and give the nod to Waite.

Waite matches up really well on Riewoldt, and when Carlton gets more competitive, they've got one of the toughest puzzle pieces in taking on St. Kilda.

StNoodles wrote:very stupid...

Gold! :lol:

Can you edit thread titles?? :lol:

yeah my spelling sucks :(

most media outlets are agreeing with the carltoon fans saying Roo was beaten (sadly i cant comment cause again we didnt get coverage of the game in Perth .... thank christ we got friday night footy this week can watch my first saints game for the season )