New Answers fromFootyFirst/Board Challenge Updates

redwhite&blackblood

redwhite&blackblood wrote:
saintsRrising wrote:Board started witha $3.7 million Debt..is now in the black
Alot of which was the write off of the Old Stands that previous boards didn't do because of our debt and they wanted to keep the money on field as much as they could
Completely wrong. The stands were on the books as an asset. The debt was on the books as a liability. The stands asset value was written down to zero in 2002 causing a book loss of 2.3 million for the year.

The debt issue is totally different.

For Gods sake you have a right to your views but please, the basic facts would be a start :roll: :roll:
It wasn't an opinion it is what my understanding was so i am not a financial guru and got it wrong. Unlike some i admit when i may be wrong.

Bleeding Red, Black and White for 38 years!
Life Motto - Fortius Quo Fidelius
Raph "Cult Hero" Clarke Fan Club.

A very reasonable response to SFF

chook23 wrote:A very reasonable response to SFF

agreed.

It is now up to SFF to put some meat on the bone and how they can do MORE than what is already in the pipeline.

They have ample time to flesh outa detailed plan.....so NOW is the time that they will be tested to see if they have the EXPERTISE and COMMITTMENT to put together a detailed bsiness plan to take the Saints forward.
Last edited by saintsRrising on Thu 13 Sep 2007 11:35am, edited 1 time in total.

redwhite&blackblood wrote: It wasn't an opinion it is what my understanding was so i am not a financial guru and got it wrong. Unlike some i admit when i may be wrong.
Well your understanding is way off the mark.

Go do Accounting 101 :roll: Oh and remember the debits are on the window side of the ledger.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

Typical double-speak by Rod.

His confidence the AFL will take up his offer clearly indicates his earlier answer was a lie.

IMO it's an insult to members to suggest the AFL should be the people making the decision on who is best to lead the club forward.
Last edited by JeffDunne on Thu 13 Sep 2007 11:39am, edited 1 time in total.

kaos theory

SRR -

- What is the current's boards plan to tkae the club forward?

- What key sponsors will they bring to the club, how will they plan to INCREASE revenue?

- What is the plan for the footy dept?

- Why are we asking the AFL, via dimwit to decide what's right for us?????
Last edited by kaos theory on Thu 13 Sep 2007 11:38am, edited 1 time in total.

chook23 wrote:A very reasonable response to SFF

I dunno I think the first thing said about how the board has to treat it like a takeover says a lot. The feeling I have had recently about the board is they have been treating the saints as there own and see that statement as backing up my opinion. I feel that is a very dangerous attitude to have with a football club and can lead to board members abusing the saints financial position for there own gain.

Saying that I am still sitting on the fence at the moment.

Also I didn't hear much after that as I had a p/c
Last edited by ausfatcat on Thu 13 Sep 2007 11:40am, edited 1 time in total.

When asked about a future plan, his response was 'our performance is on public record'. Avoiding the question of his future plan. Comments about 'looking forward' but then looks back with his 'public record' nonsense.

Asked about sponsors, no answers.

When asked about spending, quotes figures that put us in the lower half of the competition, as if this is a good thing.

September 2006 we bring in the medical stuff to deal with soft tissues. 2006! Had we not been dogged for the previous 7 years with soft tissue injuries.

We'll spend $250K on resurfacing the ground BEFORE we look at medical improvements??

Fair dinkum.

That caller on SEN (no it wasn't me) expressed my thoughts to a tee.

What an insult to members to suggest the AFL should decide.

Fair dinkum, does he represent the members or the AFL?

Highlights what I've been saying for a long time re: Rod and his arse licking of the AFL.

kaos theory

Can someone tell me, are there any new faces on this current board to take the club forward??

Quote - "Growing revenue for revenue's sake is not important".

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

I would have thought any improvement to our revenue,
be it to reduce debt,
be it to improve facilities,
be it to spend more on the football dept,
be it to set aside for future hard times

would be very handy, certainly NOT unimportant !

JeffDunne wrote:That caller on SEN (no it wasn't me) expressed my thoughts to a tee.

Highlights what I've been saying for a long time re: Rod and his arse licking of the AFL.
Same caller If he was a member......so obviouslly a really committed Saints man that great weight should be given to

SENsaintsational wrote:When asked about a future plan, his response was 'our performance is on public record'. Avoiding the question of his future plan. Comments about 'looking forward' but then looks back with his 'public record' nonsense.

Asked about sponsors, no answers.

When asked about spending, quotes figures that put us in the lower half of the competition, as if this is a good thing.

September 2006 we bring in the medical stuff to deal with soft tissues. 2006! Had we not been dogged for the previous 7 years with soft tissue injuries.

We'll spend $250K on resurfacing the ground BEFORE we look at medical improvements??

Fair dinkum.
Reasonable but can SFF answer similar questions as well.....

Personally (and I admit my bias here) but I think this press conference did the incumbents more harm than good.

No substance once again.

SFF might not have proven much yet either, but geez I'm sick of Butterss and his corporate double speak.

What's your future plan? "Our performance is on public record." How about answering the question, because I'm damn sure SFF are going to come up with a plan before the EGM. Rod better get his corporate double speaking AFL licking arse into gear.

kaos theory wrote:Can someone tell me, are there any new faces on this current board to take the club forward??
Well if FF are not successful....it was indicated that Levin and Gdanski would both be asked to resign...so that would mean two new faces.

JeffDunne wrote:That caller on SEN (no it wasn't me) expressed my thoughts to a tee.

Same caller If he was a member......so obviouslly a really committed Saints man that great weight should be given to
He said he wasn't a St Kilda supporter and was talking as a matter of principle.

Why on earth should the AFL decide who is best to take the club forward?

SENsaintsational wrote:
because I'm damn sure SFF are going to come up with a plan before the EGM. .
Well we can only hope so.

test it (both plans)
both parties may be full of it....

JeffDunne wrote:

He said he wasn't a St Kilda supporter and was talking as a matter of principle.

we may be talking of a different caller but the one I heard said that he was not a member (and hence cannot vote and hence wil not be one of us decising whether it is the Board or FF)....but was obviously a Saints fan.

I presume Rod is going to open the books to the 'rebels' :roll: if this is his plan?

Seriously, I can't believe people are entertaining the idea of the AFL . . . the f***ing AFL . . . to decide what's best for St Kilda.

Fair dinkum. :roll:

That is the most outrageous & insulting suggestion I have ever heard from a club president.

JeffDunne wrote:

The AFl would not be deciding.

It would just be varifying if its plan met AFL requirements....which if the FF group get in they would have to do anyway.

JeffDunne wrote:I presume Rod is going to open the books to the 'rebels'

This is what was stated today.

With so many witnesses present I cannot see how they could back out of such an offer.

JeffDunne wrote:
Seriously, I can't believe people are entertaining the idea of the AFL . . . the f***ing AFL . . . to decide what's best for St Kilda.

Fair dinkum. :roll:

That is the most outrageous & insulting suggestion I have ever heard from a club president.
The AFL would not be deciding...merely seeing whether their plan is credible.

The AFL has reviewed other clubs...if not all clubs....so why not????

Halo Halo

THANKS GUYS

I couldnt hear the Butterss (and the current board) press confrence - so firstly thanks for the thread & letting me (and the others who couldnt listen) know what was happening!!

It seems the confrence was pretty much what I expected!! Maybe I have already made up my mind, maybe I made it up years ago actually, but I feel a change would be good!

At the end of the day I unsderstand that football is a business BUT like any good business you have to: (a) spend money to be successful
(b) respect & look after those who look after you.. And on both these count I think the current board fail to do this!!

westernsaint

Thanks to all you guys for posting all of this information as it emerges. Obviously, over here in the West, the only concern is for Benny Cousins and the rest Of the Wet Toast Egirls. It is a little interesting that we have to come to such a messy position to learn some of the lesser known activities of the board. Things such as not spending enough on the football department and the general infrastructure required to let us compete equally with our inferior rivals. I think that the board should be a lot more accountable to all members of the club

I'm livin' in a madhouse