Changes for next week..

clarke wont be dropped.

edited by mods

The question is whether or not the coaches stick to their guns while we are still a chance to play finals.

They have over the last few weeks picked the side which they believe to be the strongest.

Last night a few of their selections didn't perform as they could of.

Lyon's comment "I might have to bite my tongue a bit and review it on Monday" may allude to this.

To they keep the side relatively unchanged for Fremantle or go the chop now?

Personally, and I know most would disagree, I think this line-up deserves one more try.

Drop only those who are injured (and certainly not Rix as he played like a champion last night).

Play Freo - win, continue with line-up.

Lose - say hello to Barry and his disciples.

Fortius Quo Fidelius Yo
TimeToShineFellas

Otiman wrote: In: Voss*, Brooks*, McQualter, Watts*, Ferguson, Birss, Thompson
Out: X. Clarke, Jones, L. Fisher, Attard, Gilbert+, Gehrig, Blake.

Voss for X. Clarke
Brooks for Blake
McQualter for Attard
Watts for Gehrig
Ferguson For Gilbert+
Birss for Jones
Thompson for L. Fisher
Umm....... somehow can't see 7 changes myself.

In: Birss for Jones - how Jones retained his position last week is still bewildering me - did nothing last night to vindicate his retention.

In addition, I would also select Voss and omit Leigh Fisher. He could be a real X factor up forward next week.....

FWIW I agree with saintspremiers - X won't be dropped, no matter how much his inaccuracy hurt us with such gettable goals

There were numerous players who disgraced the St Kilda football club last night, but for all we know the only out might be Gilbo. Hopefully Lyon wakes up and realises that certain players just aren't good enough and actually rewards the kids in the reserves for playing outstanding footy.

I would like to see

OUT: Gilbert (inj), Rix, Jones, L.Fisher, Gehrig (rest)
IN: Ferguson, Brooks, Birss, Thompson, Watts

B: Ferguson, Hudghton, Attard
HB: Gram, Maguire, S.Fisher
C: Montagna, Hayes, X.Clarke
HF: Harvey, Riewoldt, Birss
F: Milne, Koschitzke, Watts

Foll: Brooks, Ball, Dal Santo
Int: Baker, Blake, Fiora, Thompson

Emg: Voss, M.Clarke, McQualter

We aren't really losing anything (apart from Gilbert) making those changes, but could potentially gain quite a bit. Brooks would be able to hold his own against Warnock, Watts would be too big for Freo's third defender, Birss and Thommo add a lot of run and grunt into our midfield while Ferg just takes Gilbert's place. The guys who come into the side would all be absolutlely desperate to impress and would give 100% rather than the usual fringe players who are content to get a few kicks so they keep their spot.

I am worried that we might see the usual weak as piss Ross Lyon changes, eg...
OUT: Gilbert (inj)
IN: Voss

But hopefully he realises that we aren't going anywhere with our current team.

So lets see if I have this right...

The Swans are now running themselves into the form that got them into the last 2 grand finals...

That for much of the game the Saints were competitive....and indeed if X Clarke had not missed 3 simple goals....and the Swans not got some real gifts such as the free against dal...that the Saints would have won..

...and yet we should panic and make 5 changes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

If you look at the game in a positive light:

Sydney received 4 goals from free-kicks, at least 2 of which were questionable.

Additionally, they received 2 goals from blatantly incorrect decisions (a mark paid that shouldn't have been, and a terrible holding the ball decision).

Add Xavier Clarke's awful miss to that equation, and we have emerged victorious against a team that looks like playing off in it's 3rd grand final in a row.

(I don't think my glasses can get anymore rose coloured!!)

saintsRrising wrote:The Swans are now running themselves into the form that got them into the last 2 grand finals...

That for much of the game the Saints were competitive....and indeed if X Clarke had not missed 3 simple goals....and the Swans not got some real gifts such as the free against dal...that the Saints would have won..

...and yet we should panic and make 5 changes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Regardless of how close we were at half time, we still played crap footy and half the team contributed next to nothing. When that happens, you make changes.

saintspremiers wrote:clarke wont be dropped.

the useless SOAB will get yet another undeserved chance.
This is an unwarranted attack on the player and his family and should be removed by the mods !!

TimeToShineFellas wrote:Umm....... somehow can't see 7 changes myself.
Read the whole post next time mate.

mad saint guy wrote: I would like to see

OUT: Gilbert (inj), .....
Wash your mouth out!

Oh When the Saints wrote:If you look at the game in a positive light:

IF

(I don't think my glasses can get anymore rose coloured!!)

And if the crowd didn't run on the ground in 04.. and... and...

IF is such a dirty word.

luckysaint

saintspremiers wrote:clarke wont be dropped.

the useless SOAB will get yet another undeserved chance.
This is an unwarranted attack on the player and his family and should be removed by the mods !!
lol, his family? That's a bit of a stretch

Otiman wrote:
mad saint guy wrote: I would like to see

OUT: Gilbert (inj), .....
Wash your mouth out!
I thought that might sound wrong when I wrote that.

IMO even if Gilbo only has a slight ACL/PCL/MCL strain or any other small knee injury he should be given the rest of the year off. His style of play puts a lot of pressure on his knees and if there was any chance that he could aggrevate a niggling knee injury he shouldn't play.

Cain Ackland went from being a serviceable backup ruckman to the complete hack we know today after a PCL strain.

Sam23

No way Gehrig can be dropped.

Is still a 3 goal a game FF and when we don't make him run up and down and up and down all match always kicks goals.

He's a match winner

Sam23 wrote:No way Gehrig can be dropped.

Is still a 3 goal a game FF and when we don't make him run up and down and up and down all match always kicks goals.

He's a match winner
That is correct. Drop him and replace with who. People will say Watts but last week he kicked 1 at FF in the seconds this week 7 . 3 weeks ago G kicked 6 in the Ones the main side. How easily we forget. by the way how many did Kosi kick with that style of footy, one, it give the fowards little or no hope unless you are a superstar like Rooy.

SaintDippa

Why have Brisbane been firing the past 6 weeks? A. Jonathan Brown in an open forward line and the 15 others moving it as fast as possible into the F50.

What can the Saints do? A. Riewolt in an open forward line and 15 others moving it as fast as possible into the F50. Sounds to simple. Gehrig, I'm sorry to say, is finished (mainly due to injuries - especially the foot resulting in no sharp sideways movements), the game has moved on.

Launcestonsaint
Location: Watching our games on tele or listening to the radio :(

Otiman wrote: Voss has been in our best players since he was dropped to the VFL.

Brooks had a slow start to the year, but has been in the bests 5 out of the last 6 weeks (possibly 6 of 7)

Watts was (only) averaging 2 goals per game before his 7 goal haul.

Sweeney is hot and cold, but was kicking more goals than Watts. Serious concern about his dedication and effort though.
Watts kicked 7 against the bottom team in the VFL who made changes to give younger players a go. The Tassie defence was no where near AFL standard.
Some of our local sides could beat the Tassie VFL team. :oops: :oops:

St Kilda's 2 premiership captains are Tassie born. The Doc & Roo.

Geez people on this sit sh1t the death out of me, one close loss in over one month against the team that made the last 2 grand finals in their home state on a ground that we have never played on and you want to drop half the side retire a few and shoot the coach. FFS we hang it on collingwood and cartlon supporters for being fair weathered but some of you are just pathetic. Where were you when G saved us from losing to carlton?? didnt see you asking him to retire then. Hope G kicks 10 this week so you can all shut the f*ck up.

mightysainters

X.CLARKE AND BLAKE!!!
Called this 2 weeks ago that we would be exposed because of these two ABSOLUTE DUDS!! get these two OUT they are terrible and embarassing... I can't believe last night still X.Clarke is slow, dimwitted, SOFT!, Clanger king and the same can be said to THE AWESOME TAGGER BLAKE pffft

mightysainters wrote:X.CLARKE AND BLAKE!!!
Called this 2 weeks ago that we would be exposed because of these two ABSOLUTE DUDS!! get these two OUT they are terrible and embarassing... I can't believe last night still X.Clarke is slow, dimwitted, SOFT!, Clanger king and the same can be said to THE AWESOME TAGGER BLAKE pffft
Drop them but leave in CJ, Rix and Attard. Yep that will work not.

my god

drop Gehrig?

laughable

obviously its alot easier to say "drop gehrig" than "drop the incompetent gameplan or incompetent players who have no idea how to deliver a balll quickly and effectivly into the forward line"

Gehrig not getting touches is the end result of the rest of the team not playing well

but on the stats sheet a midfielder gets 20 scrappy touches looks alot better than Gehrig getting 5 dangerous ones :roll:

Gehrig would have kicked 100 this season if he was playing for Geelong, cos they know how to play effective, smart football

SaintDippa

RL is more conservative than a jar of Strawberry Jam. Changes will depend on injuries. If Attard/Gilbert/{others pulling up sore} are OK then changes will be:

OUT: Jones
IN: Birss

IMO
OUT: Jones, Rix, Attard
IN: Voss, Brooks, Birss

Unforgiven

Out: Rix, and Jones (im a massive clint jones fan, but he's time is not now).

In: Brooks, Thomo

On the verge of being out: Xavier. I'd rather have anyone in the X atm.

Carpe Diem

Changes..drop out of form players for starters :Gehrig, XClarke, Milne and LFisher. Give our future players all the ground time necessary. C Jones is coming back from a serious shoulder injury, and he needs game time to get confidence and it will come. Bring in Watts and Voss at least, and anyone else as a reward for showing good consistant form in The Scorps. The hopeless forward line is one thing, but jeez, the onballers and midfielders need a big kick up the bum.

Launcestonsaint wrote:

Watts kicked 7 against the bottom team in the VFL who made changes to give younger players a go. The Tassie defence was no where near AFL standard.
Some of our local sides could beat the Tassie VFL team. :oops: :oops:
Ah...a voice of reason....

Casey knocks off the wooden spooners and suddely we want to elevate 5 players into our firsts....a team that just lost to a team that could well be playing off for a flag again this year...

a change or two..perhaps...but a swag = NO!!