Match Sim 1 vs Essendon

Re: Match Sim 1 vs Essendon

Anyone got a report on the later game

bergsone wrote: Fri 23 Feb 2024 9:34pm Anyone got a report on the later game
Heard some very good things about Shoenmaker and McClennan, while Collard kicked 3 and Hammer looked good.

Aeon shared this link

dunno , i don't have time for it at the mo

maybe some of u cats might
whilst its still relevant

https://www.viprow.nu/afl/st-kilda-sain ... e-stream-1

go Sainters

Tdog

Can anyone report on the second game? Cant find anything online

George27

I just watched replay of the main game.

Lots to like. Yes it was only a practice match, but all players were on the same page re the game plan, and execution was pretty good.

Bonner a skilful distributor off half back. Perhaps this will allow Sinclair to be released into mid field .

The Henry/ Hill combination electric.

Wilson looks like he will get Butler’s forward spot for round 1 , and make Dan work to regain it when fit.

Garcia did well as back-up tagger, adding to our depth.

Campbell as second ruck. Will RTB keep him for round 1, or rely on Owens to give Roma a rest ?

No wonder we got done out of the midfield. Pou played in there all game and had just 14 disposals (only 4 kicks) and Garcia played in there from half way through the 1st and he had just 6 touches.

If we don’t get some reinforcements back in there this week we could get smashed in there by the likes of LDU and Wardlaw. Not that it matters a lot.

An interesting one was was Mitch Owens. Had just the 7 touches according to the stats online. For much of last year he was playing as one of our main marking targets up forward, and did really well, but with Max, Skunk and Sharman in there yesterday, Mitch was probably being largely bypassed, which raises the question of whether we’re going to be wasting his talent and attributes if he’s the 4th-banana there, rather than developing as a contested beast in the midfield.

While we seem really keen to have the younger Pou playing in the midfield, yet if yesterday is anything to go by, he still looks a ways off it.

Any info on Keeler

Practice matches are given that title for a reason.

Because they are no more than a bit of practice. An opportunity for clubs to try a few things and some new players as well.

So what do we make of St Kilda v Essendon?

Well, for a start ignore the scoreboard. It will have zero input into how we will really go when the real competition starts.

I’m not even going to talk about the players missing from both clubs.

So, was there reason to be optimistic? Maybe.

Some of the things we tried came off. The evidence was plain to see that the coaches are working on a game plan that involves speed of ball movement and disposal that hits its target.

We were certainly much better than last season and that’s a good omen.

We tried some new players and they performed, which hopefully will give the selectors some major headaches for round 1.

King, Sharman, Membrey and Higgins were all potent forwards and accounted for the majority of our scoreline. It was good to see all of them kicking a bundle and looking fitter and stronger.

From what I take from the replay, our counter attack out of defence remains strong but centre clearances are still a weakness. We’re missing that bullocking inside mid to give us first use. Hopefully addressed when Dow is fit to play. That’s the principal reason why he was recruited.

Clearly, we are heading in the right direction and it’s a good sign. We play NM next Sunday.

NM appear to be playing a similar fast run on style to St Kilda which one of the North players optimistically called ‘Northball.’

Somewhat over stating it in my view.

The Kangas had a big win over the Premiership Pies, who were minus 9 of their very best and another three of their best only playing one half of footy.

Next week will again be an opportunity to take the pulse of our footy team.

Hopefully the players can continue moving in the right direction.

I know it’s only a Prac match but ess will struggle this season and we will play finals

Take it to the bank

Does anyone know how keeler went?

The Fireman wrote: Sat 24 Feb 2024 3:40pm I know it’s only a Prac match but ess will struggle this season and we will play finals

Take it to the bank

Does anyone know how keeler went?
Have read re Keeler:

Positives: Took a couple of intercept marks. Has insane athleticism for his size and moves more like a “flanker”. At one stage he apparently kicked the ball to someone and followed up his kick to get the handball receive, then dished it off to someone else and followed it up to get another handball receive, all the while leaving his opponent in his wake.

Negative: Still has plenty to learn about how to play the key defender role, as is to be expected.

Have heard absolutely rave reviews about Schoenmakers game though. Apparently took intercept mark after intercept mark (including one in the dying seconds in their goalsquare to save the game) and of course has a lethal weapon of a left boot.

Scoop

The Fireman wrote: Sat 24 Feb 2024 3:40pm Does anyone know how keeler went?
Showed a bit. Took a few marks...one a ripper over the top of the pack. Is good below his knees. Turned it over a couple of times. Looks more confident playing down back. Plenty to work with.

The one that got my excitement levels up was Arie. His 2nd half was excellent. Marked everything that came near him...including one in the final seconds of the game that ensured Sandy's win. And his kicking, both long and short is magnificent!

Extra! Extra! Read all about it......no I don't want to read about it anymore!!!

AnythingsPossibleSaints wrote: Sat 24 Feb 2024 11:48am An interesting one was was Mitch Owens. Had just the 7 touches according to the stats online. For much of last year he was playing as one of our main marking targets up forward, and did really well, but with Max, Skunk and Sharman in there yesterday, Mitch was probably being largely bypassed, which raises the question of whether we’re going to be wasting his talent and attributes if he’s the 4th-banana there, rather than developing as a contested beast in the midfield.

While we seem really keen to have the younger Pou playing in the midfield, yet if yesterday is anything to go by, he still looks a ways off it.
Surely the plan long term is to get him going through the midfield, you would think.

Yes, he loves a goal, but he will be able to do that from the midfield.

His timing looked a bit off yesterday. Will be interesting to see what role he is in by season’s end.

Problem for us is the players showing something have no spot to break into. Keeler and Arie - who do they displace in defense? And if not now, when?

Otiman wrote: Sat 24 Feb 2024 11:39pm Problem for us is the players showing something have no spot to break into. Keeler and Arie - who do they displace in defense? And if not now, when?
Its a good problem to have it keeps the pressure on the boys in the seniors whilst these kids continue to develop. I agree with others I would swap or rotate Owens with Phillipou through the midfield. We need a physical bull at centre clearances and Mitch fills the role, even if he doesnt win possession he creates space for others.

Although when Crouch, Clark, Jones and Dow return the centre clearance void mighten be such an issue. Apart from Steele's around the ground efforts our midfield was beaten by Essendon's at clearances, heres hoping we become much better in that aspect of our game. It would take a lot of pressure off our defence and our reliance on winning intercepts across the HB line.

Yes we will look a much better side with Crouch and Dow in there. Jones and Clark are upgrades on the players we had in the side but IMO they will find it hard to break in as we prioritise Pou and WIndy's development.

Sounds like Schoey could be an absolute cracker but he’s probably best suited to the 3rd-tall intercepting role down back and if we’re being honest that is the role that both Wilkie and Battle are probably most ideally suited to, so it’s hard to see an obvious opening for Schoey for the foreseeable future. Unless he takes Howard’s place in the team and we go super-short back there.

We have the firepower up forward, but we need that midfield to step up a bit and get the ball to the forwards cleanly- one the reasons we weren't kicking big enough scores last season. Couldn't see evidence in the praccy match of much difference to last season, as Essendon got it out a bit too easy at centre bounces and looked a bit quicker. We still look a bit slow in the middle.

Tdog wrote: Sat 24 Feb 2024 9:15am Can anyone report on the second game? Cant find anything online
Credit to saintjunior
Bigfooty Saints Player review (Sandy match sim vs Bombers)
By Saintjunior

Hung around and watched Sandy game

Goals were as follows
Collard 3
Hammer 2
Campbell , Brown, O’Leary , Lowe, 1 each

My thoughts on individuals was

Collard - lively, kicked a fantastic goal . Run down from behind tackle resulting in a goal . Think the run down from behind will be his go at the moment as was shrugged off multiple times front on just doesn’t have the strength yet.

Keeler - absolute ridiculous athletic ability for his size. Took a nice mark down back but almost plays like a half bank flanker the way he takes off . At one stage kicked the ball kept running for the hands hit the hands and kept going to be the hands again. Opponent could not go with him .Needs to be kept down back to learn positioning and when to go and when not to .

Cordy - typical Cordy game a few marks resonance ball use but most importantly really good with his instruction down back particularly to Keeler.

Hastie - Didn’t rack it up but looks a player . Tough, quick and used ball well and nearly took a ripping mark. Really impressed with what I saw. Just a smooth clean footballer

Arie - boy oh boy. Absolutely took the piss played well first half but dominated the second half . His kicking is a weapon but his intercept marking reminded me of Wilkie . Could not have been any more impressed . Marked the ball almost on the siren to save the game reckon he would have been close to 8 intercept marks . Also worked hard and could have been used a few more times by his teammates.

Allison - I don’t want to bash him but just don’t see it . Can clearly run, but don’t think he has much game sense and just drops too many marks . Played as a half forward didn’t hit the scorecard and just makes too many errors .

Garcia - poor bugger was cooked was cramping in first downing pickle juice when he came off on multiple occasions . But he has something such a competitor and his mix of speed and endurance is going to be a weapon.

Campbell - kicked a goal and just too good for this level . Such a good pro to have around

Hotton - will say that I was a fan in his under 18 year . Hardly noticed him had forgotten he was playing though the Sandringham mids showed more .

McLennan - played really well , multiple intercept marks , plenty of dash and good ball user . One error where he missed an easy kick but other than that looked really good.

O’Connell - made a near fatal error by kicking back into corridor with only 20 or so seconds left . But looks a good athlete and is a nice kick . Will need time to learn game but plenty to work with .

Caminiti - kicked a couple . Came off and had his right hand checked in the first half. Took some nice marks but would love to see h lead up at the ball a bit more . Most of the day he was jumping from the back of a pack . Another who is probably too good for this level

Disappointing to read about Hotton. He was one I have high hopes for

Allison been with us for 3 yrs?
His report in this match resembles his other Sandy games.
Seems to be underperforming

Otiman wrote: Sat 24 Feb 2024 11:39pm Problem for us is the players showing something have no spot to break into. Keeler and Arie - who do they displace in defense? And if not now, when?
For Arie it’s a problem in the context that he doesn’t have a spot in rd1 of his first season and for Keeler it’s rd1 of his first season where he hasn’t started with a big injury.

Seems likely that both will get their chance

skeptic wrote: Mon 26 Feb 2024 11:14am
For Arie it’s a problem in the context that he doesn’t have a spot in rd1 of his first season and for Keeler it’s rd1 of his first season where he hasn’t started with a big injury.

Seems likely that both will get their chance
A back line without Howard would need Van Es to come on. Means Keeler and Arie are fighting for spots against AA FB Wilkie, and career best form Battle.

Pou was the most disappointing player for me, he was given an opportunity in the midfield and he struggled to have an impact.
He’ll need to do a hell of a lot more against the Roos on Sunday, if he wants to play in round 1.