DFC

Re: DFC

Vortex wrote: Sat 20 Jan 2024 9:13am
CQ SAINT wrote: Sat 20 Jan 2024 8:52am

I ran independent free training camps, funded by grants and sponsorship.

I should have charged. Lol
Absolutely you should have charged and big.

Then you could find clients who could pay big by offering government subsidises to clients who qualify for [Insert social welfare cause] susbsidies. You then should have bought on commercial "partners" to provide a wide range of subsidised services. And of coarse you would be a major share holder in the business of your commercial "partners".

Not only would you be double and triple dipping into rivers of government subsidies, you'd be receiving healthy dividends from your commercial "partners".

It's a beautiful thing.

If you ever need some ideas on good business planning read the book by Michael Warner titled the The Boy's Club.
Lol. I had a little side thing going on. Love of the game and all that you know.

The product I was developing in those camps was not very marketable Vort. Not unless you were able to seek seed funding via Child Safety, Youth Justice and the queensland policy force. Get them 3 on board and the funding streaming through indigenous development budgets opened up for something other than residential groupings of troubled teens.

We all know the disastrous effect that can have on any community but those archaic systems are still at play and making me and others like me rich.

I run my policies and procedure to match their. I just don't remove kids from their history, hoping they can advance it and have it repeat on them.

But this isn't about me or you.

It's for the love of the game.

I ran leadership camps, just prior to every AFL season and then designed programs that got kids where they needed to be to engage socially with there community, where ever they fit in. If someone had of given me a boarding school maybe I'd have a player management company

Football clubs are very tight communities and all that really matters at the end of the day, is winning. Loyal losers are still winners in my book, but I agree, don't walk passed the endless cookie jar for pack of pretzels and a beer.

Does Australia make a distinction between a Non-Profit Organisation and a Not-For-Profit Organisation and what are the benefits of becoming incorporated - actually what does 'incorporated' even mean? I assume it is for tax purposes?

shanegrambeau wrote: Sun 21 Jan 2024 5:54pm Does Australia make a distinction between a Non-Profit Organisation and a Not-For-Profit Organisation and what are the benefits of becoming incorporated - actually what does 'incorporated' even mean? I assume it is for tax purposes?
Yes Shane there is a difference.

In a brief description, one serves the public through a volunteer board has access to massive tax free income and asset acquisition.

The other serves the goals of the owner through provsion of services to the public.

Both types of organisations tender for the same work in my industry.

I partner with not for profits and for profits to supply assets they can't afford, but can pay off for those who can.

There is currently a massive need for housing and Government funding and NGO (non government organisations) NFPO can deliver subsidised rent.

Companies like the Endeavour foundation build houses as a charity and raffle them off to build more in cheaper areas.

Then they can offer board and lodgings, from the clients independent income (pension) at subsidised rates and grow their wealth that way. It was a response to institutionalisation of the sick, disabled and needy.

They can split divisions across there company I.e. run a charity, invest as a NFPO in housing, and provide fee for service in those house, for profit.

Wages in the industry have been notoriously low so the tax benefits are huge but that has changed and the charities and churches are losing there grip and I know support workers earning $3000 a week in teams of 5 people, who stole clients from NGO's and rent a house from me.

I've set a few of these up and stole clients and staff from NGO's when the NDIS took over from Disability Services Queensland, who I worked for, for 10 years from the mid 90's.

Its a lot of cost, work and hours getting it going but I wouldn't bother with all that NFP stuff.

I just set up people who want to earn $60 and hour, plus penalties which is nearly twice the award.

Getting an executive wage out of Endeavour is like finding gold.

Its a scam and kept churches and charities going when people woke up to what was going on and got rid of all the clergymen and non ordained brothers and sisters running amok from the 30's until the 80's.

My old Catholic College doesn't have one person of the cloth working in it at all and they had to partner with tafe to be relevant.

The rich get richer and the poor get the picture
But the bombs never hit ya, when your down do low.

It was a free ride for Christianity and their local do-gooder societies and committees.

A rouse.

The churches are 100% scammers of their NFP and tax free exeptions, globally.

And the AFL follow their handbook religiously.

The 100% tax free exemption the AFL enjoys is outrageous when you get across how it is manipulated.

The Vatican and the AFL have a lot in common when it comes to using religion to make obscene amounts of money.

Like I said earlier, Richard Goyder would have called Rupert immediately to have the journalist who wrote the DFC article cut off at the knees, they don't won't anyone knowing how their goose lays golden eggs.

CQ SAINT wrote: Sun 21 Jan 2024 9:39pm
shanegrambeau wrote: Sun 21 Jan 2024 5:54pm Does Australia make a distinction between a Non-Profit Organisation and a Not-For-Profit Organisation and what are the benefits of becoming incorporated - actually what does 'incorporated' even mean? I assume it is for tax purposes?

I partner with not for profits and for profits to supply assets they can't afford, but can pay off for those who can.

It was a free ride for Christianity and their local do-gooder societies and committees.

Oh my golly, good gushing goodness

My brain is so damaged and cynical, so bereft of belief that people are not gonna spare one percentile of their security in a dog-eat-dog world, where the parking attendant needs to reach her monthly target to get Christmas off, where the parking metres are supplied by buddies of the local this or that ...etc., etc., I can't for the life of me think that the average Australian, if they knew the inner workings of such schemes, particularly from a tax perspective would ironically not be both appalled and surprised at the same time.

I am a nihilist..broken completely into dust. Even paranoid. But the industry of building and construction to me is already so dodgy, to pile that on with development and local government and then layer this into a matrix of dubious dodginess that must be this NPO and NFPO stuff, I can't imagine the conceits needed to make these operations...eh...profitable. (pardon the pun)

BUt here is teh thing. People suspect it is dodgy, so the media can make a quick n fast scandal out of a wiff of fumes.

And I know churches and religious organs are an easy target for shaming, but all in all, the whole set up of NFP0 vs FP vs NPO looks like a giant hotbed of corruption, anti-competitivenss, scamming, tax avoidance

shanegrambeau wrote: Mon 22 Jan 2024 12:28pm
CQ SAINT wrote: Sun 21 Jan 2024 9:39pm

Oh my golly, good gushing goodness

My brain is so damaged and cynical, so bereft of belief that people are not gonna spare one percentile of their security in a dog-eat-dog world, where the parking attendant needs to reach her monthly target to get Christmas off, where the parking metres are supplied by buddies of the local this or that ...etc., etc., I can't for the life of me think that the average Australian, if they knew the inner workings of such schemes, particularly from a tax perspective would ironically not be both appalled and surprised at the same time.

I am a nihilist..broken completely into dust. Even paranoid. But the industry of building and construction to me is already so dodgy, to pile that on with development and local government and then layer this into a matrix of dubious dodginess that must be this NPO and NFPO stuff, I can't imagine the conceits needed to make these operations...eh...profitable. (pardon the pun)

BUt here is teh thing. People suspect it is dodgy, so the media can make a quick n fast scandal out of a wiff of fumes.

And I know churches and religious organs are an easy target for shaming, but all in all, the whole set up of NFP0 vs FP vs NPO looks like a giant hotbed of corruption, anti-competitivenss, scamming, tax avoidance
Shane, you should calm the F...down.
A lot of good is done
A lot of people have good intentions and hope for the best, knowing that things aren't as 'clean' as you purport to be shocked that they are not..as...
These people have courage and are contributing.
What are YOU doing?

Fair enough. (Slithers away into nearest shadow)

I just don’t see how the DFC contributes to StK winning a premiership?

I mean, from a club point of view what’s the point of it?!

B.M wrote: Mon 22 Jan 2024 9:15pm I just don’t see how the DFC contributes to StK winning a premiership?

I'm not sure. I think it aroused quite a bit of interest when the funding for our first class facilities, was being sought.

Now it's joint intitiatives, lead by specialist in wellbeing and fitness, are funding the promotion of junior football development between our training centres, delivering leadership training, community engagement programs and interst in health and fitness benefits for school-aged kids, at fee for service charges no less, employing players and coaching staff to supplement their and our income.

It is lifting the profile of our club, hence the dirty jibes from the Herald Sun, itself of course, a bastion of morality and social cohesion.

If you can't see the point of it, that's understandable.

If you have had all of the information and services generated because of it, ut in front of you and you dont wont to acknowledge it, that's understandable too.

Not sure why you bother to comment, but that too is understandable given your track record.

Why don't you just say you thinks it's a waste of time and we should close the doors, go back to Frankston and dwell at the bottom of the ladder forever.

This ain't Kansas Toto.

You dont get to be a big club in the AFL without generating income and development in the name of the game.

B.M wrote: Mon 22 Jan 2024 9:15pm I just don’t see how the DFC contributes to StK winning a premiership?

No one has ever suggested that establishing a welfare centre at Moorabbin in memory of a club great who suffered severe depression from serious head traumas while playing for St Kilda was ever intended to contribute to the Saints winning a second premiership.

From a club perspective it pays respect to Danny Frawley's immense contribution as both a player and in his post footy media career to St Kilda FC!

The Herald Sun journalist who wrote disparaging comments about the relationship between the club and DFC without checking on the facts beforehand should rightly be condemned...I'm not sure if the paper has published a correction and apology, but they certainly should.

Sanctorum wrote: Tue 23 Jan 2024 11:46am

No one has ever suggested that establishing a welfare centre at Moorabbin in memory of a club great who suffered severe depression from serious head traumas while playing for St Kilda was ever intended to contribute to the Saints winning a second premiership.

The DFC is a club resource used by the players who are in pursuit of a premiership.

Vortex wrote: Tue 23 Jan 2024 7:42pm

The DFC is a club resource used by the players who are in pursuit of a premiership.
What's that supposed to mean??

My understanding is that the DFC serves as a community centre catering predominantly to individuals who suffer from mental illness.

I very much doubt that there will be many active St Kilda players that will utlise DFC's services. St Kilda, in common with most AFL clubs have in-house psychologists dealing with any psychological problems of it's players.

Whilst having a center for mental health in the name of a beloved club icon is a good idea, (many levels IMO), to your question, well I think it’s about community and politics and viability of the club.

St Kilda needs local, state, federal and AFL money and grants and favours just to exists and have a patch to train on. So the DFC no doubt stakes our claim in Moorabbin for the a bit longer than otherwise.

So

Some councilor grumbles, ‘Bloody football club, get rid of ‘em…and their pokies’

And his buddy says,

‘Steady on mate. Thanks to the DFC we are getting state money for the marina maintenance and new golf bags’

‘Oh fair enough then’

Why do some people have to put s*** on what is really something good?

If I start praying now, will that improve our chances.?

The Fireman wrote: Wed 24 Jan 2024 1:52pm If I start praying now, will that improve our chances.?
Well, it won't do any harm.

Stop telling me what it does - that’s obvious

But tell me how it directly relates us to winning a second premiership

I’m not interested in community benefits - we are not a community club - we are an elite sporting organisation

outside66

Well it's got a pretty good recovery pool for starters that the players use a fair bit so I'd say that would help. It has a big focus on reintegrating and looking after past players where, in the long run, will be a significant driver in creating a culture that breeds an additional incentive for buy-in by the broader current and future playing groups. I'm sure there are lots of additional benefits that will help us get that second flag which we aren't privy too. Not sure how anyone can see the DFC as a negative though.

It’s not a negative (as long as it doesn’t distract?)

I mentioned the pool and the stand.

I want a direct link between the DFC and the players getting better. Helping us win more games.

I don’t give a rats about supporting Jo Blow down the street

So what would a direct link look like ?

skeptic wrote: Wed 24 Jan 2024 7:33pm So what would a direct link look like ?
Rivers of gold in the form of revenue from the DFC.

No doubt that the DFC is doing good things in the mental health space but it also serves the interests of the club and AFL.

It's called a win-win.

Each side gets to leverage from the other side.

The club is leveraging from Danny's brand and his mental health legacy and the DFC is leveraging from the club and AFLs brand.

Everyone wins. It's how it works.

And the government kicks in some support so it can leverage also.

Win-win-win.
Last edited by Vortex on Wed 24 Jan 2024 9:48pm, edited 2 times in total.

From a club perspective it pays respect to Danny Frawley's immense contribution as both a player and in his post footy media career to St Kilda FC!

The Herald Sun journalist who wrote disparaging comments about the relationship between the club and DFC without checking on the facts beforehand should rightly be condemned...I'm not sure if the paper has published a correction and apology, but they certainly should.
See response in post above this one to Skeppers.

B.M wrote: Wed 24 Jan 2024 5:47pm It’s not a negative (as long as it doesn’t distract?)

I mentioned the pool and the stand.

I want a direct link between the DFC and the players getting better. Helping us win more games.

I don’t give a rats about supporting Jo Blow down the street
There would be no funding for the elite training facilities without it. Why you can't see that is mystifying. As I discussed, it claer at $2600 a year it isn't viable as public fitness centre.

Irregardless, just the connection to such a facility would be a huge benefits both physically and mentally to the players.

Then there is the work done by our former sports psychologist that you praised. It looks good but the reality is, the facilities make us elite, not the psychology.

The psychology aspects, the breathing, the visualisation of technique and success, is a minor benefits in scheme of things. You ARE just being negative, well perhaps just contrary and argumentative. Play on.

The StK training facilities were built before the DFC funding.

Dr Ben Robbins worked for StK before the DfC was built and worked for StK FC not the DFC

Link to me seems to be the pool - that’s it!

Maybe money - if we are charging for its use?

The grand stand is nice - but doesn’t make us a better team

B.M wrote: Wed 24 Jan 2024 2:05pm Stop telling me what it does - that’s obvious

But tell me how it directly relates us to winning a second premiership

I’m not interested in community benefits - we are not a community club - we are an elite sporting organisation
Why does it have to relate to St Kilda winning another premiership, I can't think of anyone who has ever suggested it should or could???

It's quite irrational to suggest the DFC to somehow in some mysterious fashion have an impact on the St Kilda team's on-field performance, they are two separate entities occupying the Linton Street oval, nothing more.

Most AFL teams are both elite sporting organisations and active participants in their local communities, the two go hand in hand.