Jack Bytel training with Collingwood

Good luck Jack.

https://www.afl.com.au/news/1066756/col ... sp-opening

Collingwood has three spots open on the rookie list and can trial up to six players at one time this summer, with the club expected to fill two of them and leave one open for next year's Mid-Season Rookie Draft.

Oscar Steene and Oleg Markov were both added to the rookie list during last year's window

Re: Jack Bytel training with Collingwood

Good luck to him. Hope his body holds up and he can finally get himself AFL fit.

Good luck to Jack hopefully he gets another chance. Obviously Collingwoood are looking for some back up inside types after losing Taylor Adams.

D.B.Cooper

One man’s trash is another’s treasure.

The kid can play footy, just lacks the running power our club now craves and isn’t going to play in front of Steele, Crouch, Ross & Clark as none of those guys would be deemed particularly fleet of foot.

I hope he gets another crack at it.

There's only one rule in the jungle! When the LYON's hungry, he eats!

Good luck to him

Good player - too good for VFL

Wouldn’t shock me if he went on to be a solid AFL player

Goodl uck Jack. Maybe the filth will appreciate your footy skills a bit more than the Saints did.

He certainly won't hurt their VFL sides chances.

I posted this accidentally on the Sincs I thought that with Tassie coming online that fringe players in the 23-26 age range, those who have had a run, but been delisted (Bytel, Highmore, King next year - just kidding about the last one) these players should stay in the mix and clubs should be encouraged to keep them training - somehow !! Expand the lists?

D.B.Cooper

CQ SAINT wrote: Sat 25 Nov 2023 11:37am He certainly won't hurt their VFL sides chances.
That is a very good point.

Hustwaite is fielding huge local offers and is seen as a future coach at what level I don’t know.

It’s now highly unlikely he’ll stay at Collingwood VFL if he doesn’t get an AFL list opportunity.

Bytel could be that VFL replacement and provide AFL depth if listed.

A couple of vg VFL players as AFL depth if you have the right list profile certainly aids the strength of your VFL team helping build a winning culture in your reserves.

There's only one rule in the jungle! When the LYON's hungry, he eats!

D.B.Cooper wrote: Sun 26 Nov 2023 6:40am
CQ SAINT wrote: Sat 25 Nov 2023 11:37am He certainly won't hurt their VFL sides chances.
That is a very good point.

Hustwaite is fielding huge local offers and is seen as a future coach at what level I don’t know.

It’s now highly unlikely he’ll stay at Collingwood VFL if he doesn’t get an AFL list opportunity.

Bytel could be that VFL replacement and provide AFL depth if listed.

A couple of vg VFL players as AFL depth if you have the right list profile certainly aids the strength of your VFL team helping build a winning culture in your reserves.
Good thing for Jack that he got taken off the injury dung heap and got given enough time, even if it was in the VFL, to prove he is durable, even if he didn't live up to his preinjury impact. He still had a huge crack.

Perhaps if we don't recruit injured footballers anymore, we can actually develop some with a full list.

footynut

Really it's never been his durability, his ability to get the pill or his skill level that's been a problem. It's always been his speed from the contest, and the amount of similar types of players at st.kilda.
His qualities could be massively amplified at Collingwood. Tell me to get the ball in the contest, then handball it out to one of their many running skillful players. Hmmmm

NickyDal

We should never had got rid of Bytel. In the right environment he will be a gun. When you consider that Seb Ross is nearly 31 the decision to delist Bytel is even more stupid than at first glance.

NeXus Nick
:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

He's been at St Kilda 5 years and played 25 games. How much more time does he need. Maybe he needs to win the B&F in the VFL comp to get noticed.

Had injuries at the wrong time

And few injuries over the years to Crouch, Steele, Ross

Has dominated VFL every time I watched

magnifisaint wrote: Mon 27 Nov 2023 8:29pm He's been at St Kilda 5 years and played 25 games. How much more time does he need. Maybe he needs to win the B&F in the VFL comp to get noticed.
Correct
Can’t keep em all
In a side struggling for midfielders in 5 years he couldn’t break in
Move on

We had similar (established) types
Ross - dual B&F
Steele - dual B&F
Crouch - B&F (Crows)

They are all good AFL players

Collingwood have probably 1 similar type
Mitchell

DeGoey is a power mid/fwd
Daicos is a runner

Jack will do well with the premiers.

Ginnivan must be upset.

B.M wrote: Wed 29 Nov 2023 10:40am We had similar (established) types
Ross - dual B&F
Steele - dual B&F
Crouch - B&F (Crows)

They are all good AFL players

Collingwood have probably 1 similar type
Mitchell

DeGoey is a power mid/fwd
Daicos is a runner
Mmm
That’s just it isn’t it?
Kinda perplexing.

Ross Hunter etc., consistently chosen ahead of him.
I couldn’t work out what it was, but it must have been something. As someone said here, ‘he jut couldn’t ‘breakaway and burst’ ..maybe that’s it.

Good chance Jack will join a select group.

Former Saints players to win a premiership with another AFL club.

Early in Ross mk2 era, in a game poised, the ball was switched to Jack well clear on the half back line, the players ahead spread and gave him good options, regulation goal 90% probable. Jack dropped the no pressure mark, fumbled the ground ball, chance gone, Jack card noted. It was a poor effort in the heat of battle. Good luck to him if he can get another chance.

Yorkeys wrote: Wed 29 Nov 2023 5:21pm Early in Ross mk2 era, in a game poised, the ball was switched to Jack well clear on the half back line, the players ahead spread and gave him good options, regulation goal 90% probable. Jack dropped the no pressure mark, fumbled the ground ball, chance gone, Jack card noted. It was a poor effort in the heat of battle. Good luck to him if he can get another chance.
And I witnessed him doing hundreds if not thousands of skillful moves playing VFL football with Sandringham.

No player at StK made any errors last season?

Pretty sure I saw a number of players fk up

Possibly the worst
Mattaus Phillipou on the wing vs GWS in the elimination final.
He dropped a mark, fumbled, had the ball stripped and didn’t chase. GWS goal which broke our back

But I don’t judge a player on one action - nor should you

Yorkeys wrote: Wed 29 Nov 2023 5:21pm Early in Ross mk2 era, in a game poised, the ball was switched to Jack well clear on the half back line, the players ahead spread and gave him good options, regulation goal 90% probable. Jack dropped the no pressure mark, fumbled the ground ball, chance gone, Jack card noted. It was a poor effort in the heat of battle. Good luck to him if he can get another chance.
Wow! You plucked out one moment and somehow in your mind that defines a player does it?

Have a look at the clanger column next time we play. You'll find some of our best players have 4 or more of these against their name.

Who can forget when Higgins dropped a simple chest mark 10 minutes into the last quarter in Round 11. We were 20 points up if I recall and Higgins was on his own 15 metres out and... he forget to mark the footy ...Plus he forgot to defend when they played on from the resultant behind

Obviously Snags was still thinking about how he would have celebrated after playing on and kicking the sealer. IF he'd marked it! :? :oops:

We lost the game with the Hawks kicking the last 5 goals.

There are thousands of similar incidents where players stuff up or fumble or drop their heads when marking. It happened to Jack Sinclair in the final.

As BM and others have outlined he unfortunately got injured a couple of times and it derailed his opportunities. The cut and infection to his knee was just as much the club's negligence as it was his own personal bad luck.

Jack was never going to replace Hill or Wood or Mich Owens, but I guarantee you Bytel could have easily replaced Crouch or Sebby or Gresham for a dozen games in 2023

Scollop wrote: Wed 29 Nov 2023 6:06pm
Wow! You plucked out one moment and somehow in your mind that defines a player does it?

Have a look at the clanger column next time we play. You'll find some of our best players have 4 or more of these against their name.

Who can forget when Higgins dropped a simple chest mark 10 minutes into the last quarter in Round 11. We were 20 points up if I recall and Higgins was on his own 15 metres out and... he forget to mark the footy ...Plus he forgot to defend when they played on from the resultant behind

Obviously Snags was still thinking about how he would have celebrated after playing on and kicking the sealer. IF he'd marked it! :? :oops:

We lost the game with the Hawks kicking the last 5 goals.

There are thousands of similar incidents where players stuff up or fumble or drop their heads when marking. It happened to Jack Sinclair in the final.

As BM and others have outlined he unfortunately got injured a couple of times and it derailed his opportunities. The cut and infection to his knee was just as much the club's negligence as it was his own personal bad luck.

Jack was never going to replace Hill or Wood or Mich Owens, but I guarantee you Bytel could have easily replaced Crouch or Sebby or Gresham for a dozen games in 2023
You guys need to fix the hair triggers. I am ambivalent about Jack being cut. It was just a telling moment for him. I imagine it registered with the coaches. Conversely you may be spot on, it was an inconsequential aberration and otherwise Jack was largely very good and so harshly treated. But if you shine when the spotlight is on you do your chances no harm.