Strength & Loyalty Program thoughts?

Re: Strength & Loyalty Program thoughts?

He’s got mates? Ha , now you know he’s feeding you bs 😊

CQ SAINT wrote: Sun 19 Nov 2023 4:10pm
Vortex wrote: Sun 19 Nov 2023 1:37pm
CQ SAINT wrote: Sun 19 Nov 2023 10:24am
Perhaps next time we play Port in Cairns.....hehehe.....we could hang out.
Totally Ben, it's too bad you didn't reach out last time we played at Cazaly's, maybe I could have introduced you to the influential members of Advance Cairns that lobbied to have the game held in Cairns and direct $1 million into the club coffers, would have also been a good idea to chat about how to get some more traffic directed towards that truck stop of yours.

My question is, do you think one membership is doing enough?, at least Saynta brags at any opportunity about how he buys memberships for every level of his clan, even right down to the great, great grandchildren and their pet budgies...that's a real supporter, I feel you are falling short by his lofty standards.
I think 1 membership will be enough for you.

I did contact you, you recommended your mates Cruiser for a fresh seafood meal. No talk of Advance Cairns unfortunately.

You Intel is a little off too mate. I don't own any truck stops.
and where did you end up going ya bogan!, the night markets for 3 day old fried rice from a bay marie food warmer.

A lot of money and effort went into getting the club to Cairns to boost the local economy and you seek out the cheapest foreign owned eatery.

Good thing you have a 100 dollar membership though, you big fiscal spender you.

Vortex wrote: Sun 19 Nov 2023 7:12pm
Totally Ben, it's too bad you didn't reach out last time we played at Cazaly's, maybe I could have introduced you to the influential members of Advance Cairns that lobbied to have the game held in Cairns and direct $1 million into the club coffers, would have also been a good idea to chat about how to get some more traffic directed towards that truck stop of yours.

My question is, do you think one membership is doing enough?, at least Saynta brags at any opportunity about how he buys memberships for every level of his clan, even right down to the great, great grandchildren and their pet budgies...that's a real supporter, I feel you are falling short by his lofty standards.

I did contact you, you recommended your mates Cruiser for a fresh seafood meal. No talk of Advance Cairns unfortunately.

and where did you end up going ya bogan!, the night markets for 3 day old fried rice from a bay marie food warmer.

A lot of money and effort went into getting the club to Cairns to boost the local economy and you seek out the cheapest foreign owned eatery.

You can't get my access for $100 Tex but we did get a shitty pub meal and all the Furphys we could get at the prematch function, the walk from the free bar to the stand was a shocker and it was April. Great planning there. It was the typical corporate rip-off but hey, we do our bit. Cazaly's did exceptionally well. At least Leigh Matthews wasnt guest speaker.

Cairns is a shithole ghost town. Without the foreigners, it would be an empty shithole ghost town.

Except for my native friends hanging out on the Esplanade and sleeping in all the shop fronts.

f*** Cairns, its only there for foreigners.

CQ SAINT wrote: Sun 19 Nov 2023 7:33pm

You can't get my access for $100 Tex but we did get a shitty pub meal and all the Furphys we could get at the prematch function, the walk from the free bar to the stand was a shocker and it was April. Great planning there. It was the typical corporate rip-off but hey, we do our bit. Cazaly's did exceptionally well. At least Leigh Matthews wasnt guest speaker.

Cairns is a shithole ghost town. Without the foreigners, it would be an empty shithole ghost town.

Except for my native friends hanging out on the Esplanade and sleeping in all the shop fronts.

Oooh! so you've splashed out and got yourself one of those fancy 150 buck memberships, the management rights to the Central Queensland Bruce Highway Truckstop must be going gang busters huh....very fancy!

Vortex wrote: Sun 19 Nov 2023 7:43pm
CQ SAINT wrote: Sun 19 Nov 2023 7:33pm

Oooh! so you've splashed out and got yourself one of those fancy 150 buck memberships, the management rights to the Central Queensland Bruce Highway Truckstop must be going gang busters huh....very fancy!
Tex!!! Your gonna scare the kids and women on here trying to stalk me like that.
Be careful or at least be accurate. Get a job and a membership and try to find things to do with your hands.

Try to find things to do with your hands :lol: :lol: :lol:

I think he has that covered by the way :)

CQ SAINT wrote: Sun 19 Nov 2023 8:34pm
Tex!!! Your gonna scare the kids and women on here trying to stalk me like that.
Be careful or at least be accurate. Get a job and a membership and try to find things to do with your hands.
Jobs (and bogan memberships) are for truck stop workers.

Vortex wrote: Sun 19 Nov 2023 9:36pm
CQ SAINT wrote: Sun 19 Nov 2023 8:34pm
Jobs (and bogan memberships) are for truck stop workers.
You're right Firey, he didn't mention his hands.

Just curious.
Are many St Kilda fans living in Cairns?

I think that disastrous game stung us more than the all the stingers, box jellies and crocs that gather to taunt the tourists. Are there any tourists these days? What is going on up there? I heard of a Chinese casino once..It used to be Japonalia in the '90s.

shanegrambeau wrote: Mon 20 Nov 2023 10:51am Just curious.

I think that disastrous game stung us more than the all the stingers, box jellies and crocs that gather to taunt the tourists. Are there any tourists these days? What is going on up there? I heard of a Chinese casino once..It used to be Japonalia in the '90s.
bit too muggy for my liking...but if you buy a membership you are a bogan according to some.

When I tried to catch a cab/uber from the Esplanade to Cazaly's I was told that there were 10 active cabs and uber was about an hour.

CQ SAINT wrote: Mon 20 Nov 2023 11:25am

When I tried to catch a cab/uber from the Esplanade to Cazaly's I was told that there were 10 active cabs and uber was about an hour.
The drivers generally avoid pickups outside Suzy Wongs Cheap All You Can Eat Restaurant, the clientele generally try and barter them down on price.

Vortex wrote: Mon 20 Nov 2023 12:48pm

The drivers generally avoid pickups outside Suzy Wongs Cheap All You Can Eat Restaurant, the clientele generally try and barter them down on price.
You'll have to find a NewMan for yout Intel Tex. We enjoyed a nice piece of fish and some chips from a bar and kept our eyes peeled for players and officials who were staying near the night markets and as you know, we met up with the Coach who was scoffing down the cheap Asian.
Gresham and Marshall were also walking through the markets. The massage and the cheap linen shirt were OK. We were just gravitating to only place with people in it. Apart from the backpacker pool bar with band.

The uber and taxi shortage makes sense. You walk a block from the Espy and there is just nothing to see or do but look at empty shops.

I've let it sit for a few days and yeah, nah ... not for me. It's really tacky IMO.

I'd probably have a deeper look at it had there been some planning and thought around making the Program part of the Australian Sports Foundation and hence, tax deductible.

But it just feels like a 2023 version of Save our Saints and I'm not sure I'd ever want to be a part of that ever again.

CQ SAINT wrote: Mon 20 Nov 2023 1:19pm
Vortex wrote: Mon 20 Nov 2023 12:48pm

You'll have to find a NewMan for yout Intel Tex. We enjoyed a nice piece of fish and some chips from a bar and kept our eyes peeled for players and officials who were staying near the night markets and as you know, we met up with the Coach who was scoffing down the cheap Asian.
Gresham and Marshall were also walking through the markets. The massage and the cheap linen shirt were OK. We were just gravitating to only place with people in it. Apart from the backpacker pool bar with band.

The uber and taxi shortage makes sense. You walk a block from the Espy and there is just nothing to see or do but look at empty shops.
My intel was you and the coach had your snouts jammed hard in the bay marie food warmer hoovering up the 3 day old fried rice at the emergency rate and then got into an argument with Suzy Wong’s cook because you weren’t letting other customers in and were sneaking food into doggy bags.

Saintmatt wrote: Mon 20 Nov 2023 1:49pm I've let it sit for a few days and yeah, nah ... not for me. It's really tacky IMO.

I'd probably have a deeper look at it had there been some planning and thought around making the Program part of the Australian Sports Foundation and hence, tax deductible.

But it just feels like a 2023 version of Save our Saints and I'm not sure I'd ever want to be a part of that ever again.
Akin to passing the hat around for loose change…just not a plan for sustainable success and just smacks of dept repair which is such an obvious strategy for a board and CEO who are looking to update their CV with “achievements”, and then move onto their next big thing.

SAINT-LEE

CQ SAINT wrote: Sat 18 Nov 2023 3:41pm
Vortex wrote: Fri 17 Nov 2023 10:02pm
nostalgicsaint wrote: Fri 17 Nov 2023 9:00am
Vortex wrote: Thu 16 Nov 2023 10:25pm Another initiative that is so indicative of a poor bottom feeding club culture. At what point do we get some self respect.

I mean good on the kids that work at the front desk for putting some ideas forward but at what point does someone grab the admin staff and shuffle them into the board room and show them a power point presentation of the investment and property portfolio's of the rich clubs to jolt them into reality.

Driving business and revenue is the job of Basset and the boards...is Bassett asleep at the wheel again?

He's got one job....

Not an unusual initiative, we certainly aren't Pat Malone on this one.

I'd just like to see us better target/put together packages for our higher disposal income members. Rather than looking to get an extra few dollars out of everyone.
I'd like to see us break our assisted club agreement with the AFL and develop an independent business model to gain access to cash and resources that allows us to become a sustainable top 4 club. You can't join the arms race the big boys compete in unless you have their cash and resources.

Continuing to pass the hat around as a fund raising measure is only going to keep us in a perpetual state of debt repair.
Perhaps old Director Matthews could come down with his Brisbane director mates and tell us how Brisbane has the AFL's biggest club debt, gets more money that we do and just played in the last few finals series and has Brisbane to itself?

3 Victorian Clubs don't get more than the minimum handout. Thats $7m less than us. Our membership revenue is about $8.5m.

Collingwood and Richmond double our membership revenue. Hawthorn sold their pokies.

Our assets have tripled since McLachlan cut our funding by $6m and lent us the money to operate through Covid. Our debt was $14m. Nine months ago it was recorded as $6.1m. Our membership has increased year after year and as a result, the revenue is increasing in turn.

Ross the boss is back, Harvey Hayes and Goddard, back.

I think I read somewhere once that you or one of your other names don't have a membership?

Do you come here just for the education?
I think you'll find our recent use (2021, 2022, 2023) of the loophole that allows our club to "invest in community & philanthropic" needs to be the source of our good fortune.

As revealed in October gambling licenced venues who are required to donate significant sums into the community have discovered a loop hole where they can claim THEY are in fact the needy community services and therefore have paid staff wages, construction of new buildings, bank loans, etc as "community investments".
We gave ourselves 4.9 million designated for philanthropic groups. These are facts. Pretty handy.

Loophole still exists...so we are using it to pay debts, staff wages, property development, etc.

So I stopped "donating/investing" in the club beyond my memberships. They can use the money allocated to the homeless, childrens charities, education or needy to pay debts...why should I give my $?

SAINT-LEE wrote: Sun 26 Nov 2023 3:57pm
Vortex wrote: Thu 16 Nov 2023 10:25pm Another initiative that is so indicative of a poor bottom feeding club culture. At what point do we get some self respect.

I mean good on the kids that work at the front desk for putting some ideas forward but at what point does someone grab the admin staff and shuffle them into the board room and show them a power point presentation of the investment and property portfolio's of the rich clubs to jolt them into reality.

Driving business and revenue is the job of Basset and the boards...is Bassett asleep at the wheel again?

He's got one job....

I'd just like to see us better target/put together packages for our higher disposal income members. Rather than looking to get an extra few dollars out of everyone.
I'd like to see us break our assisted club agreement with the AFL and develop an independent business model to gain access to cash and resources that allows us to become a sustainable top 4 club. You can't join the arms race the big boys compete in unless you have their cash and resources.

Continuing to pass the hat around as a fund raising measure is only going to keep us in a perpetual state of debt repair.
Perhaps old Director Matthews could come down with his Brisbane director mates and tell us how Brisbane has the AFL's biggest club debt, gets more money that we do and just played in the last few finals series and has Brisbane to itself?

3 Victorian Clubs don't get more than the minimum handout. Thats $7m less than us. Our membership revenue is about $8.5m.

Collingwood and Richmond double our membership revenue. Hawthorn sold their pokies.

Our assets have tripled since McLachlan cut our funding by $6m and lent us the money to operate through Covid. Our debt was $14m. Nine months ago it was recorded as $6.1m. Our membership has increased year after year and as a result, the revenue is increasing in turn.

I think I read somewhere once that you or one of your other names don't have a membership?

I think you'll find our recent use (2021, 2022, 2023) of the loophole that allows our club to "invest in community & philanthropic" needs to be the source of our good fortune.

As revealed in October gambling licenced venues who are required to donate significant sums into the community have discovered a loop hole where they can claim THEY are in fact the needy community services and therefore have paid staff wages, construction of new buildings, bank loans, etc as "community investments".
We gave ourselves 4.9 million designated for philanthropic groups. These are facts. Pretty handy.

Loophole still exists...so we are using it to pay debts, staff wages, property development, etc.

So I stopped "donating/investing" in the club beyond my memberships. They can use the money allocated to the homeless, childrens charities, education or needy to pay debts...why should I give my $?
Cool. You should boycott watching us play most other teams too.

SAINT-LEE

CQ SAINT wrote: Sun 26 Nov 2023 3:59pm

He's got one job....

Sounds like truth bomb hurt.

If you dont like it that the club found a way to use funds they promised to give the community...for themselves...then ask us members to "do the right thing" if WE are committed to the club...then tough.

I find great gall to reach into charities pockets and help yourself then look into my eyes and ask for loyalty through strength.

I hate that we decided to act in such a deplorable manner to seek a way that does not break the law but permits us to steal from those we committed to support. It sucks.

I still love the club, even though in this area they are acting like scummy bastards. I hope one day we find a way to act honourably and with genuine loyalty & strength.

SAINT-LEE wrote: Sun 26 Nov 2023 4:15pm
CQ SAINT wrote: Sun 26 Nov 2023 3:59pm

He's got one job....

Sounds like truth bomb hurt.

If you dont like it that the club found a way to use funds they promised to give the community...for themselves...then ask us members to "do the right thing" if WE are committed to the club...then tough.

I find great gall to reach into charities pockets and help yourself then look into my eyes and ask for loyalty through strength.

I hate that we decided to act in such a deplorable manner to seek a way that does not break the law but permits us to steal from those we committed to support. It sucks.

I still love the club, even though in this area they are acting like scummy bastards. I hope one day we find a way to act honourably and with genuine loyalty & strength.
I'll just wait for the financially audit and leave the noble gesture of withdrawal of support to you. I'm just interested in seeing the debt disappear.

I invest in the community services industry. I am aware of the Govt funding available to individuals, why the f*** would Service Delivery Companies need charitable status, if it isnt to raise money for things they aren't funded to do, interestingly churches schools and sporting clubs are investing there too.

They use company resources to raise funds and staff and they don't do that for free. There are specialists and consultants who will bleed your legit charity dry for you. The tax concessions aren't enough.

I just want to watch the football. Not run my club down.

Can you give us an exact breakdown on the figures?

Jesus works in mysterious ways.

But all jokes aside, even with our fingers in the crooked cooky jar we still can’t turn a profit and only find unique ways to hover in perpetual debt repair.

Watch Bassett and Lethlean pat themselves on the back at this years AGM with claims of “reducing debt” from some multi million dollar donation from a rich supporter.

What I want to see is a real business plan that seeks to create a sustainable revenue source that can fund our entry into the annual soft cap arms race to compete with the rich clubs.

We won’t be competitive on the field without rivers of gold.

So basically what you are saying is that we need money and talent?

This is a concept that has alluded us all yet you would think we would be on top of it considering you remind us with every second post

On a sidenote how do you know The Club hasn’t put a lucrative business model in place?

The financial statements.

SaintPav wrote: Mon 27 Nov 2023 9:48am The financial statements.
What are these financial statements you speak of 😜

Vortex wrote: Mon 27 Nov 2023 8:29am Jesus works in mysterious ways.

But all jokes aside, even with our fingers in the crooked cooky jar we still can’t turn a profit and only find unique ways to hover in perpetual debt repair.

Watch Bassett and Lethlean pat themselves on the back at this years AGM with claims of “reducing debt” from some multi million dollar donation from a rich supporter.

What I want to see is a real business plan that seeks to create a sustainable revenue source that can fund our entry into the annual soft cap arms race to compete with the rich clubs.

We won’t be competitive on the field without rivers of gold.
If any of you care to take a look.

We raise revenue from donations, paid directly to improve our facilities.

We also run community devlopment football programs, with a focus on inclusion, for a fee.

We partner with Charities and they raise the fee. Everyone is actually very happy with the arrangements and we don't need to dip into any crooked cookie jars.

I think this is the blood money that SL was talking about. about $4.6m of revenue over 2020 - 2022, which is likely to take a leap in 2023 and 2024.

That was enough of a sniff of blood for you to jump back on the propaganda wagon.

You yourself stated that Advance Cairns was chucking $1m of regional development money just to have us play there.

From loose figures, we lost the game, Ratten lost his job and we walked away with enough to lure Ross the Boss back for 1.5 years of his 4 year contract.

Next.
Last edited by CQ SAINT on Mon 27 Nov 2023 11:55am, edited 1 time in total.