is Clark too slow?

whilst a wonderful inside player with skills on both sides, and vision hard to teach , is his lack of pace a limiting issue that makes trade talks understandable? I remember in the North game how easily Tarryn Thomas motored away from Clark as he ran in to score a goal. Clark has a loping running style great for a marathon runner but , perhaps, not suited to the modern game?

the invisible and the non existent look very much alike

Re: is Clark too slow?

Slow as treacle

Maybe

I’m a Hunter fan (I think we all are?) and love his skill and balance. I initially thought he ‘looked slow’ because, like A Nicky Winmar or a Mark Waugh, was not rushed and manic.

Not to mention our need for class.

Tough question.

I would be very interested to know what the others here think about this.

Can not spread when he has to

Best mate

LDU

Wants to go to North - hasn’t yet resigned

LDU should come to the Saints!!

the invisible and the non existent look very much alike

Speed is overrated.

High quality skills and good decision making is more important.

Saint2

Yes- too slow , especially when he loses the ball in contests- slow recovery.

I reckon other parts of his game - vision, creativity and generally good skills and delivery - offer a point of difference. Thought the midfield struggled badly when he went down for a few weeks. I hope he stays. Good player.

bigcarl wrote: Fri 04 Aug 2023 8:59pm I reckon other parts of his game - vision, creativity and generally good skills and delivery - offer a point of difference. Thought the midfield struggled badly when he went down for a few weeks. I hope he stays. Good player.
I tend to agree. He wants to make his possessions count rather than count his possessions. Hence why he'll get caught with the ball. A smart player but I do wish he was quicker, in terms of legs not mind.

He is a tough skilful player and would be snapped up by any club
Best we keep him

No. It's composure. Sometimes misunderstood.

He is a burst of speed away from being very dangerous and a few kgs short of being powerful. He is walking a fine line.

Ghost Like wrote: Fri 04 Aug 2023 9:30pm
bigcarl wrote: Fri 04 Aug 2023 8:59pm I reckon other parts of his game - vision, creativity and generally good skills and delivery - offer a point of difference. Thought the midfield struggled badly when he went down for a few weeks. I hope he stays. Good player.
I tend to agree. He wants to make his possessions count rather than count his possessions. Hence why he'll get caught with the ball. A smart player but I do wish he was quicker, in terms of legs not mind.
That's good, that is.

I think skilful players are pretty rare at the Saints lately.

TheGreatZacsby

Very very slow. It’s a big flaw of his.

If he was staying, he would have resigned

He wanted out last year, but we had him contracted

We Will ask for Norths 2nd round pick - they will offer their 3rd

End up being about pick 42 for Hunter

Who's a better player: Pendlebury or Dangerfield?

One is quick and the other is generally considered as not quick

One is a better user of the football who brings others into the game, and the other is a tough, speedy clearance beast.

The flashy inside mid has won a Brownlow medal, but for my money, I'd prefer the guy that's generally considered as 'not quick'

Clark is no where near these 2 future Hall of Famers, but the point is that you don't have to be quick to be a good asset to a footy team

Scollop wrote: Sat 05 Aug 2023 10:12am Who's a better player: Pendlebury or Dangerfield?

One is a better user of the football who brings others into the game, and the other is a tough, speedy clearance beast.

The flashy inside mid has won a Brownlow medal, but for my money, I'd prefer the guy that's generally considered as 'not quick'

Clark is no where near these 2 future Hall of Famers, but the point is that you don't have to be quick to be a good asset to a footy team
I really would like to see Clark play one full season without injury and see where he lands.

Vortex wrote: Sat 05 Aug 2023 10:24am
Scollop wrote: Sat 05 Aug 2023 10:12am Who's a better player: Pendlebury or Dangerfield?

I really would like to see Clark play one full season without injury and see where he lands.
Hopefully that'll be at St Kilda

Vortex wrote: Sat 05 Aug 2023 10:24am
Exactly right, Clark's not all that long back from some pretty serious knocks, in 6 seasons he's only played 82 games.

As for pace, I would have thought that his skilful disposal is far more important to the team than speed.

I'm quite sure that the club will be keen to sign him up for the long term and absolutely certain he will be an integral factor in the team's success next year and beyond.

Our preference is to resign him - no doubt

Although Ross would be concerned about his lack of running power - speed and endurance

But
I definitely think he wants a fresh start, as he did last season!

Sometimes for a change of luck, players need a change of scenery

He is slow but has other worthy traits. If he can improve his dynamic movements and strength he could be anything. The question is whether he is prepared to do the extea work to get the best out of his game? Only the club will know that.

When fit he’s had his best season to date for mine. Would hate to see him go, am hoping Ross has changed his mind on leaving.
Might be slow but gets a fair bit of the ball and kicks exquisitely; the ball will travel faster than any player on the field

I think we just decided that Bytel was slow.
And another one bytes the dust?

Gee..

Greg Williams was just as slow.

Ask any Geelong supporter how much better their team was once he moved to Sydney.