My assessment of Tony’s so-called “year of discovery”

Nothing has changed.

We had a mediocre team 12 months ago and we have a mediocre team now.

You didn’t need to sack a coach (who you only reappointed for a further two years 6 months prior) to reinforce than within an 11 year rebuild, who’ve at best assembled a mediocre squad that can threaten a push for the 8 from time to time, but at its core, is just a 10 to 16 placed team.

You’ve been telling us Richo was the man, then Ratts and now it’s apparently Lyon to bring your 11 year journey to a point to ultimately tell you that it doesn’t matter who our coach is, it’s that it’s taken you 11 years to assemble a mediocre list.

Re: My assessment of Tony’s so-called “year of discovery”

Chris Pelchen and Tony Elshaug are the main reasons we have been and are pathetic

They bungled a rebuild we never recovered from

Saint2

The year of discovery is to see if Lyon still has it as a coach...

B.M wrote: Sat 15 Jul 2023 5:45pm Chris Pelchen and Tony Elshaug are the main reasons we have been and are pathetic

We've had plenty of time since then.
Hannebery, Hill, etc, and now Jones getting injured all the time

If Saints brains trust need any more discovery they are not very perceptive.
Here's what I reckon:
the playing group have a culture that needs radical surgery;
Ross cannot motivate players individually or as a group;
Our selectors don't realise they are dumb;
This exploratory year bs is crap group think to rationalise taking talented players well and truly backwards;
Keep telling yourself great coaching panel, ignore crap performances say look over there, wink, next year;
Steele needs to be stripped of captaincy;
There is no plan, the place is in disarray.
7 of those pretenders need to be summarily dropped and half a dozen others told unless you put in you won't be playing in first choice 22 next year. Don't care about depth a number of those smug comfortable chaps have to go.
We deserve better.
Next year is going to be excruciating until Ross resigns.

Yep, Pelchen and Elshaug were a disaster for our club . Set us back by 10 years. They are the main reason why we are where we are right now.

What happens if Ross turns around and says "Sorry, I can't make it with this list. I resign, good luck."

Bruce G McAbee

It's not just a player clean out we need.

Think of me long enough to make a memory.

No Man's Land .... likely to be this way for another 5 years

SydneySainter wrote: Sat 15 Jul 2023 5:17pm Nothing has changed.

We had a mediocre team 12 months ago and we have a mediocre team now.

You didn’t need to sack a coach (who you only reappointed for a further two years 6 months prior) to reinforce than within an 11 year rebuild, who’ve at best assembled a mediocre squad that can threaten a push for the 8 from time to time, but at its core, is just a 10 to 16 placed team.

You’ve been telling us Richo was the man, then Ratts and now it’s apparently Lyon to bring your 11 year journey to a point to ultimately tell you that it doesn’t matter who our coach is, it’s that it’s taken you 11 years to assemble a mediocre list.
Unfortunately I have to agree with you.

Saint2 wrote: Sat 15 Jul 2023 5:46pm The year of discovery is to see if Lyon still has it as a coach...
And in my view , he doesn't. I am not even sure he had it in the first place. He had good sides which my dear departed mother could have coached into the final 8, both at the Saints and down at Freo.

Otiman wrote: Sat 15 Jul 2023 6:12pm What happens if Ross turns around and says "Sorry, I can't make it with this list. I resign, good luck."
I would say don't let the door hit ya where God split ya. I for one would be pleased.

At the start of the season in the prediction thread before round 1, I predicted Higgo would win our leading goal kicker, Crouch would win the TB medal and the word rebuild would become a significant topi of discussion.

So far I'm tracking 3 out of 3.

Failed at Freo with the rebuild, had a winning percentage of 33% in his final 4 years.

Pressure will come on hard from here on in.

Really looking forward to trade time to see what strategy we adopt, Walsh said we would be going to the draft, if that's the case then the best thing we can do is tank.

Vortex wrote: Sat 15 Jul 2023 7:43pm Failed at Freo with the rebuild, had a winning percentage of 33% in his final 4 years.

Really looking forward to trade time to see what strategy we adopt, Walsh said we would be going to the draft, if that's the case then the best thing we can do is tank.
What year do you predict that Lyon will be given the sack. I know that it will happen I would like to know just when ,seeing you are spot on with your predictions.

fair dinkum

are ya gunna start the first 'Sack Lyon' thread

nail your colours to the mast

SAINT-LEE

B.M wrote: Sat 15 Jul 2023 5:45pm Chris Pelchen and Tony Elshaug are the main reasons we have been and are pathetic

Facts.

We have had a group capable of 8-12 but....

Richo struggled to translate his excellent career of one on one player development to a team strategy that worked.

Ratts too was well known as a great developer of talent but lacked consistency & ability to adjust to opposition tactics.

Ross is great at strategy, average at talent development and poor at adjusting his game plan.

I reckon Ross is a much better choice long term but injury + player limits is tough...and who knows

But all this doesn't matter if we aren't bringing in the talent to actually play.

Set the club back 15-20 years.

asiu wrote: Sat 15 Jul 2023 7:51pm fair dinkum

Already done. And i'm not on my lonesome there either. Very ordinary performance today. Players and coaches.

SaintPav wrote: Sat 15 Jul 2023 7:53pm

Set the club back 15-20 years.
Yep, but don't ever forget that the board allowed Pelican s*** and his mate to get away with their nonsence either.

saynta wrote: Sat 15 Jul 2023 7:47pm
Vortex wrote: Sat 15 Jul 2023 7:43pm Failed at Freo with the rebuild, had a winning percentage of 33% in his final 4 years.

What year do you predict that Lyon will be given the sack. I know that it will happen I would like to know just when ,seeing you are spot on with your predictions.
Before his first 4 year contract ends, but it will be along side an implosion at board level as Bassett pinned his presidency to Lyon with his Captains pick so it will be ugly when the time comes. As I have said all along, Lyon is a great coach but what is the magic trick he possesses that can overcome one of the toughest challenges in the industry which is build a flag team at one of the poorest and most unattractive destination in the club.

Most likely n here were lauding Pelicans ‘blueprint’ in 2014

Many are hindsight heroes

Few put there nuts on the line at the time!

asiu wrote: Sat 15 Jul 2023 7:51pm fair dinkum

This

Get a grip guys

This is just the start of this journey

Vortex wrote: Sat 15 Jul 2023 8:01pm

Before his first 4 year contract ends, but it will be along side an implosion at board level as Bassett pinned his presidency to Lyon with his Captains pick so it will be ugly when the time comes. As I have said all along, Lyon is a great coach but what is the magic trick he possesses that can overcome one of the toughest challenges in the industry which is build a flag team at one of the poorest and most unattractive destination in the club.
Do you realise that you repeat yourself

The Fireman wrote: Sat 15 Jul 2023 8:48pm
Vortex wrote: Sat 15 Jul 2023 8:01pm

Do you realise that you repeat yourself
am I your fanboy?