Billings Mackenzie Jones........

...would be handy right now.

Instead, Windy needs to tag, Steele needs a rest, Seb needs to be the sub, Owens has to be ruck, HF and midfielder.and Marshall is useless against real midfields.

scallopsroe

Re: Billings Mackenzie Jones........

Marshall is not a centre bounce or boundary throw in ruckman, this was plain to see last night. Nankervis pantsed him at these contests. With the wet conditions, Marshall's around the ground marking skills were negated.
Not enough from #47, poor decisions coming out of defence that gifted three Tiger goals (Stocker, Howard and Webster). #25 had a quiet night, he will learn from this wet weather pressure experience.
Too much acting from #22 focus on your footy mate, the skipper appears injured and slow. Howard down on confidence, perhaps a week with Sandy will help.
Sinclair,Hill and NMW couldn't get sufficient clean disposal, Tigers put alot work (on-field and off-field) into these three players to lessen their impact and their strategy worked. Yes the conditions didn't help but Richmond appeared to handle the wet conditions a little better. We fumbled too much in the first half with a number of disposals being smothered.
Alot to work on and I would like to see some initiative/progressive thinking at selection rather than persevering with players that are either not 90-100% fit or out of form.

Questions, who was Short's opponent in the first half knowing he was a long goal kicker, why wasn't a long kicker near Higgins in the last quarter? Lack of concentration by Saints players is causing too many unforced errors. He was too far out for the set shot.

Totally agree with op and I’ll add a Coff 🥴.

scallopsroe wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 12:02pm Marshall is not a centre bounce or boundary throw in ruckman, this was plain to see last night. Nankervis pantsed him at these contests. With the wet conditions, Marshall's around the ground marking skills were negated.
Not enough from #47, poor decisions coming out of defence that gifted three Tiger goals (Stocker, Howard and Webster). #25 had a quiet night, he will learn from this wet weather pressure experience.
Too much acting from #22 focus on your footy mate, the skipper appears injured and slow. Howard down on confidence, perhaps a week with Sandy will help.
Sinclair,Hill and NMW couldn't get sufficient clean disposal, Tigers put alot work (on-field and off-field) into these three players to lessen their impact and their strategy worked. Yes the conditions didn't help but Richmond appeared to handle the wet conditions a little better. We fumbled too much in the first half with a number of disposals being smothered.
Alot to work on and I would like to see some initiative/progressive thinking at selection rather than persevering with players that are either not 90-100% fit or out of form.

Questions, who was Short's opponent in the first half knowing he was a long goal kicker, why wasn't a long kicker near Higgins in the last quarter? Lack of concentration by Saints players is causing too many unforced errors. He was too far out for the set shot.
Caminiti was subbed off last week and had another poor game.

You’d think Sharman should get a full game next week, but as you say don’t expect to see some initiative/progressive thinking at selection rather than persevering with players that are out of form.

We need players to keep every one accountable. How many times has Gresh or Higgins wasted the footy by attempting to kick beyond their capabilities? Why is it acceptable for Higgins to keep doing that? Does he think if he slots 1 in 20 of those 55 metre kicks that he’s entitled to keep going for them.

Every now and then we see our team working with cohesion and every now and then there is good leadership and good communication on the field, but what mostly happens in the close games is that we get found out for trying to slap together a money ball list…and for neglecting a succession plan for Roo when he captained for an eternity while we were trying to rebuild

Good post. And gotta love a bit of scallop’s roe😋🤤

scallopsroe wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 12:02pm Marshall is not a centre bounce or boundary throw in ruckman, this was plain to see last night. Nankervis pantsed him at these contests. With the wet conditions, Marshall's around the ground marking skills were negated.

Possibly the turning point was when Rowan fluffed a kick when clear just outside the fifty with players ahead of him also clear and the goal there for the taking, the defenders completely out of position. Richmond collected then we were out of position and subsequently Tigers goaled. It was dry then, I believe.

Caminiti definitely needs a game at Sandy.

CQ SAINT wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 11:15am ...would be handy right now.
Is this a current a idea or has the thread been bumped from 2019?

All three are better than some players running around in the seniors

If all these players were/are terrible, how is it we manage to even be competitive?
Add in Howard for his crimes.
Gresh, Higgo?

And yet I can’t disagree!

Confusion

We have some very good players

Wilkie, Sinclair, Crouch, King, Wood, Higgins, Butler

Have all been super this season

All would be handy, but none would be the answer.

Billings will never live up to the potential his early draft selection says he should. Showed enough raw talent early, but we’ve seen his best. Maybe we developed him poorly, we’ll never know.

Jones is our new X Clarke. Lots of potential, but just when he starts gaining consistent form, he does another soft tissue injury and he’s back to where he started. I wouldn’t be surprised if an early retirement is on the cards.

DMac would be handy for his experience, but he would be nothing more than handy.

Billings has had a very good career minus the last two seasons

Prior to his run of injuries he was very resilient and played almost 150 on the bounce

As a HF he has averaged 20 and a goal per game
30 odd Brownlow votes so plenty of great games

Jones was fantastic at Sydney as a rebounding hb - at StK he has been used as an inside mid and played some cracker games but has been inconsistent and injury riddled

DMac was the butt of jokes on this forum - until he had a good 2018 and signed for three.
Injured after that the signing was ridiculed again
Until he had a great season in 21 as a wing
Now he’s injured again

Should not invest in proven injury prone players.

seano1

All well and good to drop this player and add that player but then come next week carry on if we lose …..the corporate bosses still want us in finals even if we are only making up the numbers

I’ll preface this by saying Phillipou could well END UP a star player

He’s a smooth mover and has some real tricks

But if Billings was averaging his numbers
13.7 disposal (5.25 kicks)
0.67 goals
2.25 tackles

We’d be screaming out for his omission- I get that he’s young and has potential- but as it is, he’s getting a bit of a good run.

A few at Sandy wouldn’t have hurt him a month ago imo

I’d have Jack Bytel IN the team - for a month - in the midfield

We need to find out if he can play - Steele should have been rested a couple of weeks ago

Highmore has been the best player at Sandy - I’d give Dougal 1 more chance - problem with Highmore is size - he’s mid size

Saints58

Is it time to play Cordy in his rightful position as a KPD with Dougal poor Dougal has been left to take a lot of the defensive work as Battle is struggling when the he has to chase or jump he is very restrictive.
At least cordy has played over 100 as a KPD and working with Dougal it would be a great dynamic which we don't have now, with experience and understanding.
With Battle he either plays up forward with Sharman and King or he plays for sandy.
Either would be good as a chop out for Row in the ruck then Owens can play were he would be most damaging in the midfield but that would mean dropping players that may be favourites.

I reckon Howard will be dropped for Cordy this week

Dont forget Jack Hayes, Caminiti looks like he needs a rest at this point it would benice to have Hayes fill the void.

footynut

Radical thought... Could swing Caminiti to the backline to see how he goes. We know he can take a grab, and attacks the ball hard, not sure how quick his decision making is or how disciplined he is.

Caminiti was given a 3 year contract on the back of a few good games.

Maybe they went a bit early.

I’d probably give him one more game.

Cordy is treacle slow and will get blown up following Daniher around.
No chance he comes in.

Howard was shocking yesterday, but I'd prefer to see Highmore to Cordy.

Saintmike65

The coaches are well aware of our list limitations as a result of ordinary drafting for a long time.
Expect us to be creative with our trading end of season.

B.M wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 7:13pm I’ll preface this by saying Phillipou could well END UP a star player

He’s a smooth mover and has some real tricks

But if Billings was averaging his numbers
13.7 disposal (5.25 kicks)
0.67 goals
2.25 tackles

We’d be screaming out for his omission- I get that he’s young and has potential- but as it is, he’s getting a bit of a good run.

A few at Sandy wouldn’t have hurt him a month ago imo

Billings may well have taken his spot except he can’t get on the park whereas Pou has stayed there

SaintPav wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 8:07pm Caminiti was given a 3 year contract on the back of a few good games.

Maybe they went a bit early.

I’d probably give him one more game.
If you look at him like a drafted player 9 which barring injury he would have been) not surprising to see deal extended.

Everyone needs to remember this kid didn't do a proper pre season and therefore it isn't surprising that hes running out of puff a bit

Left field thought.
Play Marshall forward, swithcing into the ruck with Campbell as the main ruckman.
We are continually smashed at clearances every week.
Caminiti is young, raw, and still learning. Let him develop in the twos for a bit.
King has no viable foil...We are back to bombing it into the forward line. Marshall would be an excellent target in addition to King. Makes it harder to match up for teams, too.

Howard has to play this week as we have nobody else to go with Daniher and Hipwood.