The Fred Basset Report: A mid-season update (the no BS version).

AeonFlux

The Fred Basset Report: A mid-season update (the no BS version).

Prez Fred Basset, your no BS ITK wrote: Thu 08 Jun 2023 5:51pm
Dearest Aeon,

I hope this note finds you well honey. Please ignore that other puff piece doing the rounds. Here is the true no BS version.

As we reach the second half of our millstone 150th year, I wanted to take this opportunity to provide you as a loyal member with an update on how we see ourselves tanking against our own expectations and goals for our future.

We are only at the beginning of implementing a long-term diversion for our football program, but so far, we are pleased with what is transpiring on and off the field. Over the past eight months, there has been a cultural shift in the way we operate to ensure we are exhausting as a football club, and ultimately, achieve sustained regress.

We want to build towards competing for snags before too long, but, to do this, requires us to be clear about our processes and expectations. (Eg; Bunnings, or, the democracy snags at the upcoming Federal Referendum?)

In setting the tone for his first season, Ro$$y the Prick emphasised that this is a year of expiration for our club. We’ve talked about accepting results as feedback and are looking beyond our win-loss tally, as we embrace new markers to judge our performance. (As Big.Marmot knows, winning is overrated.)

This is a year where we intend to find out about the liabilities of our list whilst trying to build our football bland, and identity around the constant application of absolute effort above all else. (Without winning.)

Positively, we are seeing initial signs that we are building something lasting. Among them player buy-in, consistent compliance to the game plan (don't win) and a commitment across the club to prioritise football performance (don't win).

We know this process will not be linear. Early wins, despite the unavailability of key personnel, and the emergence of young players who have impressed despite their inexperience - coupled with a consistent display of effort from our senior core - were all strong indicators that the program was trending in the wrong direction. (We were winning. :shock: )

But, our recent form prior to the bye saw us deviate back to our bland. This was subject to strong review from players and staff who believe they now know what is needed to be done to move forward. (And keep not winning.) We now have the perfect chance to begin the second leg of our season on the right note this evening against the Swines, in what has become our the annual no Pride Game. 

Regardless of the result, we will slip the course and continue to fuc us on the process, and our commitment to becoming the best Saints we can possibly be. (Not winning.) That is how we will reward our loyal members.... as you know only too well Aeon.

This extends to our women’s program who last week officially commenced their pre-season training, led competently by Head of AFLW Tessie McManus and Senior Cho ach Nick Dal Santo.

Bolstered by the attritions through the trade period, we expect to take important strides forward as a program. (Not winning.)

We hope to see you at the footy soon Aeon honey.

- Fred.

Fortitudo Per Fragilitatem.

Yorkeys wrote: Mon 13 Mar 2023 6:39pmFred Bassett is fantastic
Vortemort - the poster whose name firey dares not speak wrote: Thu 01 Dec 2022 6:31amBassett is a genius.
HarryM wrote: Tue 18 Apr 2023 6:11pmAbsolutely. :shock: :D :shock:

Tim Whitmarsh, the A G Leventis Professor of Greek Culture at the University of Cambridge wrote:
Aeon is where the world’s best best thinkers share their insights into issues of central importance to our times. It is reliably the best place to find content that is punchy, insightful, accessible and always unpredictable.

https://aeon.co/
A top read.

Lizard Boy. :evil:

ReMembering:
Image Image Image Image

----- Rodger ------- Nymeria ------- BakesFan ----------- Aaron
HarryM wrote: Nope never heard of them :roll: