Match Thread Saints v Freo Round 1 2023

Re: Match Thread Saints v Freo Round 1 2023

Stocker 20 disposals at 90%

Shout out to Ronnie Byrnes - sensational work rate

Banger9798 wrote: Sun 19 Mar 2023 7:22pm Stocker 20 disposals at 90%
Yes - noted.

The Fireman wrote: Sun 19 Mar 2023 7:15pm
CURLY wrote: Sun 19 Mar 2023 7:12pm Against the odds.

Really should have won by 8 goals if not for some bias.
Sorry curly but you need to have a good look at yourself and another look at the decisions made tonight…you are embarrassing yourself
I will take what Healy says thanks.

We got pinned for deliberate twice when they just ignored Freo.

Devilhead wrote: Sun 19 Mar 2023 7:22pm Shout out to Ronnie Byrnes - sensational work rate
yep. made a couple errors but was immense. Just worked so hard.

Lennylegs

Absolutely stoked. So sick of people talking about our list. Bring that effort, we'll beat most side.

Finally get to see some accountable football! Two way running!

To blame our list for the past five years is such a cop out. So glad to see actual effort.

Let's go!!!

f****** you beauty. Congrats boys. Well done, despite the best efforts from the maggots to gift freo one more win against the saints

StPeter

We were easily the underdogs of the round in the betting and the tipping.

A fantastic win against the odds!

They talk of Hill being the cream on top, but it's really Wood- he just has the magic touch

What a great win.

Individiual positive standouts for me.

Steele had a quiet preseason but back to his best straight away.
Byrnes showed he is best 22
Wood continuing his preseason form
Gresh dangerous and good to see him played forward
Philippou didn't look out of depth
Caminiti very promising and will be better for the run
Wilkie MVP
Hill is being played to his strengths
Paton had an impact as the sub

And some negatives.
Unlucky to lose Webster a few minutes after making the sub
Cordy little individual impact on the game (can't speak for his team game).
Butler average and played for too many frees
Battle has some improvement in him. May be passed by others in the side this year
NWM a few errors by foot, mostly decision based. Will learn and improve
Players got tilted for 10-15 minutes by the umps whilst in complete control of the game and almost lost it

Vortex wrote: Sun 19 Mar 2023 7:19pm
skeptic wrote: Sun 19 Mar 2023 7:04pm
Vortex wrote: Sun 19 Mar 2023 6:54pm
skeptic wrote: Sun 19 Mar 2023 6:39pm
Vortex wrote: Sun 19 Mar 2023 6:36pm
skeptic wrote: Sun 19 Mar 2023 6:16pm
Vortex wrote: Sun 19 Mar 2023 6:12pm
skeptic wrote: Sun 19 Mar 2023 6:01pm

I thought Cordy was a garbage choice considering he’s not a forward, hasn’t played well as a forward, hasn’t been impressive and his preseason characterised by his lack of fitness… has been a complete non-factor so far.

I’d have preferred Sharman by a long shotop but not overly damaging. Hope to see Bytel get in amongst or some more. Made a bad decision early but he looks a goer for me

There's a fair amount of irony in these statements, probably for the same reason too many fans went way too early on Sharman and thought he was the answer to our next forward line super star.

Here we go again we are calling a player garbage after 2 quarters, just hilarious considering Cordy at least has some credits in the bank, namely he's played in a flag, time will tell that could be his peak but I don't need another minute of watching either player to know Cordy is the player 18 out of 18 coaches would have Cordy over Sharman on an AFL field for the time being.
I said it was a garbage decision and your criticism has nothing to do with the form parameters I mentioned. Try not to let your bias get in the way.

Is Cordy even playing still? 3 touches. Close to worst on ground
and yet you believe a player who was overtaken to a kid who's been at the club for 3 weeks would be better, my point being is maybe it's time to just reserve judgement before going too early on the ridiculous.
do you reckon Coops would have got more than 3 touches?

All I’m saying is that based on our preseason…
Both haven’t been great but Cordy came in as a defender, out of shape, in form, hasn’t played well as a forward and had a lacklustre preseason.

Coops came back in better shape, plays as a forward and has had ok games as a forward.

Experience doesn’t mean anything if you’re not in a position not to do well…
It was very predictable that Cordy would present as very very poor in this game and so far he has met those expectations
mate I don't give a dead set farg about how many touches Cordy has got, so what if he's played a shocker so far, the fact is he's got one million more credits in the bank compared with Sharman, so for sure, call out a player like Cordy for not having an impact so far but for crying out loud have some self respect for having a bigger clue and at least suggest a player to be the alternative who isn't spud
Calling Coops a spud. That’s disgraceful.

His worst game as forward has been better than this. Thanks for confirming that you have an emotional hate for the kid
hahahahah...you haven't got a clue...happens when you watch the footy via fantasy points...yeah discraceful is saying a player like Sharman should have been playing a game of AFL today and that has not disrespect to the kid, who the farg knows he might still make it but he is WAAAAAAAY OFF THE PACE right now so get clue and show some respect for those that might know something about the game and don't rely on fantasy points.
One doesn’t need fantasy points… watch the match and read the thread. Was unsighted from 15min into the 2nd to the last 10min of the last and he nailed one huge play that close to seal the match.
Ineffective as a forward and as a back up ruck had the same number of hit outs as the debutant forward.

As you brought up numbers, let’s have a look
4 kicks, 2 handballs, 0 marks, one tackle. If Sharman played a game with those numbers you would roast him alive. Doubled his output in the last 10min.

No idea why you hate the kid so much or your obsession with him every time he’s brought up.

Regardless… Cordy had a miserable off season and had an overall bad match but made the crunch play when it mattered and kudos on him for that. Would want to improve on that effort.

Otiman wrote: Sun 19 Mar 2023 7:36pm What a great win.

Wilkie MVP

And some negatives.
Battle has some improvement in him. May be passed by others in the side this year
Players got tilted for 10-15 minutes by the umps whilst in complete control of the game and almost lost it
Battle was excellent, in fact the defen e were terrific.
Had alot of tall timber up there and alot of entries

Terrific win for RTB ... feels like 2007-2011 again.

Saints fans -- get along to the matches and raise the roof again!

Exciting!

Is there a worse show than The Bounce?

Just bogans

What a shame we can't get some interviews etc instead of Gazey's nonsense

skeptic wrote: Sun 19 Mar 2023 7:37pm

One doesn’t need fantasy points…

Well then you need some other type of help if you can say a player like Sharman should have played today, who knows, Sharman may well still make it in the AFL but right at this very point it is clueless to suggest he has any place on an AFL field.

I'll back Cordy to work his way into the way he needs to play with his new team WAAAAAAY before saying Sharman should take his spot.

Just admit you are completely wrong. NOBODY, NOBODY is saying Sharman should be playing AFL.

Banger9798 wrote: Sun 19 Mar 2023 7:39pm
Otiman wrote: Sun 19 Mar 2023 7:36pm What a great win.

Wilkie MVP

And some negatives.
Battle was excellent, in fact the defen e were terrific.
Had alot of tall timber up there and alot of entries
Battle is one whose game may hold up better on the replay.

He made a real bad error i vaguely remember and didn’t seem overly present hence on first glance he seemed average but my gut says he did a few decent things that won’t make the stat sheet or be obvious on camera

Anyway on a really good note, how good was that win. Probably still going to be a tough year but just wrapped when the underdogs,,,yeah that's us, STICK IT UP EM...rarely happens so cheers.

23,000 odd

What a disappointing home crowd

Really poor

Sorry I can't let it go Skeptic, Paton coming on as the sub to kick Buttler to the bench probably won us the game...NO FARGIN WAY would Sharman have won us the game as a sub...FULL STOP!

CURLY wrote: Sun 19 Mar 2023 7:25pm
The Fireman wrote: Sun 19 Mar 2023 7:15pm
CURLY wrote: Sun 19 Mar 2023 7:12pm Against the odds.

Really should have won by 8 goals if not for some bias.
Sorry curly but you need to have a good look at yourself and another look at the decisions made tonight…you are embarrassing yourself
I will take what Healy says thanks.

We got pinned for deliberate twice when they just ignored Freo.
Why don’t you take what you say ?
I’ve said this to you before Curly, forget about the umpires and start enjoying the game you’ll be much better off
Last edited by The Fireman on Sun 19 Mar 2023 8:00pm, edited 1 time in total.

nostalgicsaint

chook23 wrote: Sun 19 Mar 2023 7:46pm 23,000 odd

Really poor

Sunday night game.

Disclaimer: posts are my views and shouldn't be taken as fact, even if I am in fact right.

Really poor
We were there

I won’t be able to speak tomorrow

Fantastic to feel the deafening foot stamping

23k for underdogs against the Furple Paze was pretty good

Well what a difference a good coach makes.
The way things are panning out it’s gonna make a certain poster on here. Look like an absolute tool and just hoping that when Sharman gets back in the side it makes him look even sillier

This is a dynamic looking side which can only improve considering how young some of our debutants are and also the calibre of the coaching panel

Last edited by skeptic on Sun 19 Mar 2023 8:03pm, edited 1 time in total.

Sainter_Dad wrote: Sun 19 Mar 2023 7:57pm

Really poor
We were there

I won’t be able to speak tomorrow

Fantastic to feel the deafening foot stamping

23k for underdogs against the Furple Paze was pretty good
I was too