Howard

Howard

Seriously

What did we think of his game tonight?

For a 6’6” defender

His lack of ability to defend 1 on 1 is ridiculous

He was horrendous imo

Re: Howard

I've been a fan in the past, but his last couple of games have been awful. Today was the worst I've seen him play.

Hack

He’s great at slowing the game, shocking tonight

He was in the bottom three on the ground!!!

Butler was worst on ground until he kicked a late goal (even that was a bit lucky!)

Paton also woeful

bm jumping on a poor game by howard. there's a shock.

Howard was by far the worst on ground. I'm not sure why he is being played. Has no ability.

I asked the question

How’d you see his game?

Bring back Luke Penny.

Always has some high profile fails/clangers, but overall holds his own given the situation.

Nobody else on the list can take some of his opponents. Need a 195+cm/90kg+ defender with closing speed.

B.M wrote: Sun 21 Aug 2022 9:29pm I asked the question

How’d you see his game?
The comments don't tell you he was awful?

For a player in the leadership group his lack of effort is very telling. Even when he does attempt a spoil there is one effort and then he stands and watches his team mates "like a stunned mullet". You rarely see a second or third effort? Its not just him there are plenty of others who dont know what complete effort is.

Again it comes back to whats happening behind closed doors at the club? There is something seriously wrong at the club and lets hope the review finds and eliminates it?

Rubyjo

He's all we got ..a 50/50 probability

Clearly been taken over by Wilkie as our number 1 defender.

People just look at his size and give him a pass. Gets beaten in too many one-on-ones, plays too loose on his opponents, gets lost in no man’s land too often.

And he’s always looking around for someone to blame.

Sam Reid, Heeeny and Buddy all out pointed home easily in contests today

Telling the Wilkie got Buddy and Howard was left to Logan MCDonald

Wilkie is 8cm shorter and a shitload better defender… Some of his efforts today weren’t strong enough for a 199cm key defender

dud

Some games he’s doing his job, but today he was hopeless

He’s carrying a calf or a cork or a hip or a groin injury. He wasn’t right imo

He wasn’t good at judging the flight and should have got a touch twice when he was on the goal line….and then also failed to impact a couple of marking contests. He’s the tallest bloke and he lets others go up in a pack. What the f?

His job was to defend and I reckon Highmore or Joyce would have been just as effective today. Highmore was basically dropped on 1 poor kick and 1 poor decision. You have guys like Hill and Ross and Howard making constant blunders and we just say that’s ok! What the f?

Why do some of these senior blokes get the luxury of making mistakes and a young bloke like Highmore doesn’t.

The recruiting of imports needs a total rethink. We recruited Howard to fill a role, I get that, but maybe we could have trusted a bloke we already had

Who’s to say if Joyce was given games in 2019 (and continuity) and then tried as our full back for a whole year that he wouldn’t be as good as Howard by now?

watch the game highlights package video on afl.com.au

swans first goal

watch Howard closely

Terribe/Disgraceful

your thoughts?

groupie1

Otiman wrote: Sun 21 Aug 2022 9:34pm Always has some high profile fails/clangers, but overall holds his own given the situation.

Nobody else on the list can take some of his opponents. Need a 195+cm/90kg+ defender with closing speed.
Ratagalia?

Gordon Fode couldda been Plugga

Franklin kicked 2, Hayward 3, Heeney 2, McDonald 2.

Who was Howard playing on?

Because none of them took him to the cleaners.

Howard bashing so disproportionate to what he does.

Not a great game today, but we had alot of quality entries into our D50 and the defence was under the pump.

I thought Howard's game wasn't too bad to be honest. Not great but didn't stand out as being a culprit.

We were within a goal with 5 mins to go.

Wilkie is excellent and pound for pound as good as any defender in the league. Would love him to be 198cm, but he ain't, and we are undersized back there, which has Dougal constantl trying cover off other opponents with his pace and spoiling. Sometimes it doesn't come off.

Don’t want him to ‘cover off’

Need him to win or halve aerial contests when defending one on one.

If we get another key defender

Where do that leave Battle?

I just don't reckon he was as bad as you make out..

We are undersized , and Battle has been good all year, but clearly , the lack of height has Howard playing off his man. Possibly too often. Coach needs to fix it.

In answer to your question re Battle, I don't know where that would leave him, but we won't challenge against the best sides with an undersized defence.

His demeanour for a member of leadership group is awful. He needs support down back, but his attitude has to change.

Hasn’t walked the talk in the “Saints footy” video he spoke in at the beginning of the year.

He’s had an average to poor season.

chook23 wrote: Sun 21 Aug 2022 10:52pm watch the game highlights package video on afl.com.au

swans first goal

watch Howard closely

Terribe/Disgraceful

your thoughts?
Yep, saw that.
Hands on hips, was a pure spectator.
He was too relaxed and wasn't next to an opponent

Put Wilkie's brain in Howards body and you'd have a superstar.