Cooper Sharman

He looked like a natural in front of goal in the handful of games he played last year.

How’s the kid been travelling for Sandy?

Would the forward line be too tall if we had him alongside King and Membrey?

Re: Cooper Sharman

I'd love to see him in there, guarantee he wouldn't have missed those sodas yesterday.

Membrey is able to play tall or small and has the wheels .

King and Sharman as talls, Membrey 3rd marking option, Higgins , Butler and either Billings or Gresham

Sainternist wrote: Sun 01 May 2022 5:12pm He looked like a natural in front of goal in the handful of games he played last year.

Didn't play.

nostalgicsaint

Players in the VFL ahead of him include the below.

Byrnes
Billings
Jones
Highmore
Owens

And arguably
Heath
Allison
Connelly

Disclaimer: posts are my views and shouldn't be taken as fact, even if I am in fact right.

Bytel

nostalgicsaint

SaintPav wrote: Sun 01 May 2022 6:59pmBytel
Agreed but injured apparently

Disclaimer: posts are my views and shouldn't be taken as fact, even if I am in fact right.

Sharman appears to have gone backwards since his efforts last season.

I wonder if him having a full pre-season of "St Kilda development" has affected his game. :lol:

Why was he was playing in the two's in S.A. when we recruited him, was he out of form, is he inconsistent ?

Difficult to fathom the drop off if his progress has just stalled.

SunnyErnie

Sainternist wrote: Sun 01 May 2022 5:12pm He looked like a natural in front of goal in the handful of games he played last year.

Ratts should make a statement and drop Membrey and play Sharmam in his place. Maybe by doing this it shows everyone that even if you put in one sub par performance you could find yourself in the twos!!! It’s worth a try particularly against the Dees!!!

St Kilda should never trade with Essendon and Sydney ever again!!!

NeXus

SunnyErnie wrote: Sun 01 May 2022 9:59pm

Ratts should make a statement and drop Membrey and play Sharmam in his place. Maybe by doing this it shows everyone that even if you put in one sub par performance you could find yourself in the twos!!! It’s worth a try particularly against the Dees!!!
Agree, but something has to be going on with Cooper

Bowey Boy wrote: Sun 01 May 2022 10:09pm

Membrey is going nowhere & will be in the team next week IMO anyway

The Recruit

nostalgicsaint wrote: Sun 01 May 2022 6:39pm Players in the VFL ahead of him include the below.

Byrnes
Billings
Jones
Highmore
Owens

And arguably
Heath
Allison
Connelly
I don’t agree
He plays if
King or Membrey doesn’t play

It’s not next best player in, more about team structure

The Recruit

Sharman has had injuries this year
Kicked three last week didn’t play today

bangaulegend wrote: Sun 01 May 2022 10:55pm
Bowey Boy wrote: Sun 01 May 2022 10:09pm

Membrey is going nowhere & will be in the team next week IMO anyway
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
That makes complete sense. Drop one of our team leaders and most consistent performers in the past 5 years because he had an off night. Dropping him in a rage will make everyone feel better about ourselves - until we play the Dees and realise we could have done with him.

I would much rather lose by crap kicking than lose because of some of the insipid efforts the boys put in last year. It was a bitter pill to swallow Saturday night and I was as frustrated as anyone, but seriously, talk about throwing the baby out with the bathwater

The Recruit wrote: Sun 01 May 2022 11:13pm
nostalgicsaint wrote: Sun 01 May 2022 6:39pm Players in the VFL ahead of him include the below.

Byrnes
Billings
Jones
Highmore
Owens

And arguably
Heath
Allison
Connelly
I don’t agree
He plays if
King or Membrey doesn’t play

It’s not next best player in, more about team structure
We’ll said
It’s not school footy - next in line ffs

Killa

Sharman has ability, obviously

But he was a journeyman at WWT, playing Seconds and only promoted to the League side a couple of weeks before we took him

When he debuted at St Kilda we were struggling to identify 22 fit players - hence he got his chance

And he kicked some goals - 4 against Fremantle in the last game of the year

The difference this year (thankfully) is that our List is not as decimated by injury

So Sharman is now competing for a spot in the side with available players - not there because players are unavailable

He will need to bide his time, produce and improve at VFL level and await opportunity - either because he is knocking the door down or due to injury (which gave him his opportunity last season)

With King, Membrey and Marshall/Ryder up forward as our 3 marking options who does Sharman replace?

Highmore is in the same position

The good think is the players at VFL level putting consistent pressure on seeking opportunity

Do you make wholesale changes off one 1 point loss?

No

But you do get the message across that there is pressure to perform

Noting that your class players will return at soonest - so Marshall, Billings, Clark, Jones and Hannebery as they become available

So there are those from this week who will miss out

Noting also we are playing players delisted by other sides - so recruited for depth

They are in this side because of injuries

They have not consolidated as has Sinclair and McKenzie threatens to do

And to repeat, the demographics of our List have me monitoring the development of Heath and Adams

I think Sharman should play. I think k Highmore should play.
They are not flukes.
Or lucky.

My only caveat is that perhaps AFL footy players get so fatigued late season, new comers can have an artificially high impact.

I thought Highmore is better than Webster, but you lot tell me Webster is better in a,b and c. Fair enough.

Membrey, I thought he might be dropped last year. His kicking was appalling. But He works so damn hard and is such a nice grab I concede it was hard to drop him. Like Sharman, he kicked well in the last six or so games and so it kind of camouflaged his average returns during the crucial part of the season.

Webster, I thought, was a fringe player and Highmore, I thought was a ready made Shane or Daryl Wakelin.

How about this team?

Highmore Howard Lienert
Sincs Webster Wilkie
McKenzie Hill Ross
Higgo Sharman Membrey
Gresham King Marshall

Paddo, Steele, Crouch

Int: Hunter C, Battle , Billings, Long/Paton

Sub Paton or Long

Insanity

Banger9798 wrote: Mon 02 May 2022 4:06am

Insanity
I have it on good authority...

Sydney are in the box seat to secure him and have been speaking to Sharman's manager.

I hear they will have a tonne of cap space once Buddy retires and a 10 year contract at $1m pa is on the cards.

So that's another St Kilda star Full forward to join the Swans.

Well done Coop and good luck mate :mrgreen:

SunnyErnie

Insanity
Pathetic response and typical of the standard of posters on here. You obviously have no idea of what a fan forum is all about!

NeXus
SunnyErnie

Scollop wrote: Mon 02 May 2022 7:43am

Insanity

Sydney are in the box seat to secure him and have been speaking to Sharman's manager.

I hear they will have a tonne of cap space once Buddy retires and a 10 year contract at $1m pa is on the cards.

Did you become a Saintsational Legend by posting sarcasm?

NeXus

Insanity

So Coops will be kicking handy bags for the Swans, while Maxy keeps belting those behinds though for us.

SunnyErnie wrote: Mon 02 May 2022 8:56am

Insanity

Did you become a Saintsational Legend by posting sarcasm?
Gotta have a laugh after a frustrating 1 point loss, otherwise we'd go nuts

A strange feeling of dread came over me while I was typing that furphy about the ten year contract

I thought…those prick Swines might actually offer that sort of deal to Max or Ben or even Harry Mackay who only signed a 2 year deal

Killa

To be quite frank, the likes of Webster and McKenzie were members of a very poor side, replaced by the likes of Coffield and Clark

They have persevered, and injuries have given them opportunity

But they will make way as our List returns to full strength

The same with those delisted by other Clubs and recruited by St Kilda for depth

If they were delisted by other Clubs, are they going to play in a St Kilda premiership side?

This is where our recruiting of players from other Clubs, so proven players available not rejects and our Drafting are the important blocks

We have a bunch of Drafted players showing promise - including those in their first year at the Club

The List overall remains a work in progress - but that is always the case

Killa wrote: Mon 02 May 2022 10:55am To be quite frank, the likes of Webster and McKenzie were members of a very poor side, replaced by the likes of Coffield and Clark

If they were delisted by other Clubs, are they going to play in a St Kilda premiership side?

This is where our recruiting of players from other Clubs, so proven players available not rejects and our Drafting are the important blocks

We have a bunch of Drafted players showing promise - including those in their first year at the Club

Just a correction if I may: Webster has been considered very important to our proper functioning backline for the duration of 2 coaches and so Clarke and Coff won't be replacing Jimmy in our backline any time soon me thinks.

Killa wrote: Mon 02 May 2022 10:55am To be quite frank, the likes of Webster and McKenzie were members of a very poor side, replaced by the likes of Coffield and Clark

McKenzie would be one of my first picked and Webster is more than handy. You underestimate them.

Clarke and Coffield can and will work their way back in when fit, but it wouldn’t necessarily be at the expense of those two.