Windhager

Windhager

Showed promise

Quite strong

I know same number 17 as Rod Keogh

But has similarities...running gate/shape etc

Anyone else similar thoughts

Re: Windhager

Windhager is the best midfielder we've picked since Gresham.

Lennylegs

chook23 wrote: Mon 11 Apr 2022 8:26am Showed promise

Quite strong

I know same number 17 as Rod Keogh

But has similarities...running gate/shape etc

Anyone else similar thoughts
Was at the game yesterday. Thought exactly the same thing. He didn't look out of place at all.

Ratten said that Windhager had been shaken up by having a car accident on the way to the ground yesterday. So more kudos still to him.

Showed some glimpses but a bit off the pace, which is to be expected for a young kid who has barely played footy for the past two years. Definitely had a better showing that Owens. I'd be playing him until Clark or Jones are ready to come back into the side.

D.B.Cooper

I’m keen for Owens to come in this week and join Windy & NWM.

All three in round five would be amazing.

There's only one rule in the jungle! When the LYON's hungry, he eats!
Saintmike65

D.B.Cooper wrote: Mon 11 Apr 2022 9:31am I’m keen for Owens to come in this week and join Windy & NWM.

Higgins likely the only in unless Paddy gets suspended!!

Saintmike65

It’s only a matter of time until ‘Windhager’ becomes a regular senior player.

mightysainters

Didn't think he was off the pace T all! He fit right in.. very exciting. This draft will be huge for us

mad saint guy wrote: Mon 11 Apr 2022 9:11am Showed some glimpses but a bit off the pace, which is to be expected for a young kid who has barely played footy for the past two years. Definitely had a better showing that Owens. I'd be playing him until Clark or Jones are ready to come back into the side.
I thought he adapted to the game well. Is a tough kid and will be a beauty.

magnifisaint wrote: Mon 11 Apr 2022 11:05am
mad saint guy wrote: Mon 11 Apr 2022 9:11am Showed some glimpses but a bit off the pace, which is to be expected for a young kid who has barely played footy for the past two years. Definitely had a better showing that Owens. I'd be playing him until Clark or Jones are ready to come back into the side.
I thought he adapted to the game well. Is a tough kid and will be a beauty.
Plus one. 8-)

D.B.Cooper wrote: Mon 11 Apr 2022 9:31am I’m keen for Owens to come in this week and join Windy & NWM.

I acknowledge I didn't watch the whole game (for the same reason that I don't go to the dentist except when I have to), but, from what I saw, Peris looked a fair bit closer to AFL standard than did Owens.

He will be a ripper as will Owens. I must say I rated Windy higher than Owens leading into the draft, I think his back injury is why he fell so low. Either way both are doing as well as as the majority of the recruits taken in the first round.

We will look back and say our recruiting in 2021 as being the most fruitful in our recent history - Heath, Sharman, Wanganeen-Milera, Owens, Windhager, Adams, Peris, Kyle, Hayes & Lienert. If all develop to their full potential thats 10 players added from the 1 year.

Really good to see him out there. Thought he acquitted himself really well and lacked nothing in body shape and physicality.

Looking forward to seeing him get 7-8 games this year.

Hunter Clark was not mollycoddled ... he played 20 or so games in his very first season, as an 18 y.o.

Windhager looked comfortable ... and has the physique.
So keep playing him, I reckon.

Saints58

He reminds me of a young guy who ended up being a fair player who had a similar build at the same age and was very tough.
Don't know if you herd of him its Robert Harvey he did ok.

I would legitimately consider Owens to be the better of the two as he just appears a touch higher skilled.
That said, if you saw the Sandy vs Richmond game, Windhager just destroyed their midfield with some huge clearance work. If we keep playing him, its just a matter of time. He is massively talented and already has a body for it.
Owens is a jet. He will get his chance soon.

Physique means nothing apparently?

Or does it?

Can’t have it both ways?!

BTW
Great debut by Marcus, looks a player

D.B.Cooper

Ideally you'd get 8-10 games into each of Windhager, Owens & NWM this season if they are tracking ok.
I'd do a Terry Wallace & "spew my guts" if Hannebery or Geary play in front of these guys unless there is an absolute requirement.

Billings, Jones & Clark are all easily starting 22 if fit and firing but agree all need to have at least one match at Sandy.

Of the three rookies, IMO Windhager has been the standout all year. Glad he got his opportunity and has made the most of it. Hopefully he gets a few more games and goes from strength to strength

D.B.Cooper wrote: Mon 11 Apr 2022 7:39pm Ideally you'd get 8-10 games into each of Windhager, Owens & NWM this season if they are tracking ok.
I'd do a Terry Wallace & "spew my guts" if Hannebery or Geary play in front of these guys unless there is an absolute requirement.

Billings, Jones & Clark are all easily starting 22 if fit and firing but agree all need to have at least one match at Sandy.
Higgins will be back in the side before any of those players.

Obviously
Higgins will be back this week

Those three players will get selected if they deserve it, and are better than the other players available

We are NOT rebuilding and pumping games into kids

We ARE picking the BEST team to win every week!

meher baba wrote: Mon 11 Apr 2022 9:00am Ratten said that Windhager had been shaken up by having a car accident on the way to the ground yesterday. So more kudos still to him.
Shaken but not stirred.

D.B.Cooper

Hayes or Campbell replace Ryder, who does Higgins replace if there are no injuries?

- Windhager
- NWM
- Long
- Wood
- Byrnes
- Paton

Who is likely sub?

I think Byrnes goes out, perhaps Paton as sub (not going to hurt him having a break after returning from injury) and Higgins comes in.
Most likely is Long, Windhager or NWM are sub with Brynes being replaced by Higgins.

dalboy

Wood may have a spell or Byrnes

Happiness is a warm pie!