Round 7 - 6 wins 1 loss?

After round 7 we should be 6-1

Now I know we have to take it a week at a time and all that but, seriously, if we are any good at all we should be able to beat our next 4 opponents.
Hawthorn (currently 2-1 but beaten no one)
GC Suns (1-2)
GWS Giants (1-2)
Port Adelaide (0-3)

That should then set up a top of the table clash between the Saints and Demons in round 8.

Re: Round 7 - 6 wins 1 loss?

Jacks Back wrote: Mon 04 Apr 2022 11:41pm After round 7 we should be 6-1

Now I know we have to take it a week at a time and all that but, seriously, if we are any good at all we should be able to beat our next 4 opponents.
GC Suns (1-2)
GWS Giants (1-2)
Port Adelaide (0-3)

That should then set up a top of the table clash between the Saints and Demons in round 8.
Love your optimism JB I hope your on the money :wink:

Getting cocky, aren't we?

3 - 4

Or

4 - 3

KOD

I'll take 3-1 thanks.

Hawthorn were the last team to beat Melbourne last year. They also beat the Bulldogs late in the season and drew with Richmond at the MCG at the end of the year.

They can play alright. One week at a time thanks.

Duplicate post.
Last edited by samuraisaint on Tue 05 Apr 2022 9:12pm, edited 1 time in total.

Drew with Richmond? They must be good. Tigers have won 4 out of the last 13.

One week at a time! Let’s just beat the hawks at the G - not as easy as we would have predicted preseason

Saintmike65

Let’s not get ahead of ourselves…Hawthorn will be tough!!

GC Suns (1-2)
GWS Giants (1-2)
Port Adelaide (0-3)

We've beaten Port Adelaide once in ten seasons and we play them in Cairns, the site of the Crows disaster last year. We would want to play four quarters this time.

kosifantutti wrote: Tue 05 Apr 2022 9:06pm Drew with Richmond? They must be good. Tigers have won 4 out of the last 13.
They also beat Brisbane too.

No easybeats. I think we'll win, but this will be a good test.

Saintmike65 wrote: Tue 05 Apr 2022 9:14pm Let’s not get ahead of ourselves…Hawthorn will be tough!!
I tend to agree and it's a reason I'm not doing cartwheels until I see the result of this game.

This is a game we should win and we must win. It is the type of game a team striving for credibility and consistency must win. A game we've failed to win in the past.

Hawks record over the last 7 games is outstanding
They will be missing McEvoy and Wingard from their best 22
Our outs of Higgins, Clark, Jones, Billings hurt more imo.
A massive test to back up from last week’s effort.

Hawthorn have been very good so far this year IMO . They should have beaten Carlton & flogged Port on their own dung heap so they're no easy beats that's for sure . I would hope we have a game plan that would exploit their weaknesses & play a brand of footy that will facilitate a win but I know how things can go pear shaped pretty quickly . I'm still confident but not cocky that's for sure

We beat the dorks 128 to 59 last outing and we weren't going that well at round 7 last year after a couple of floggings.

Jacks Back wrote: Wed 06 Apr 2022 11:06pm We beat the dorks 128 to 59 last outing and we weren't going that well at round 7 last year after a couple of floggings.
Yeah mate you obviously know your history so I'm pretty sure you know when we were over ten goals up at half time against the Dorks I think early 2000's & lost . I take nothing for granted I'm Saint supporter :wink:

SunnyErnie

GC Suns (1-2)
GWS Giants (1-2)
Port Adelaide (0-3)

OMG :evil: :roll:

St Kilda should never trade with Essendon and Sydney ever again!!!

NeXus

This was all a bit tongue in cheek because, as a Saints supporter, I know all to well that we haven't won until we're in front at the final siren (and even then we sometimes lose - Freo in Tassie). I was just feeling cocky after beating the Tigers last Sunday. Maybe I've been too cocky.

These crucial 'tipping point' games are generally the ones where we totally sh*t the bed, so there's a long way to go yet!

Jacks Back wrote: Thu 07 Apr 2022 9:53am This was all a bit tongue in cheek because, as a Saints supporter, I know all to well that we haven't won until we're in front at the final siren (and even then we sometimes lose - Freo in Tassie). I was just feeling cocky after beating the Tigers last Sunday. Maybe I've been too cocky.
Don't worry Jacks Back, I think SunnyErnie was just expressing his frustration at some of the ridiculous Threads / OPs that have popped up recently.

SunnyErnie

Jacks Back wrote: Thu 07 Apr 2022 9:53am This was all a bit tongue in cheek because, as a Saints supporter, I know all to well that we haven't won until we're in front at the final siren (and even then we sometimes lose - Freo in Tassie). I was just feeling cocky after beating the Tigers last Sunday. Maybe I've been too cocky.
All good Jack. I hope your prediction comes true!!!!! :mrgreen:

NeXus
SunnyErnie

Ghost Like wrote: Thu 07 Apr 2022 11:13am
Don't worry Jacks Back, I think SunnyErnie was just expressing his frustration at some of the ridiculous Threads / OPs that have popped up recently.
There has been a spate of them lately. :mrgreen:

NeXus

3-1 now.

I think the toughest team to play against for us (out of the next three) is Gold Coast as we always seem to have close games against them (I thought this prior to them beating the Blues).