Round 3 Game thread

Fugazi1966

Re: Round 3 Game thread

For everyone watching at home, can I recommend a walk?
Beautiful day...and absolutely nothing worth watching on TV

So where was plan B . Annihilated in the first & again in the second & piss poor response in the third lets not forget we are playing an undermanned team that probably won't make the 8. Stunned by the lack of response from the coaching department. I think its going to be a long year

desertsaint wrote: Sat 03 Apr 2021 6:44pm
desertsaint wrote: Sat 03 Apr 2021 6:43pm set it up for a record last quarter comeback. 10 goals to zilch. let's go fellas!
make that 10 goals 2 to zilch!
Essendon could hit the showers now
Think we would still stuff it up

Our players looked physically spent at the 5 minute mark of the first quarter. Been running through treacle. Something's up.

This is f****** pathetic

Party time!

Scoreboard flattered us last week

Dees kick better we lose by 50-60

Now this

It is disgraceful

Rips the heart out

AGAIN.....

SAINT-LEE

B.M wrote: Sat 03 Apr 2021 6:29pm Again

Small forwards are not the issue

-100 possessions = midfield
Spot on, we have tried, but I feel as if teams act like they can't live without mids and we throw the lot at them but really teams can't wait to flog them off...
Hill
Hannebury
Crouch

There have been so many great mids in both the draft and trade that we couldn't access either for lack of big enough offer or lack of interest due to our recent 148 yr history (I reckon from 1897 - 1913 the lads looked quite sharp and I enjoyed the 1913 season with a tough loss to Fitzroy in the Grand Final).

We need to breed them through draft that's how we've always gotten our best mids....
Harvey
Steven
Smith
Hayes

Etc

Fugazi1966

cwrcyn wrote: Sat 03 Apr 2021 6:46pm Our players looked physically spent at the 5 minute mark of the first quarter. Been running through treacle. Something's up.
Massive night round at Crouchy's last night?

Newman

I just looked at my Saints membership sticker and badge. I will be posting back to club and saying when the team shows something .... you can return to me. This is insipid, embarrassing football. And I'm hurting big time. Never imagined we could be so BAD.

sendmehomehappy

At work, just checked the score.

What a shock!

Last week’s capitulation was no fluke after all.

This team is full of pretenders

" If thought corrupts language then language can also corrupt thought."

Politics and the English Language George Orwell

Not the reason.. obviously but...

The umpiring is disgraceful

Free against Long for blocking

Hooker does exactly, EXACTLY the same thing.. not paid

" A few will never give up on you. When you go back out on the field, those are the people I want in your minds. Those are the people I want in your hearts."

— Coach Eric Taylor - Friday Night Lights
Ape_Man

For the list we are supposed to have, this may be the worst loss I have witnesssd.

I put some Benny Hill music on and it’s much more enjoyable! :lol:

Easily the worst loss

But list is overrated

So is the coach

100 coming up

" A few will never give up on you. When you go back out on the field, those are the people I want in your minds. Those are the people I want in your hearts."

— Coach Eric Taylor - Friday Night Lights

Yeah well done Dougal :lol:

There is no defending this .

Insipid performance from a bunch of front running big heads.

We cannot carry three small forwards if they cannot be accountable.

Hill needs to be dropped. As simple as that.

Zac Jones' kicking is a liability.

Our defensive effort is completely gone. It was a strength last year. Looks like we slurped on our bathwater over summer. We look unfit. Unable to make a contest or at least unwilling.

You should be offended by this loss. Absolutely disgraceful performance and there are no excuses for it.

Essendon walked us. Completely and totally walked us. No system, no forward structure. Disposal not up to AFL standard. No urgency. No effort.

Ten tackles in a half is completely unacceptable. They were LAUGHING at us at half time. The Essendon coaches box was LAUGHING.

Every single player that took the field today needs to be on notice. Each one, to a man were repeatedly found out for lack of effort. Even #9 at times.

The softies on this forum will defend the players as usual. Blah Blah Blah. Defend the coach. Blah Blah Blah.

This is weak as piss. Absolutely unforgiveable.

We wont play finals this year.

SaintJohno

Wtf we go this bad and Merret hasn't even got the decency to crack a tonne as captain in my fantasy team?? The world's gone topsy turvy.

SAINT-LEE

Peeps like.....worst season worst game ever.

Memories sloshing around of losses....
Remember....
1919 loss to South Melbourne by 171 pts
Or
Richmond smacking us by 152 pts in 1980
Or
Hawthorn flogging us by 145 pts in 2014?

I've just touched the highlights trust me....when it comes to get defiled we hold the record....

So settle please

It looks like Ratten is not the Messiah, either is Gags by the look of the skills of some of his recruits. Some of these players wouldn't look out of place at Furrito's farm.

Will the Saints ever be classed as a good club ?

maybe a 100 point loss will wake us up. really got ahead of ourselves after a strange and shortened year. i thought we'd be finishing around 10th this year. highly doubt it now.

SaintJohno

SAINT-LEE wrote: Sat 03 Apr 2021 6:58pm Peeps like.....worst season worst game ever.

Memories sloshing around of losses....
Remember....
1919 loss to South Melbourne by 171 pts
Or
Richmond smacking us by 152 pts in 1980
Or
Hawthorn flogging us by 145 pts in 2014?

I've just touched the highlights trust me....when it comes to get defiled we hold the record....

So settle please
Sweet Jesus Saint Lee, you must be on your last legs going back to your 1919 memories. I like your attempt at calming us, namaste.

axcellence

I was telling my wife the other day that I am giving up on the footy soon due to all rubbish afl rule changes, "don't stand due to covid" for the crowds, etc.

Now, I have more reasons to follow through... Bye guys

Well done Seb :lol: