Banger

Banger

Maybe a front runner for the Roos job.

Don't do it mate. Coaching suicide.

Re: Banger

I feel like the Roos job needs a very particular type of personality

Reckon it needs someone that has a certain charisma in addition to authority... disregarding Shaw, NM coaches of late have this kind of angry men feel to them

Need to sell an image of warmth and enthusiasm...

One word to describe North Melbourne over 5 years: joyless comes to mind.

I don’t reckon it’s a good fit for Harvey... I think he’ll be very good on a beneath the surface level, will carve out a lot of positive relationships but he doesn’t come across as someone that could also be an ambassador type

They could do worse than get Pagan back. Perhaps Malthouse, either way I think a hard edge is required otherwise they will simply disappear.

Ghost Like wrote: Fri 13 Nov 2020 1:21pm They could do worse than get Pagan back. Perhaps Malthouse, either way I think a hard edge is required otherwise they will simply disappear.
Pagan or perhaps Williams.

Clarkson should go

why

coz
if you are the best
u move to the sh1t mob

thats the aussie way of doing things

barry bonus points
: u can prove that u actually are the best
: your new mob become believers from day 1

saynta wrote: Fri 13 Nov 2020 1:26pm
Ghost Like wrote: Fri 13 Nov 2020 1:21pm They could do worse than get Pagan back. Perhaps Malthouse, either way I think a hard edge is required otherwise they will simply disappear.
Mmm...

Forgot about Williams

I reckon he would be a good choice

beebarry

I dont think there is any way in hell they will go for another asst coach without senior experience. Might be wrong but with the amount of upheaval at NM at the moment they need a steady hand. Could do a lot worse than Ross Lyin actually. not that i give a stuff either way .....

but please ...not Banger .....come back to the Saints #35 .....be part of our 2022 premiership .....Collingwood is full of pr**ks and surely you have had a gutful of working for Buckley and Eddie, especially now ?

come home mate .....its time......would cap off a fantastically positive couple of years .....

how would we feel if he got the Roos multiple premierships.

Richo!

Mark Williams would be perfect choice for the Roos. High profile, controversial, good in the media. Great on player development and culture.

Malthouse would also be a good choice. As would James Hird.

If they appoint yet another untried assistant, it will be a disaster for them. Especially someone like Harvey who is pretty meek and mild publicly.

Ross Lyon turned them down.

Legendary wrote: Fri 13 Nov 2020 2:14pm Mark Williams would be perfect choice for the Roos. High profile, controversial, good in the media. Great on player development and culture.

Malthouse would also be a good choice. As would James Hird.

If they appoint yet another untried assistant, it will be a disaster for them. Especially someone like Harvey who is pretty meek and mild publicly.

Ross Lyon turned them down.
Ross would have said, 'Call me when you have a winning squad and prepare a big fat cheque.'

Noble from the Lions would be my choice. Older more experienced, been through a team rebuild at the Lions, highly thought of in the AFL and has a good media persona.

George27

Given Pagan’s current profession, if he returns to coaching he will definitely have The Horse at full forward !

It is suicide for anyone with coaching ambitions.
This is the job for someone who wants to coach for three years and retire.
Someone who has been a senior coach a few times.
Ross Lyon is not ready to retire.
John Worsfold, or Rodney Eade maybe.

You know you can't succeed with that list and management.
But you can do the job to the best of your abilities and expect the impatient bums to sack you.
You know the club will employ you, blame you, not themselves and sack you.
Even though it is a consequence of the draft, trade and salary cap rules of the AFL that clubs eventually take their turn at the bottom.

Impatient Sainter wrote: Fri 13 Nov 2020 4:07pm Noble from the Lions would be my choice. Older more experienced, been through a team rebuild at the Lions, highly thought of in the AFL and has a good media persona.
Agree, like Fagan at Brisbane they he is older, experienced in modern footy and would be a manager as opposed to a coach. Milkshake, Pagan etc have had their time.

I believe Fagan barely takes training drills and its majority left to his assistants, his role is more l;ike a Premier League Team manager than a traditional coach.

Send them down to Tassie. Longmire should go back.

Banger is a legend & apart from Lockett & maybe Baldock the next greatest player to pull on a saints jumper IMO , but as a coach I really don't know if he has mongrel to be a AFL coach .Too much of a nice bloke which is a great attribute but its a brutal industry & I would hate to see him as the next Reece Shaw .

agree with ace. take the money. leave in three years. retire in peace. they're still s***. celebrate that year you didn't win the wooden spoon.

Can’t see Harvey ever coaching tbh
This is a Gary Ayres special they wheel him out every time these type gigs come up followed the regular mates rate article from Dermott telling us all what a tactical genius he is

I honestly think North should think about Tassie I just can’t see where their supporter heartland is going to come from...we have bayside covered......they’ve got empty factories everywhere through north...don’t see it

desertsaint wrote: Fri 13 Nov 2020 9:38pm agree with ace. take the money. leave in three years. retire in peace. they're still s***. celebrate that year you didn't win the wooden spoon.
Yep. And for that reason, Gary Ayres should be mentioned regularly. Perfect man manager and the media would have a hard time grilling him. Let him groom their successor and he can then slide on out.

On a serious note, I think Ross Lyon might bite. Would suit him. He’s coming off a square cut to the chin with Freo. Wants to coach. Likes the smell of blood.

The Peanut

Williams still has the passion

Harves Man

skeptic wrote: Fri 13 Nov 2020 12:40pm I feel like the Roos job needs a very particular type of personality

Reckon it needs someone that has a certain charisma in addition to authority... disregarding Shaw, NM coaches of late have this kind of angry men feel to them

Need to sell an image of warmth and enthusiasm...

One word to describe North Melbourne over 5 years: joyless comes to mind.

I don’t reckon it’s a good fit for Harvey... I think he’ll be very good on a beneath the surface level, will carve out a lot of positive relationships but he doesn’t come across as someone that could also be an ambassador type
This is a very shrewd assessment, in my view and totally agree with the overall descriptor of "joyless"!

Harves Man

saynta wrote: Fri 13 Nov 2020 1:26pm
Yes, clever suggestion about Williams.