Bulldogs Chasing Lonie

johnearljames

Bulldogs Chasing Lonie

Not a bad depth player but is he realistically in our next finals winning side? I would say no.

Bulldogs can have him I reckon.

We need to recruit another small forward at Butlers calibre. Plus get Gresham to play 50/50 forward/mid also.

Want to watch the most boring and devious thing on television and probably in mankind's history, then tune into a daily live press conference at 11am.
The_President

Re: Bulldogs Chasing Lonie

The ol’ Bigfooty rumour 😂

johnearljames

The_President wrote: Fri 11 Sep 2020 7:45pm The ol’ Bigfooty rumour 😂
Nah Preso. On Fox Footy website.

Want to watch the most boring and devious thing on television and probably in mankind's history, then tune into a daily live press conference at 11am.

Diligent manager at work?

What’s might we glean?
Package up Kent if even do 2 for 1

PADDLEPOP1001

No one in their right mind takes Kent how he is still getting a game is anyone’s guess,one sided in this day & age & very little pressure/hardness!

PADDLEPOP1000
George27

Teflon wrote: Fri 11 Sep 2020 8:04pm What’s might we glean?
Package up Kent if even do 2 for 1
Lonie for a 3rd rounder .

Lonie and Kent for a 4th rounder !

If the Bulldogs forward line had both Bruce and Lonie in it their supporters would be going ape droppings after the first couple of rounds.

2 blokes who mostly go where the ball aint.

If we can get a 3rd round pick I would considerate it . IMO he's not a bad player but not a good player just doesn't do enough consistently

Sure.

Straight swap for Caleb Daniel.

👍

Frustrating cos he could be anything, but isn't.

SaintPav wrote: Fri 11 Sep 2020 9:51pm Sure.

👍
Bit of irony in such a swap.

Caleb was the player I wanted with that pick

johnearljames wrote: Fri 11 Sep 2020 7:28pm Not a bad depth player but is he realistically in our next finals winning side? I would say no.

We need to recruit another small forward at Butlers calibre. Plus get Gresham to play 50/50 forward/mid also.
Agree.

Move Billings there as well or to Half Back.

Sexton from GC is what we need and Williams or Couch and Caldwell.

skeptic wrote: Fri 11 Sep 2020 9:55pm
SaintPav wrote: Fri 11 Sep 2020 9:51pm Sure.

👍
Bit of irony in such a swap.

Caleb was the player I wanted with that pick
We didn't have the guts to select him.

I doubt the Bulldogs will trade him.

They probably want Lonie for next to nothing as well.

While we may not have a choice, I think we need to be careful who we give away at the end of the year. I rate Lonie ahead of Kent and Hind.

Dogs took Daniel before we had a chance I think.

There are a couple of sides that would be looking long and hard at Lonie.

bigred wrote: Fri 11 Sep 2020 10:10pm Dogs took Daniel before we had a chance I think.

That's because he has talent and skill.

When he's flying he's better than Kent and Hind.

We should keep him.

I'd probably be getting rid of Kent first but he has another year on his contract and they seem to love him when he's available.

bigred wrote: Fri 11 Sep 2020 10:10pm Dogs took Daniel before we had a chance I think.

Yeah I agree has footy smarts that in a good team would be an asset but too inconsistent for mine

Again IF they can do a deal a pick that meets our requirements we should do it
He ain’t Milne
He goes awol often
If he has some type currency do it

with gresh in the midfield we've got just two decent small forwards, and lonie is one of them.

johnearljames wrote: Fri 11 Sep 2020 7:28pm Not a bad depth player but is he realistically in our next finals winning side? I would say no.

In our next finals winning side - could only be three weeks away mate.

Hugh Goddard at 21
Daniel McKenzie at 22
Jack Lonie went at pick 41
Caleb Daniel went at 46

desertsaint wrote: Fri 11 Sep 2020 10:27pm with gresh in the midfield we've got just two decent small forwards, and lonie is one of them.
Butler Gresham rest forward
I’ve never liked small specialist forwards I’d rather rest a mid there who can jag a goal tbh

Teflon wrote: Fri 11 Sep 2020 10:30pm
desertsaint wrote: Fri 11 Sep 2020 10:27pm with gresh in the midfield we've got just two decent small forwards, and lonie is one of them.
Butler Gresham rest forward
I’ve never liked small specialist forwards I’d rather rest a mid there who can jag a goal tbh
Lordy Lordy somebody else sees the light

Have been preaching this all year and we played 4 of them last night

George27

Nope we took Lonie at 41, they took Daniel at 46. I recall there was a big push on this forum for us to pick Daniel. Those who advocated for him have been proven correct. ( I was not amongst them - I have no idea re the under 18s ! )

The most natural small forwards in the club are Gresham and Billings . We have tried to make them into midfielders . For next season I reckon we would be better off playing them forward . Time for Clark to go into the middle, and hopefully ( hopefully ) Hannebery can stand up as well. Sinclair starting to look like a midfielder too.

I reckon we draft another midfielder , and go with a forward line of

Billings Membrey Gresham
Battle King Butler

George27 wrote: Fri 11 Sep 2020 10:33pm

Nope we took Lonie at 41, they took Daniel at 46. I recall there was a big push on this forum for us to pick Daniel. Those who advocated for him have been proven correct. ( I was not amongst them - I have no idea re the under 18s ! )

The most natural small forwards in the club are Gresham and Billings . We have tried to make them into midfielders . For next season I reckon we would be better off playing them forward . Time for Clark to go into the middle, and hopefully ( hopefully ) Hannebery can stand up as well. Sinclair starting to look like a midfielder too.

I reckon we draft another midfielder , and go with a forward line of

Billings Membrey Gresham
Battle King Butler
I’m not sure Billings gets it enough or offers that manic forward pressure you need tbh