Hill

saints66

Hill

Hill hit everyone by foot he had a ripper loved watching him best game
can run.

Re: Hill

By foot maybe.

By hand, not so much...

Poor bloke, with smaller crowds he can hear the footsteps from further away!
To think people here considered Billings soft...

Interesting post. I thought he was poor last night. Too often failed to take the first option which resulted in turnovers or putting a teammate under pressure. Also failed to tackle on a number of critical ocassions. Needs to lift.

Peanut Farm

whiskers3614 wrote: Fri 07 Aug 2020 9:45am Poor bloke, with smaller crowds he can hear the footsteps from further away!
To think people here considered Billings soft...
Good call. Could be the softest players I've seen in a while. If it was anyone else, they'd be dropped quick smart & told to harden up.
Hugely overrated player-right place, right time for the premierships.

If it wasn’t for his good disposal by foot I doubt he would get a game at the moment

There was a moment where the ball had gone to ground and he stood back to wait for the ball to be tapped to him where he could’ve easily got hit himself it wasn’t a hard ball but he just didn’t go in

Can’t believe I’m the one saying this but geeeez some of you guys are tough critics.

I thought he was alright. Got a lot of ball and for the most part used it well and we looked a hell of a lot more dangerous when he was the one kicking it forward.

He was ever present...
Ran all day and was around a heap of contests. Note that he features quite a bit on the highlights reel but not as the guy that finishes the play. Also note that he’s wearing a tough tag, and that conditions were both slippery and the opponents fierce.
Further to that, both Gresh and Jones we’re down on output compared to usual.

Reckon the coaches will be rapt with what he’s bringing to the table... and his work rate in particular.

Absolutely not soft IMO... I think that’s armchair quarterbacking at its finest.

Only real suggestion I have for him was that he had a tendency especially in the first half to handball quite a bit instead of kick.
Pbly suggests that we were stagnant in our movement up the ground at times but we looked a lot better once he started kicking more

An enigma
His running is exceptional, and would come into his own with longer quarters.
His evasion and speed are elite.
He uses it by foot very well. Hits up targets better than anyone wearing a St Kilda jumper in the last 5 years.
But I have to agree that he is the softest footy player I have seen...bruise free and only tackles when He absolutely has to.

Some players can take a season to settle in to their new clubs, so I will give him the benefit of the doubt. He looks very tentative. It’s obviously psychological.

On his current output, he’s not worth 2 first rounders.

Dan on the other hand...who would have thought?

skeptic wrote: Fri 07 Aug 2020 10:10am Can’t believe I’m the one saying this but geeeez some of you guys are tough critics.
I hear what you say but I guess it stems from what we expect from him re-value for money and his history, Maybe I am being a bit harsh but he does seem soft

skeptic wrote: Fri 07 Aug 2020 10:10am
Can’t believe I’m the one saying this but geeeez some of you guys are tough critics.
Me too.

fugazi wrote: Fri 07 Aug 2020 10:10am An enigma
His running is exceptional, and would come into his own with longer quarters.
His evasion and speed are elite.
He uses it by foot very well. Hits up targets better than anyone wearing a St Kilda jumper in the last 5 years.
But I have to agree that he is the softest footy player I have seen...bruise free and only tackles when He absolutely has to.
Well, we have been crying out for an outside elite player for years and we got it.

He needs to play to his strengths - run and kick - he doesn't need to handball

His game has been built around receiving the ball on the outside hence why you never see him go inside - not sure it can be changed

He is no Winmar

SaintPav wrote: Fri 07 Aug 2020 10:11am Some players can take a season to settle in to their new clubs, so I will give him the benefit of the doubt. He looks very tentative. It’s obviously psychological.

On his current output, he’s not worth 2 first rounders.

Dan on the other hand...who would have thought?
You need to change your avatar to the good Dan, not the evil failure Dan.

Devilhead wrote: Fri 07 Aug 2020 10:31amHis game has been built around receiving the ball on the outside hence why you never see him go inside - not sure it can be changed

And why would you change it? Let him play to his strengths. You need outside class. It takes all types.

The Fireman wrote: Fri 07 Aug 2020 10:18am
skeptic wrote: Fri 07 Aug 2020 10:10am Can’t believe I’m the one saying this but geeeez some of you guys are tough critics.
I hear what you say but I guess it stems from what we expect from him re-value for money and his history, Maybe I am being a bit harsh but he does seem soft
I don't believe Bradley Hill is soft, he's an outside mid/wingman and doesn't have the physique to get involved in the heavy lifting. His instructions from the coach would be to stay on the outside and utilise his speed to clear the ball into the forward line.

His pace and disposal skills are elite which is recognised by opposition coaches who invariably apply a heavy tag on him, because they know that his ability to pinpoint the ball to forwards is devastating.

Come finals I have no doubt he will be key to the team's success because he dances on the big stage like few others...

He's class IMO. A V8 running on about 3 cylinders at present but slowly improving each match. A quality ball user by foot, probably our best field kick. I'd like him to get closer to goal.

Last night his greatest flaw was his handballing, trying to bring players into the game by honouring their run. The handball to Long in the 3rd quarter was a howler.

He attracts the opposition and I think this has allowed others more scope. Players like Steele, Jones, Gresham, Billings look better for having him.

bigcarl wrote: Fri 07 Aug 2020 10:45am
Devilhead wrote: Fri 07 Aug 2020 10:31amHis game has been built around receiving the ball on the outside hence why you never see him go inside - not sure it can be changed

And why would you change it? Let him play to his strengths. You need outside class. It takes all types.
Errrrr ..... yes I agree with you - just responding to some saying he should be more inside

IMO it’s also the case of the coaching staff advising him not to go for the hardball unless he absolutely has to.

May not have been a strong feature of his game last night... but he’s put his body on the line quite a few times this season and gotten crunched andI dare say the hope would be to protect him as much as possible whilst scooping the ball out to him

His disposal by foot is the best I've ever seen.

skeptic wrote: Fri 07 Aug 2020 11:18am whilst scooping the ball out to him
LOLOLOLOLOLOL - I see what you did there!

freely wrote: Fri 07 Aug 2020 11:20am His disposal by foot is the best I've ever seen.
Goddard and Winmar were better.

Won't get a stat for that effort when he ran the length of the ground then chased down a lose ball in the goal square and we goaled. No GC player could go with him.

Opens up the far side of the ground with his gut running opening up the corridoor for us to go through.

I think Aussie Jones might have been as soft and just as accurate. I'm happy to have him and expecting him to reach another level before the season is over.

We recruited an outside player, but some seem surprised that he is playing as an outside player.