Training

Re: Training

The_President wrote:
It's sounds like a very soft approach, but that's honestly the best results. They all know how to kick goal, you just have to get them to forget about the pressure.
That's easily done ... until the pressure is on, which is nearly every game unless you are 10 goals up. Then all the technical flaws come back to haunt them.

If it doesn't stand up to pressure much of the time, it's faulty. Which is not to say it can ever be made perfect, only more reliable.

So what happened at training this week Tony?

Bluthy wrote:Email me if you would like to subscribe to my newlsetter and/or death cult. Good day sir.
I want in.
I love the sacrifices that undercover cops make. They deserve more recognition.

magnifisaint wrote:So what happened at training this week Tony?
Mouthguards compulsory.
Session was 'positive'
Squad was 'strong'
The effort was 'reasonable'

WellardSaint wrote:
magnifisaint wrote:So what happened at training this week Tony?
Mouthguards compulsory.
Session was 'positive'
Squad was 'strong'
The effort was 'reasonable'
Pleasing. :)

BigMart wrote:Basketballers dont miss free throws if they are pros

great golfers sink puts

Johnny Wilkinson never missed

being able to 'park' the occasion and perform the skill is necessary... yes it takes mental stregth. but they are paid 500k to be mentally strong and able to perform basic skills
Obviously you know sfa about golf. The best players in the world (PGA golfers) would equate to the best Aussie rules footballers (AFL)
The PGA tour average numbers of putts missed from about 8 foot (actually 7ft 10 inches) is 50% and drops quite quickly as distance increases.
You obviously watch too many highlights!

Holing a 10 footer is obviously harder than kicking a goal from 35m... I don't think you should miss from that distance. I saw every put under 6ft as ones I should make everyday of the week.... 6-10ft I would drop on a good day more often than not, on a bad day miss my share... Outside that, you're happy if you make it... Take a 2 put if not.

Played footy for a long time, play golf still (off 8 atm) ... Also played grade cricket for near on 25 years...

So knowing sfa about both sports is only your assumption...

BigMart wrote:Holing a 10 footer is obviously harder than kicking a goal from 35m... I don't think you should miss from that distance. I saw every put under 6ft as ones I should make everyday of the week.... 6-10ft I would drop on a good day more often than not, on a bad day miss my share... Outside that, you're happy if you make it... Take a 2 put if not.

Played footy for a long time, play golf still (off 8 atm) ... Also played grade cricket for near on 25 years...

FIGJAM :roll:

But it's ok for someone who hasn't a clue about me to suggest I know nothing... Just stating, what I know comes from a little experience... So before some declares others clueless.. Perhaps consider that you have no idea about who that is...

I reckon a lot of people on here haven't a lot of experience... Have you?

Bluthy wrote:
tony74 wrote:Reluctant to comment !
All I'll say was mouth guards were required.
So the players were obviously tired from two huge tackling/pressure games and instead of refreshing the squad they made one change. And now Richo smashes the players at training. Yeah that's a great approach to a young team tired by a long season doing Richo's high tackling game plan. Let me guess - it will just be Fish in, Wright out when we our squad is in desperate need of rejuvenation.
I think AR has it under control.

tony74 wrote:
Bluthy wrote:
So the players were obviously tired from two huge tackling/pressure games and instead of refreshing the squad they made one change. And now Richo smashes the players at training. Yeah that's a great approach to a young team tired by a long season doing Richo's high tackling game plan. Let me guess - it will just be Fish in, Wright out when we our squad is in desperate need of rejuvenation.
Love ya work Tony! :lol:

BringBackMadDog wrote:
tony74 wrote:
Bluthy wrote:
This

Bluthy wrote:
felix wrote:
Bluthy wrote:
Now is the time to push hard , if we are to play finals for the next few years we need a hardened group not some team that takes the easy way out , that will not win us a flag.
Oh yeah - get em HARD baby. Just like Lonie. You remember Lonie don't you - used to be a great little creative player for us who set up others with his precise passing. But Richo played him to death cos he wanted to make him HARD and STRONG and made him tackle trucks until he was as flat as a tack. Just like Gresham - you remember Gresham came in being able to pass the ball brilliantly from his junior footy. But Richo wants to make him HARD and STRONG - makes hiM tackle trucks too anD run run run little fella with forward pressure (HARD) until your legs drops off - who cares you are a first year small player get HARD. Low and behold Gresh can't pass the ball well. What a surprise. And Dunny - Richo has a first year player with a half decent physique - brilliant I can make him SUPER HARD - play him every single game in the bone crunching viciousness of the inside contested ball against beasts like Danger and Kennedy and Mitchell and huge bodied mids been in the caper for years who love to smash up first year players. Get Dunny HARD Richo and destroy his outside game that looked great when he first started.

Richo loves HARD. Richo loves players being STRONG for...yeah, yeah...he was STRONG for us last week...nah we weren't STRONG last night. You know what is STRONG from a coach RICHO? One who pursues his own vision and says to the players "Come with me, we may not get a lot of wins, our ladder position may not be great but we are learnign something here that will hold us in good stead. We are going where the others can't."

It may even nearly cost them their job like Clarkson and Thompson - that is STRONG and BRAVE. Finishing in no mans land 9th so everyone pats you on the back and tells you how consistently you are improving - a steady upward climb - and you know you job is safe - is that BRAVE? Is that STRONG. Just ask Richmond the 9th specialists - neither fish nor fowl - neither good draft picks or valuable finals experience - who are now looking at 10 more years in the wildness. Yeah ignore roating the squad and trying to find the gold in the trash.

Take the safe route. Just play your favs and run them down doing the stifling pressure and tackling that you know will give you some improvement and make your job safe. But also screws up our chance at getting more genuine class draft picks that screws up our future. Why risk any radical tactics or trying to develop clever zones that take time to get right and make you look like an ordinary coach early until the players really lock it in an gives you a competitive advantage later down the track. Its all about the now.

Lets trade out our top pick for a guys who will get us into the finals so I can get all the appludits of being a FINALS COACH. Oh man that sounds so good want to say it again - a FINALS COACH. Who cares that we won't be able to win the flag because I took short cuts. Short term thinking is so BRAVE. We need more of that.

But yeah. Lets get them HARD this week. It matters so much they beat a bottom team in a HARD way with STRONG football. Its not like Clarksons success is underpinned by some clever system or anything. All he had to do was say to his players - be HARD be STRONG and voila - 4 flags. Easy No need to do it the HARD way :shock:
STFU

Edited due to drunken enthusiasm
Last edited by Sainter_Dad on Sun 07 Aug 2016 8:04pm, edited 1 time in total.

The_President wrote:It's got nothing to do with hiring an "expert" and bringing him in to teach them how to kick.
Changing their routines/run up's/style will only cause problems.

These guys are elite. They're playing AFL because they are the BEST of the best.
They would make those shots time and time again if they were just mucking around with their mates at the local oval.

It's all mindset, take the pressure off them. Get them to relax, support them if they miss. Don't let it build up.

It's sounds like a very soft approach, but that's honestly the best results. They all know how to kick goal, you just have to get them to forget about the pressure.

Tweaking the technique time & time again will end up giving us a bunch of Trav Clokes
Amen to that - even Roo looked confident today!

Bluthy wrote:Email me if you would like to subscribe to my newlsetter and/or death cult. Good day sir.
I want in.
Me too. About time I joined a decent cult.

tony74 wrote:
Bluthy wrote:

hee hee.

BigMart wrote:Holing a 10 footer is obviously harder than kicking a goal from 35m... I don't think you should miss from that distance. I saw every put under 6ft as ones I should make everyday of the week.... 6-10ft I would drop on a good day more often than not, on a bad day miss my share... Outside that, you're happy if you make it... Take a 2 put if not.

You made the garbage statements, claiming facts that are not true, then others suggest that they are not factual.

I stated a factual reply giving you the percentage number of putts missed by PGA pros . You also stated garbage about pros not missing "puts" , and also about Basketballers and Wilkinson , they both do miss more often than you claim ( I can't be bothered looking up JW ...but I think his conversion rate was around-low 90%), I have see him miss

So want to change you post to great golfers miss putts? And where the hell did goals from 35 meters / versus putts come from ?

AFL players are the elite, just like the rest of the sports types you mentioned, they are not perfect ....but then as you reckon you know everything and are sooooo good - pop down the club and give them a few goal kicking pointers, and show Fisher how to "put" while your at it.

just to try to help you out with your golf story ...if you have played off single figures for years then you may know it's putt , not "put" as you wrote three times!

You make things up as you go... No clue ..you know SFA , or you would t make such outlandish statements.

SemperFidelis wrote:
BringBackMadDog wrote:
tony74 wrote:
Bluthy wrote:
This
That!