Sack the Coach (revisited)

The Recruit

Re: Sack the Coach (revisited)

saintbob wrote:Our rebuild went out the window when they kept the following players on the list;

Wright
Armitage
Lonie
Gilbert
Minchington

Gilbo and Armo have been warriors but the game has gone past them, the other 3 are nothing more than list cloggers.

The contract extension for Pearce was unfathomable.
We are club that embraces mediocrity like no other.
Look at our captain.

And sack the next coach before he gets here, he's sure to be a 'dud' and think of the money we'll save

By seasons end AR will be the second most unsuccessful coach of the modern era after Robert Shaw (Crows, Fitzroy).

Something for us to aim for.

Furphy wrote:And sack the next coach before he gets here, he's sure to be a 'dud' and think of the money we'll save
The coach is approaching the 100 game mark.
He has had a good go at it.

AR wants to play a Crows style game plan but we don't have the leg speed and kicking skills to do it.
This makes us look horrible when we turn it over.

axcellence

I'd say sack the footy program manager (which they have to an extent)
And the CEO

Who signed off not signing Fyfe or chasing any other big money player?

Richmond went out of finals to bottom 6 and came back to win the premiership.

How? They got Prestia, Caddy and some more astute draftees.

Need to get stars to the Saints pronto!

Con Gorozidis wrote:By seasons end AR will be the second most unsuccessful coach of the modern era after Robert Shaw (Crows, Fitzroy).

Something for us to aim for.
As Bill Murray might have said "we've got that going for us, which is nice"

FortiusQuoFidelius

Bump

Con Gorozidis wrote: Sat 31 Mar 2018 3:51pm AR wants to play a Crows style game plan but we don't have the leg speed and kicking skills to do it.
Hasn't done the Crows any good either. You can't win games unless you have players who can take contested marks on the forward line. Geelong were able to win 3 flags without multiple talls on the forward line because they had the best kicking team in history. Fouteen of their players could kick both feet. That will never happen again.

Think he's safe after the last quarter

portosaint

Trev from the Bush wrote: Sat 16 Jun 2018 8:14pm Think he's safe after the last quarter
Yep. Definitely wallpapering over cracks.

That is exactly why this win was bad for the club.

Knobs like yourself and that attitude. One qtr of footy against the GCS and we're back in form.

Seriously.

portosaint wrote: Sat 16 Jun 2018 8:35pm
Trev from the Bush wrote: Sat 16 Jun 2018 8:14pm Think he's safe after the last quarter

Knobs like yourself and that attitude. One qtr of footy against the GCS and we're back in form.

Seriously.
Call yourself a StKilda supporter, do you!

You come across as the type who has a colonoscopy just for fun.

Then posts it on Facebook.

Yea, seriously.

portosaint

Trev from the Bush wrote: Sat 16 Jun 2018 9:48pm

Seriously.

Yea, seriously.
You're probably hanging for Monday to put your life savings on the Saints making the 8 I think.

I think you are a dick, Porto.

All I said is Richo is safe. We win, you think that is bad for the club. Go and cry in your beer with your mates in the phonebox.

Richo isn't safe.
The first three quarters were the same insipid ball butchering we have seen all season.

Then we produced 1 good quarter against a team that is the last quarter fade-out specialists (zero last qtr goals in their last 4 games).

Yes it was an inspiring win.
But it doesn't mean our issues have been resolved.

Trev from the Bush wrote: Sat 16 Jun 2018 9:48pm

Seriously.

Yea, seriously.
He is right. You are deluding yourself !

It’s always good to win but it doesn’t change anything.

Anyway, It looks likes Simon Lethlean has thrown his support behind the coach; Richo just needs the right support according Lethlean. So, if we are to take him for his word, I think many of you will be very disappointed.

SaintPav wrote: Sun 17 Jun 2018 11:34am It’s always good to win but it doesn’t change anything.

Anyway, It looks likes Simon Lethlean has thrown his support behind the coach; Richo just needs the right support according Lethlean. So, if we are to take him for his word, I think many of you will be very disappointed.
To me that’s an admission of:
1. Board tied to extension decision - must see it through
2. Can’t afford a payout now anyway we’re financislly rooted

We can't know that.

I thought there was a three month clause.

Falling in over a rabble doesnt excite me for the future of the club and definately not the coach.... if he isnt gone at years end then we are F***ed

His post game interview was just as undecipherable as one after a loss.

The Fireman wrote: Sun 17 Jun 2018 12:37pm Falling in over a rabble doesnt excite me for the future of the club and definately not the coach.... if he isnt gone at years end then we are F***ed

Have you ever listened to the other coaches pressers? They’re all as bad as each other if you ask me.

Look, one win doesn’t change anything but did you see the way the players and coaching staff reacted?

I know it was against terrible opposition and we have serious structural issues across the board, but the club badly needed a win to give the players and supporters some hope. Any hope. We can’t keep losing. Long losing streaks are bad news.

portosaint

SaintPav wrote: Sun 17 Jun 2018 2:11pm
The Fireman wrote: Sun 17 Jun 2018 12:37pm Falling in over a rabble doesnt excite me for the future of the club and definately not the coach.... if he isnt gone at years end then we are F***ed

Have you ever listened to the other coaches pressers? They’re all as bad as each other if you ask me.

Look, one win doesn’t change anything but did you see the way the players and coaching staff reacted?

I know it was against terrible opposition and we have serious structural issues across the board, but the club badly needed a win to give the players and supporters some hope. Any hope. We can’t keep losing. Long losing streaks are bad news.
I was extremely happy for the playing group... You could see the relief as they got around each other.

I just really really hope the heat stays well and truly on the coaching staff. Apart from half an hour, it was deplorable.

portosaint wrote: Sun 17 Jun 2018 2:21pm
SaintPav wrote: Sun 17 Jun 2018 2:11pm

I was extremely happy for the playing group... You could see the relief as they got around each other.

I just really really hope the heat stays well and truly on the coaching staff. Apart from half an hour, it was deplorable.
And the playing group as well.

I agree though, it was a relief more than anything.

Some are saying that we didn’t beat anyone which is fair enough, but how bad would it have been to have lost to the GCS who have just been terrible?

After listening to our president I think it is fairly clear that the assistants will all get the arse but the coach will be with us gor awhile yet.

After listening to our president I think it is fairly clear that the assistants will all get the arse but the coach will be with us for awhile yet.