Jamie Cripps

Re: Jamie Cripps

Whilst one can’t argue that Jamie hasn’t had a successful career, the knock on him is and always has been his ability to perform against the tide.

5 kicks, 4 handballs, 3 tackles and no score in a 4 goal loss under pressure climbing a mountain... well it certainly hasn’t helped the cause

skeptic wrote: Sat 14 Sep 2019 2:59am Whilst one can’t argue that Jamie hasn’t had a successful career, the knock on him is and always has been his ability to perform against the tide.

5 kicks, 4 handballs, 3 tackles and no score in a 4 goal loss under pressure climbing a mountain... well it certainly hasn’t helped the cause

So a forward’s stats are down in a losing side?

:shock:

4th in the B & F in their Premiership season.
The guy is a good AFL footballer.

Squib.

Was pretty disrespectful to Roo as well.

I wouldn't exactly call his goals Milneesque.

Pretty happy the little turd doesn't wear the red, white and black.

Cant stand him. Ditched us as soon as he could for no compensation and behaved like a little pryck whenever we played them.

Spinner wrote: Sat 14 Sep 2019 4:52am
skeptic wrote: Sat 14 Sep 2019 2:59am Whilst one can’t argue that Jamie hasn’t had a successful career, the knock on him is and always has been his ability to perform against the tide.

So a forward’s stats are down in a losing side?

:shock:
WCE weren’t smashed and out of the game at quarter time. They had they’re opportunities, they were in front for a while and the game was a contest.

Cripps was not a contributor at all.

Hard to understand what you’re even arguing here

Get your facts right, before posting rubbish.

Squibbs is a front runner. The midfield has to dominate and intercept the ball all day for him to be of any value. Having said that, he gets to dangerous positions and kicks straight when they are on.

CQ SAINT wrote: Sat 14 Sep 2019 2:48pm Squibbs is a front runner. The midfield has to dominate and intercept the ball all day for him to be of any value. Having said that, he gets to dangerous positions and kicks straight when they are on.
That’s kind of the argument here...
Like I said before l, he’s had a decent career but he’s not a player whose loss to us burns me up at all.

Why? Because unlike the great small forwards he tends not to be able to contribute much in a contest. Yeah small forwards struggle in close games but some more than most.

Cripps was really average last night and should have done at least a bit better. Did not prove any doubters wrong last night

CQ SAINT wrote: Sat 14 Sep 2019 2:48pm Squibbs is a front runner. The midfield has to dominate and intercept the ball all day for him to be of any value. Having said that, he gets to dangerous positions and kicks straight when they are on.
exactly. downhill skier.
He isn't the type to lift when they're behind, he can't go that next level.
Just gets on the end of the hard work of others, kind of like a poor quality bowler in cricket,
who only takes wickets when the other bowlers soften up the batsmen with bouncers, etc

When WCE is playing good footy, his other forwards are usually proving to be a handful, which allows him
to get away from his oppo (cos the oppo might be helping against Kennedy or Darling)
That's one reason he finished 4th in their B n F last year, as the entire team was doing well.

B.M wrote: Sat 14 Sep 2019 2:27pm Spinner

Get your facts right, before posting rubbish.

Another post directed at me, you are very obsessed.

Which fact are you referring to? I don’t think I even posted a fact on this thread.

This is another lie hidden deliberately.

skeptic wrote: Sat 14 Sep 2019 3:01pm
That’s kind of the argument here...
Like I said before l, he’s had a decent career but he’s not a player whose loss to us burns me up at all.

Why? Because unlike the great small forwards he tends not to be able to contribute much in a contest. Yeah small forwards struggle in close games but some more than most.

Cripps was really average last night and should have done at least a bit better. Did not prove any doubters wrong last night

“Tends to not contribute much in a contest” would have to be one of the vaguest , unsupported descriptions in football.

Post some stats on this profound assessment, rather than the possessions from one game. Doesn’t make you look all those start.

fugazi wrote: Sat 14 Sep 2019 9:43am Cant stand him. Ditched us as soon as he could for no compensation and behaved like a little pryck whenever we played them.

Yep think this is the reason most refuse to acknowledge the very good career he has forged.

Very sensitive bunch on here.

Joffa Burns wrote: Sat 14 Sep 2019 6:09am 4th in the B & F in their Premiership season.
The guy is a good AFL footballer.

Really? That’s a decent effort and good post.

Must have been no contests throughout an entire season , the final series or the flag for a no contest player to contribute so much to a premiership team. :oops:

You’ve got quite an edge to you Spinner

We’re just talkin here

I was replying to you champ, because you can’t get enough of trying to have a dig at me. Which I find amusing?!

And you’re right

You don’t post too many facts

Comparisons to Jack Lonie this year

Both average 13 disposals... Jack an extra 2 kicks, Jamie an extra 2 handballs

Lonie 13.19 from 13 games
Cripps 30.9 from 19 games

Averages are close even if Cripps takes the chocolates

johnnyrayflamingo

Cripps is still a sook. And a deadshit.

😎

skeptic wrote: Sat 14 Sep 2019 9:18pm Comparisons to Jack Lonie this year

Good comparison, frustrating differential. A great selling point for Lonie, whose stocks may rise steeply with a midfield who can deliver the ball but Scripps is purely a front runner in a good side.

CQ SAINT wrote: Sun 15 Sep 2019 1:16pm

Good comparison, frustrating differential. A great selling point for Lonie, whose stocks may rise steeply with a midfield who can deliver the ball but Scripps is purely a front runner in a good side.
Agree and you’ve hit the key point...
Lonie would/could be a good-very good player if his numbers get just a little better whether or not that is by playing in a better side or improving his own output.

johnnyrayflamingo wrote: Sun 15 Sep 2019 12:35pm Cripps is still a sook. And a deadshit.
I think it is pretty clear who is still a sook and a deadshit and it’s not Jamie Cripps.

4th in B & F in a premiership team.

I’ll take him in front of our small forward recruiting, we gave a 3 year deal to an overweight one dimensional Melbourne fringe player who has little endurance and no upside.

Cripps is better than Parker, Lonie & Kent who were all in our starting 22 this year.

13.19 is terrible when you compare it to 30.9

I know you have to also consider the midfields and the quality of delivery but just on raw numbers, Lonie is a liability

I've watched Jack Lonie make a lot of poor decisions trying to kick goals from impossible angles.

He won goal of the year for our club but I reckon Savage's goal was better and Shane was on the run and under more pressure

His team mates like him and he gets more than his fair share of opportunities. Not smart of his team mates to keep wasting our i50's on a guy who just turns the footy over by kicking points

johnnyrayflamingo

Joffa Burns wrote: Sun 15 Sep 2019 3:43pm
johnnyrayflamingo wrote: Sun 15 Sep 2019 12:35pm Cripps is still a sook. And a deadshit.
I think it is pretty clear who is still a sook and a deadshit and it’s not Jamie Cripps.

I’ll take him in front of our small forward recruiting, we gave a 3 year deal to an overweight one dimensional Melbourne fringe player who has little endurance and no upside.

Cripps is better than Parker, Lonie & Kent who were all in our starting 22 this year.
Yep and he's still a sook and a deadshit.

😎
johnnyrayflamingo

Joffa Burns wrote: Sun 15 Sep 2019 3:43pm

Yep and he's still a sook and a deadshit.

😎

Scollop wrote: Sun 15 Sep 2019 3:50pm

13.19 is terrible when you compare it to 30.9

I know you have to also consider the midfields and the quality of delivery but just on raw numbers, Lonie is a liability

I've watched Jack Lonie make a lot of poor decisions trying to kick goals from impossible angles.

He won goal of the year for our club but I reckon Savage's goal was better and Shane was on the run and under more pressure

His team mates like him and he gets more than his fair share of opportunities. Not smart of his team mates to keep wasting our i50's on a guy who just turns the footy over by kicking points
Oh by all means... and there’s no arguments as to who the better player is.

My point is that a younger Lonie that’s less experienced statistically isn’t that far away from Jamie Cripps who some consider a very good AFL footballer.

If Lonie had kicked say 23.9... the difference almost becomes negligible